We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place for relaxation”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
82 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

FewSears
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place for relaxation”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We visited here with our 4 year old daughter - she loved feeding the chickens every morning. We all had an excellent stay - perfect place for relaxation, the hot tub was well used and the log burner provided a lovely atmosphere.
Amanda and Martin were the perfect hosts, on hand if we wanted them and they gave us lots of information on things to do. The cottage is extremely well equipped, so close to the M1 yet in the middle of nowhere, we hope to visit again!

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub, chickens, decor
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Old Granary. As you mentioned in your review we are extremely accessible from the M1 (just 10 minutes drive) but equally close to attractions further into the Peak District. We hope to welcome you back to The Old Granary sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Amanda Brown
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coramcq
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Amanda, we had a fabulous weekend. The cottage was so well equipped that we wanted for nothing. Hot tub and views were amazing, and thank you for your understanding when 2 of our cars broke down! We will definitely be back one day x

Date of stay: January 2016
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2016
Thank you for your lovely review - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Old Granary. Hope to see you again sometime.
Thanks again
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
590andyt
La Salle, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Fantastic 5 star barn accommodation! Beautiful location with stunning views. Hot Tub was a great bonus. Decor finished to the highest quality. We along with our children thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would definitely look to return and stay at this wonderful barn conversion. Truly lovely owners with great recommendations!

Date of stay: November 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2017
Thank you so much for this lovely review, it has been a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us at The Old Granary. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Thanks again and kind regards
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philiippa...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing - Home From Home!”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We booked here at short notice after a mistake with another booking meant we had no place to stay for our long waited for weekend away with friends. From the minute we booked everything felt right, the owners are friendly and helpful and this was obvious from the first contact. We were met by the owners who showed us around and gave us a brief history of the Old Granary and how it came to be such a lovely place - it has been carefully decorated and manages to be welcoming, charming and homely as well as having the wow factor! The hot tub was a welcome attraction for me and my friend (as was the champagne which we polished off in the tub whilst the men looked after the children!) All in all a wonderful break in a fabulous place - This is somewhere we plan on visiting time and again.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review about The Old Granary. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we very much hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Thanks again and kind regards
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redgwing
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Comfortable”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The Old Granary is set in beautiful scenery with amazing views. Make the most of the views while soaking in the hot tub.
You will be visited by Jasper and Carrot the owners cats. They certainly add to the homely feel and will cheerfully curl up on the sofa with you or sit by the fridge looking hopeful!
We enjoyed our stay here with family even though the weather wasn't too kind during the second half of the week. Plenty of lovely tea rooms to visit and in view of this comment would very much appreciate Amanda and Martin adding a swimming pool and gym so we could stop feeling quite as guilty!

Date of stay: October 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2017
Thank you for this lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at The Old Granary even though the weather could have been kinder. Hopefully you will decide to book with us again in the future to sample the tea rooms of Derbyshire once more.

Thanks again and kind regards
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m4tthall
East Grinstead
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely Accommodation”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed for a week during half term in October. The accommodation is a lovely cottage that is well equipped but furnished tastefully. It has a lovely feel to it and if you want to get away from it all, this is certainly a place where you can do just that. The views are fantastic and made even better by the ability to view them while sat in the hot tub which is well positioned to make the most of them.

The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable and the various bathrooms small but functional. We had some problems with the noise made from the boiler in the early hours of the morning, so had to ask the owners to make some alterations to the timings; you may wish to check if you don't want to be woken up.

We had some occasional company from the owners cats Jasper and Carrot, which our daughters loved. I believe that perhaps a few too many guests had been feeding them as they were large cats! Adorable though, particularly Carrot who thoroughly enjoyed the company.

The local area has some great places to visit. Unfortunately for us the weather wasn't favourable for some of them. Nevertheless we still managed to visit Castleton, Chatsworth House and even ventured out to Alton Towers for one of our daughter's Birthday treats.

I would happily return to The Old Granary, particularly if it were during better weather!

Date of stay: October 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for The Old Granary, we always appreciate the feedback left by our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Old Granary sometime in the future and hope the weather is better next time.

Thanks again, kind regards
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ktpink
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A Beautiful Place”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a fantastic stay at The Old Granary - the cottage is beautiful inside and out with fantastic guides of the surrounding peaceful countryside.

We had a lovely, relaxing stay and the cottage had everything we needed and more!

Date of stay: September 2015
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review of The Old Granary. Look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future.

Kind regards and thanks again
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.