We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boat Inn Restautant

The Boat Inn Restautant
Ranked #23 of 121 Restaurants in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We called in the Boat Inn for a lunchtime meal as we were having a walk around Cromford and came across it during our travels!

The menu was very good and food excellent! Extremely large portions, nicely presented and very pleasant staff - all served in a traditional pub.

Would highly recommend and we will certainly be visiting again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Number8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    47
    12
    2
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good service, nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The two of us went for a drink and lunch part way through a 8 mile walk. I had the vegetarian chilli and my wife had cheese and tomato sandwiches.

Chilli was excellent, good enough to ask how the chef had cooked it. Sandwiches were fine but would prefer sliced rather than grated cheese.

Good service and friendly staff. Recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank foreignholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Welcoming dog friendly pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Visited the Boat Inn whilst on holiday in the area. It is a traditional English pub and felt warm and welcoming on entry. We were seated at our table and collected our menus from the bar. The dog (a german shepherd) found a comfy spot under the table. There was a wide range to choose from on the menu, salads to steaks, at responable prices.
Our food came in a timely manner and was well cooked and presented. All the staff were polite, friendly and helpful. We would happily visit again if in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our fantastic local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Lorraine and Dave have transformed this place. Last week they catered for over 30 of our wedding guests at a rehearsal dinner on an already busy Friday night. Service was prompt and the atmosphere was great. The guests loved it and several returned later in the weekend. Thank you for contributing to a great wedding weekend that people will remember for all the right reasons!

Overall, the food is good quality pub food at amazing prices. We've recently tried the Sunday carvery and can highly recommend it. Outstanding value. We also like the frequently changed guest ales.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diegosjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really good to find this thriving traditional pub tucked away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We visited The Boat Inn twice during an Easter weekend stay at nearby Willersley Castle Hotel. I'd found the pub on Trip Advisor before visiting and decided it looked worth a try.

First was Sunday lunch. There's a carvery style service with decent food although we were late arriving. The only complaint here - and in fact the only complaint I've got about the pub at all - was that the portions of meat were a little small and accompanied by a singular roast potato. The rest of the vegetables were still fresh, nicely presented and tasty.

We returned the following evening, after being pretty much disappointed by the chavvy pubs in Matlock Bath. By contrast, the Boat Inn was lovely, warm and welcoming. It's a proper old fashioned boozer, with a mix of locals and tourists. We decided to try the food again and ordered an eclectic mix of four meals from the standard and specials menus. All of the food arrived promptly and was very tasty. The staff were friendly and professional.

My congratulations go to the owners on making a traditional pub survive and hopefully prosper in these dire economic times that have left so many facing closure. Well done!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TimIRobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boat Inn Restautant also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Boat Inn Restautant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing