We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A book lover' haven”
Review of Scarthin Books

Scarthin Books
Ranked #27 of 127 Restaurants in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A book lover' haven”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Three floors of new and second hand books to work through. Plus an excellent cafe. A place to return to and browse on a regular basis. There is something here for everyone whatever their tastes in reading.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    14
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
444 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great bookshop ,interesting cafe.”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Scarthin books in a slightly inaccessible street in Cromford just outside Matlock bath is a must for book lovers. From the outside it looks like any other second hand book shop but inside it becomes a warren of connecting rooms with a great selection of new and used books. It had a great 'food' section and I must admit I spent a small fortune on Xmas presents.
The cafe is accessed via a nifty swinging curved bookcase and as long as you are a veggie you will be ok. Nice salads and interesting things like Homity Pie grace the blackboard. My wife had the ploughman's which she said was nice but could have done with a bit more bread and a bit less salad. I had the filling Homity Pie and thought the side salad was very tasty and generous. Service was serious - as I suppose you would expect from a place where lots of book readings and other serious events were advertised on its many noticeboards. This is the sort of place you might come across in San Francisco or Paris - I will certainly be going back for the books and the nice view of the mill pond outside - must be lovely in summer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

What a brilliant bookshop cafe and general location. Simple cafe with some home made, some bought in (gluten free pie) but lovely staff both here and in the maze of a bookshop. Superb home made Homity Pie and salad, well priced, understandably limited menu (veg and some vegan) and nice quality teas. Limited seating but in nice weather some seating outside too. If we're ever in the area again, I'd detour for both this and the bookshop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank limegreen07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Tucked away off the A6 road in Cromford is Scarthin Books which is a book-lovers paradise with tens of thousands of books both new and used. The shelves are full to bursting and the books are piled up at the side of the stairs too. On the second floor (of three floors) is a small but delightful cafe which sells light meals and the most delicious cakes including the best gluten free carrot and walnut cake that I have ever tasted! It was truly wonderful and the coffee was pretty good too. The staff are pleasant and helpful and I could have spent all day mooching around. It is well worth a visit, I can't comment on the parking availability. Cromford is congested so we chose to travel by bus from Bakewell.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JFMClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food and a wonderful bookshop”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Don't really want to share this little gem,but it would be mean not to! Wonderful bookshop set in a quirky building with the added bonus of a cafe serving wonderful food.Try the hommity pie,a wonderful mix of potato,leek ,onion cheese and thyme in a short pastry crust,salads are served as sides or mains and include fruity cous cous,carrot coleslaw .Vegans are catered for and made very welcome.This is NOT a fast food establishment,go and while away a few enjoyable hours,treat yourself!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sp H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scarthin Books also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Scarthin Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing