We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab in every way”
Welcome to The Old Granary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Old Granary
The Old Granary from the garden Rose clad barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
56 reviews
Welcome to The Old Granary
The Old Granary from the garden
Rose clad barn
Hot tub/hydrotherapy spa
Wild flower meadow walk to the Shepherd's Hut
Lounge
Woodburning Stove
Country living style
Breakfast in the country kitchen
Rustic Style
King size bedroom
King size Bedroom
Vanessa Arbuthnott scheme
Vanessa Arbuthnott Cushions
Bedroom En-suite
King size bedroom
Twin Bedroom
High Summer
Stunning views
The view from the bedrooms
The view from the patio area
Sheep in the field
Lazy days
Meet Carrot
The hut in the Meadow
Our lovely hut on the front cover of Period Living Magazine
Shepherds Hut
Shepherds Hut
Interior of hut
Double bed in hut
Jasper
Carrot the cat
Winter in Wheatcroft
Winter in Wheatcroft
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Simon H
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab in every way”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed at this beautiful 5 star retreat in the middle of nowhere - although a good pub - The White Hart is only a mile away. The secluded Hot Tub overlooking wide swathes of the countryside (some 12 miles distance) was amazing - even in November. There's loads to do in the area - the Monsal Trail bike ride (or walk) on a revamped railway line between Bakewell and Buxton being a special treat. Amanda and Martin have made a wonderful holiday home for any taste - really countryfied kitchen, log burning fire in the lounge and sumptuous bedrooms and just an all round top experience. Well worth a visit! Loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole vibe
Liked least: Nothing to report
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and very much hope to see you sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B P
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Terrific location, immaculate accomodation”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We arrived on a wet, cold Friday evening, we received a warm & friendly welcome from Amanda & Martin and were given a tour of the accommodation which surpassed our expectations. The interior and fixtures are of exceptional quality and the barn has been restored tastefully and sympathetically. Amanda and Martin are rightly proud of what they have achieved. The location is terrific, quiet and secluded enough to enable us to enjoy a relaxing weekend while close enough to some terrific local pubs and restaurants and local amenities. Definitely a place we would recommend to family and friends and will return to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything. The standard of accommodation and fixtures and fittings and the location.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and very much hope to see you sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyAtk
1 review
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My friends and I stayed at the old granary for a 40th birthday celebration. From the onset we were welcomed by Amanda and her husband, and of course the 2 cats; jasper and carrot! The cottage is beautifully decorated, and an evening in the shepherds hut was a real treat. The views are stunning, and the setting so beautiful and peaceful. A nightly dip in the hottub was the best. What more could you ask for, truly a 5 star cottage experience and I hope to visit again soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and very much hope to see you sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsV-from...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Faultless, best cottage we've ever stayed in”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

What an absolutely amazing holiday cottage. Everything was immaculate when we arrived and were shown around by the welcoming owners, Amanda and Martin. The cottage has a lovely cozy feel, mixed with style and luxury.

There's so much to do in the area with the children coupled with the constant 'can we go in the hot tub' requests - that's definitely a winner!

I loved the gorgeous kitchen and the fact that overall there's so much space (inside and out) you could happily spend all day in the barn and garden, just enjoying the surroundings.

Beautifully landscaped gardens, unrivalled views and peace and quiet. I can't think of a bad thing to say.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub, decor, views!
Liked least: Nothing! Apart from it rained a bit....can't blame you for that!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and very much hope to see you sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne F
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect country retreat”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Me and the husband booked up here for a quiet getaway in a peacefull location. The barn conversion was stunning and Amanda is proud to point out what it went from (livestock barn) to the beautiful cottage that it is today. The attention to detail is amazing and pretty much everything has been thought of. Whenever we had to bug Amanda for trivial items she was more than happy to help, we found her hospitality refreshing. The Hot tub was amazing and the beds so soft that they were hard to get out of.
The old granary was close enough to lots of picturesque towns and had access to lots of walking trails so you can do lots whilst there or just sit in peace and quiet, take in the scenery and wish that you never had to leave.
We will endeavour to stay again, hopefully in warmer weather so that I can just stay in the hot tub for 5 days with my kindle.
A fantastic stay with really reasonable prices, I dont feel we would get that level of service in a same-priced hotel.
Thanks for a great stay!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and very much hope to see you sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy C
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic position overlooking wonderful countryside.”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Very pleasant welcome from owners Amanda & Martin.
Everything you could need for a self catering stay, bedding and bathrooms very clean but we were surprised to find dust under sofas, on lampshades, dirty high chair and only one working light bulb in one wall light in sitting room.
The frying pans need replacing (non stick useless) and the fridge is small for longer than a few days stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Cottage situation and character
Liked least: standard of cleanliness and kitchen equipment not 5*
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Old Granary. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Rest assured that the points you have raised are being addressed. Our aim is to provide a level of service that our guests truly enjoy and one that we can be proud of. We are however pleased to note that you would be happy to recommend our accommodation to a friend. Thank you once again for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauringto...
La Sauvetat-du-Dropt, France
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Best 30th Wedding Anniversary Hoped for!”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

A delightful, tastefully restored barn conversion providing all the modern comforts required while not sacrificing the quirky, traditional, cottage atmosphere expected. A beautiful location with panoramic views - all on the doorstep of the magical Peak District. Private, quiet and peaceful - great to lie in the Jacuzzi and watch the moon rise. Thank you for a beautiful place to stay as a base to enjoy our 30th!

James, Tracey
& Bethany

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot-tub, views, peace and comfort
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor. So pleased you enjoyed your stay to celebrate your anniversary and hope that we may see you again sometime in the future. Hope your venture goes well in France, you never know we may come and visit you sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing