We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great plaice to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gables Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 53 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely place, rooms clean and comfortble the breakfast sets you up for the day. The B&B is of the main drag but only 6 mins drive to matlock and the A6 a nice pub about 10 mins walk serving lovely food

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank nuttynewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for The Gables Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at the Gables Bed & Breakfast for one night only in September. The location of the B&b is great, although it would be a long walk into Matlock (we drove) the views up the hill its located on are absolutely stunning. Our room was beatifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The bed and bedding was lovely and so comfortable. The shower was powerful and a nice touch having all the little extras in your room such as cotton wool, pads, shower cap and ear buds.

Breakfast the next morning was lovely and our host couldn't have been any more accommodating with our order. Would defintiely recommend this place and would come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klr79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Unfortunately, we only stayed at the Gables for one night but thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We received a very warm welcome and were able to enjoy a cup of tea on the patio and take in the views over Matlock, Matlock Bath and surrounding countryside - stunning.
The room was spotless and very comfortable.
Breakfast was super and really set us up for the day.
We would certainly recommend The Gables to anyone stopping in the area.
June and Stephen Chamberlain

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Everything about our stay was good, excpet maybe the view out the window of the garden room (but we know that is a work in progress). Clean room, comfortable bed, fluffy towels, warm welcome and very wonderful breakfast (eggs stayed hot all through breakfast!) make for a memorable stay and nice experience. Throw in the beautiful views over the Heights of Abraham and Sue and John as hosts and you have more than good value for money but a place we would definitely want to return to if in that part of the country.

Room Tip: The garden room was nice - the view not that good but great for a single night stay.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omawheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Sue and John very welcoming complete with home made Drizzle Cake and coffee. Comfy bed and soft towels. Wonderful views across the valley toward Heights of Abraham. The Full English breakfast sets you up for the day. Enjoyed our walk to the local The White Lion sadly the welcome and food was left wanting unlike our hosts Sue and John.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badsworthboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed in the suite room and it was gorgeous with a great view, lovely bathroom and a comfy bed! The homemade biscuits were so tasty and we were very full after the cooked breakfast which is always a good sign! The location was great as well, as it was only a short walk to the local pub and a little bit further through some fields to Matlock bath. The owners were very friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This B&B was as good as we've ever stayed in, shame it was for just one night, the room and in particular the bathroom were superb, the views were also excellent. From the moment we arrived till we left my wife and 2 teenage girls were made to feel most welcome. We stayed in the Derwent suite which was the largest/family room, more than big enough. Provided with very useful local information upon arrival. Would definately stop here again if visiting Derbyshire in the future.
Thanks again to the hosts !!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martib72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matlock hotels
0.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
312 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 8 in Matlock Bath
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 53 in Matlock
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Matlock Bath
325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stone Lodge
Stone Lodge
#5 of 8 in Matlock Bath
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Bed & Breakfast

Address: The Gables Riber Road | Starkholmes, Matlock DE4 5JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: £72 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gables Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful detached property set in it's own grounds and with stunning views over looking Matlock Bath & 'The Heights of Abraham.3 Luxury rooms offering en-suite facilities,guest's lounge, scenic patio and off parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your The Gables Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing