We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb house for a large family gathering”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Robertswood House

Robertswood House Frontage. South facing overlooking the garden with summer house & swinging chairs.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Robertswood House Frontage. South facing overlooking the garden with summer house & swinging chairs.
Entrance hall. Leading of to the Lounge/Bar, Kitcken and Dining Room. Stairs up to the first floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
37 reviews
Robertswood House Frontage. South facing overlooking the garden with summer house & swinging chairs.
Entrance hall. Leading of to the Lounge/Bar, Kitcken and Dining Room. Stairs up to the first floor.
Large Lounge with lots of comfortable seating plus a 42in 3D Flat screen TV, Freesat & Blu ray DVD.
Bar Area. Run your own pub for a while. We can supply Kegs of Beer or Lager as well.
South facing Dining Room. Set here for 12 but will comfortably seat 18 Adults.
Robertswood House Spa Garden.Our wonderful Spa Garden is now finished and ready to use. It's GR
The Sauna steam room with Plunge Shower beside it, Which is Not for the faint hearted......
Kitchen. There's everything you will ever need in here.
Kitchen. Loads of space for prep and cooking and people.
Room 1 West facing Twin En-suite
Room 2 South facing Superking En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 2 South facing as a Twin En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 2 En-suite.
Room 3 Double En-suite. South facing with stunning views over the Derwent Valley.
Room 3 En-suite.
Room 4 Double En-suite. East facing overlooking the side garden & water feature.
First floor landing.
Room 5 Double En-suite. West facing with stunning views over Stanton Moor.
Room 6 Double En-suite. South facing with stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 7 Double En-suite. South facing with stunning views over the Derwent Valley.
Room 8 East facing as a Super King En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 8 East facing as a Twin En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley.
Room 9 Double En-suite. Our only room without a bath, just a walk in shower.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kay C
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb house for a large family gathering”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Eighteen of us stayed for three nights to celebrate a 70th birthday and the rare coming together of our large family. It was a big advantage that all bedrooms were en suite. The large rooms and bar (very popular) ensured that we all stayed together and the teenagers didn't retreat to their bedrooms. The facilities were excellent and as every group arrived their comments were very complimentary.We would definitely stay again if only we could gather everyone together - sadly not normally possible.
Carsington Water was a good multi purpose/age destination for the Saturday and only 20 minutes away.
Fox Cars provided two mini buses and a taxi at a reasonable price to transport us to and from Barringtons at Darley Dale on the Saturday night.
Barringtons friendly staff provided us with a private dining room and good meals . Local walks and Matlock park kept us all occupied on the Sunday and the unanimous opinion on Monday was that it had been a great weekend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: En suite bathrooms, large general rooms and location. General cleanliness
Liked least: Small side garden wasn't available as David is installing jaccuzzi/sauna there
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie R
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent house for a large party”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend and rented the whole house with 6 other couples - 6 of our party were French and they really loved the house. The rooms are all very spacious including all the bedrooms complete with en-suites. All the rooms had lovely views over the Derbyshire countryside. The kitchen was very well equipped as you would expect from a B @ B and it was very easy to prepare our meals there. David and Marylyn were very helpful with ideas for walks and places to eat etc. Our only very small gripe were the towels. It would be nice to have larger fluffier towels but it wasn't a big problem .its unusual to find a house for 18 adults with ensuites so this would be ideal for large family or friends gatherings. Would definitely stay again if we were in the area

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasider9...
blackpo
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Venue for a Family Weekend”
Reviewed 13 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Just got back from a family weekend at Robertswood House and all I can say is it is superb for a family or friends "get-together".
When looking for a venue for 18 adults, there are very few available and even fewer with all en-suite facilities. From making initial contact, David and Marylyn were very friendly and efficient.
The rooms are all en-suite and a big size. The kitchen has everything and the dining room very large. We made full use of the bar/lounge area and it made for a really good atmosphere.
The house is within waking distance of the Sycamore Inn and isn't too far from Matlock town centre.
All in all, an excellent venue with everything you need for a family weekend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenysC_1...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful Country House experience.”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Great for a family of all ages. All 16 of us enjoyed it so much we booked again for next Easter before we left. The house was very cosy and comfortable despite the unseasonably cold weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely well decorated period property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 21 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I was lucky enough to stay at Robertswood House at the beginning of March 2013 for a couple of nights with a group of 9 friends. David and his wife couldn't do enough to help us settle in and the place was immaculate. 9 large, clean and bright bedrooms, with a large kitchen, dinning room and a large lounge that has been converted into a bar and snug at one end. The only possible issue I could sight was the wifi, which was patchy for some of my friends with a very weak signal, but I managed to get a good signal so can't personally fault it. I would highly recommend staying at Robertswood House if you're a group looking for a large, very clean and well presented self catering accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bar and the view
Liked least: patchy wifi
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 17 March 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We (a large group of friends) booked Robertswood for a self catering New Year's break and we were not disappointed. The owners kept in regular contact before our stay and were happy to help with stocking the bar (yes the bar) with some beer and ale but left us to do the rest of the catering. When we arrived there really was a wow factor as the photographs do not do the place justice. The house is very well furnished in a style that suits the property and the layout of the bedrooms is ideal for couples with kids (we put the kids on the top floor where they wouldn't be disturbed). The lounge and bar area is ideal for a bit of a party and the novelty of pouring our own drinks did not wear off. The kitchen is large and very well equipped, we enjoyed cooking some lovely meals and sitting down in the dining room for a NYD roast dinner. The owners left us to it and we left the place as we found it, just how it should be. I would highly recommend for a group of friends and family. I hear the B&B option is pretty good too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bar and kitchen
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
132ELP132
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent house for a group of all ages”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed here (9 adults, 8 children) for a weekend. While we have stayed in more modern properties, Robertswood had everything we needed, coupled with a fantastic location (short walk/drive into Matlock). Also with so many young children, we were less anxious about damage to ornaments and paintwork than we have in other properties. I realise this makes it sound poorly decorated- this is not the case, it is just a more homely place. The bedrooms were lovely with fantastic views.
There were very few house rules, and we felt very welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Maybe more garden (and a bit more child friendly garden area)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$653
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
other travellers have booked this property
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing