We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Stables at Homesford Cottage
Ranked #42 of 54 Matlock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I spent 3 lovely nights here over the May bank holiday weekend. Julie was great, really friendly and chatty and eager to recommend places to visit and eat in, all of which were excellent recommendations. Breakfast was amazing, and the room was very comfortable (with lots of plug sockets :-) ). I will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveblue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

This B&B was lovely, we received a warm welcome, our room was very clean with a nice comfy big bed, breakfast was excellent and we did a great round walk from the doorstep recommended by Julie the owner, perfect night away from our twins :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susiewoosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

What a great few days.
the stables are just lovely. finished to a nice standard and in a great location.

sitting next to the A6 I did wonder about the noise, but in truth the road is pretty quiet in the evenings and by the time you're in bed you don't notice it at all, so don't worry about that. Plenty of parking is available and it's a great place to stay.

Lovely thick towels, think bedding and warm rooms.

Julie, the owner is lovely too. very helpful and offering advice/suggestions etc
She also serves a lovely breakfast!

Just wish I had a few more days!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoops1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed at The Stables for 1 night at the weekend and can both say we think it is fantastic.

The room is a very good size and was very clean and the bed was very comfy - had a great nights sleep.

The breakfast in the morning was very nice and there was plenty too - it kept us going for most of the day.

We both said we would happily stay here again and recommend it to others.

Thank you Julie.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

After an arduous Friday evening journey Julie's warm welcome was a tonic. The room was beautifully decorated and equipped with tea and coffee making facilities accompanied by delicous treats. Breakfast was a delight, lovely muesli with fresh, fruit salad and a full English cooked to order, lovely coffee or tea (2 bags in the pot!! ) and toast all served with a smile and excellent recommendations for where to go and what to visit. The banana and walnut cake was equally delicious and provided the only lunch that was needed after such a hearty breakfast. I couldn't recommend the stable highly enough and plan to return! Thanks Julie!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsKCO-2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

As soon as we entered the b&b we were welcomed with open arms by a very friendly julie...as we walked through the very quaint breakfast room and lovely corridor to our room we were stopped in our tracks to look out of the large windows and patio doors which opened out onto a stunning courtyard and gardens...then pleased as punch upon entering our room.Lovely,big comfortable bed...gorgeous shower room,and big t.v....a selection of teas and coffees and delightful homemade biscuits!
The full English breakfast was wonderful,with attention paid to every little detail throughout our stay. We certainly wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!! Only next time we will bringing our walking shoes to take advantage of the beautiful surroundings,not only in Matlock but around the cottage itself,which is accessible from the rear garden......5*****

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayjaydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We have a quick overnight stop at the Stables as we were guests at a wedding. We can highly recommend this B & B. We found it difficult to get out of the comfy bed. The room was a good size exceedingly comfortable and clean.and Julie was a perfect host.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matlock hotels
1.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
358 reviews
5.2 mi away
Barringtons
Barringtons
#2 of 6 in Darley Dale
171 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Jug & Glass Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Long Chimneys Bed and Breakfast
2.3 mi away
Pig of Lead
Pig of Lead
#2 of 5 in Bonsall
127 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stables at Homesford Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stables at Homesford Cottage

Address: Derby Road | Whatstandwell, Matlock DE4 5HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing