We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!”
Review of Lumsdale Valley

Lumsdale Valley
Ranked #4 of 46 things to do in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This is a scheduled ancient monument site containing industrial mill ruins in a state of picturesque decay. It is a wildlife conservation area and therefore there are no picnic areas, no paddling or swimming areas and no children's play areas.The route down through the Valley past the ruins is steep, muddy and uneven, with steps and some sharp drops to the sides. We strongly advise that you begin your walk at the top of the Valley, opposite Highfields Upper School (where there is parking). There are no toilet or refreshment facilities anywhere in the Valley. It is a peaceful place of natural woodland and wetland habitats, looked after by volunteers for the Arkwright Society, the Charity that owns the Valley. Please help us to take care of this very special place by respecting the wildlife, keeping to the paths, not climbing on the ruins - and taking your litter home with you.
derbys
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We visited yesterday (May 5th) after reading about it on this page, can't believe I didn't know about it when I only live about 8 miles away! A hidden gem indeed! We arrived early, around 9.30am and we had the whole place to ourselves, just us and the sound of the falls, we felt totally at one with nature! It's hard to describe just how stunning and beautiful it is here, needless to say I highly recommend visiting it for yourselves. After walking down the falls and through the ruins we just wandered through the valley, finding what turned out to be a lovely circular walk through woods and fields. We had a picnic and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, my 5 year old also loved it here. When we hiked back up the falls around 2pm there were quite a few people about and it was much noisier! :-) so we were really pleased we'd had it to ourselves earlier! We will definitely be returning, and soon!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank libby235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    63
    6
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Crich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Reluctant to write this!!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The reason I am reluctant to write this review is because I have just visited one of the most interesting and beautiful sites probably in the UK. There were so few people there, (May 5th), and I want to keep it to myself and the handful of visitors who know about it. Many people visit Cromford and the mills, but so few know about Lumsdale Valley and the ruins. They are just a short distance apart, but if at all possible, it is best to approach it from the top and walk down. We did it by starting from Tansley following a route called "Walking Lumsdale Derbyshire and the Waterfall." It is quite a rigourous route, especially at the beginning, but it took just 2 hours, at a very leisurely pace. The place is a definate for anyone in the area, but please not on a day that I am there!! lol

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew186305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely and untouched”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Really lovely waterfalls and ruins. No health and safety really which was wonderful, felt very freeing and untouched to the outside world which shows not many people go there. We went on Good Friday and still only say about 10 other people, fabulous place and would go again! Take a picnic!

Helpful?
Thank Sara-Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enchanted waterfalls”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Took over an hour to find as we headed into the higher woods (which the children enjoyed,) not very well signposted. Turn off Chesterfield road and park opposite school and walk down lane of houses (when the lane forks stay left)until you come to a pond and then you'll find the waterfalls just after. Had a picnic on the other side of the waterfalls/stream and a real adventure for the children a real find and a photographers paradise...I only took the iPhone but see for yourself, really worth the visit

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Should be heritage listed”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

With the Tom Tom it was very easy to find. What a wonderful experience with so much history. Highly recommended

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lumsdale Valley also viewed

 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Lumsdale Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing