We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place 10/10”
Review of Barn Farm Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barn Farm Camping
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“lovely place 10/10”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

just returned from 4 days camping and i was really impressed with this site. staff were friendly and helpful, there were plenty of toilets and showers which were maintained and kept clean at whatever time of day we used them and considering it is only a small campsite i thought the facilities were very good. having 2 young children we appreciated the 10:30pm cutoff for noise and the whole place had a real family feel to it. will definitely be staying here again

Helpful?
Thank hmcows
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    41
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
66
25
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Have been going here every year for at least a decade, started with friends and now have a young family, we love Barn Farm and always have a great weekend and wish we'd stayed longer! Facilities are great (pot washing water is hotter than at home!) always a great atmosphere kids running round till dusk, lovely village location and very clean, security make sure there is no late night noise and had a peaceful few nights sleep :) my girls love it here and we will definitely be back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliviaMayTugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Loved everything about this site! The location was spot on, not too far from Matlock, Buxton, and Bakewell. The facilities were fantastic, plenty of loos and showers (I’d recommend the adults only showers!!), which were very clean and well-kept even at busy times. The grounds are very pretty and having peacocks pottering about made it even more special. The catering van is defo worth a visit, the sausage and bacon butties are delicious and very reasonably priced! This campsite is by far the nicest I’ve stopped at and I’ll certainly be paying another visit soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darley Dale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We live locally and fancied a quick camping weekend , this was ideal. The site is equiped and operated to a comercial level , this is a campsite rather than a farm with camping . Expect busy/lots of pitches with very good facilities and upkeep , kids running and playing , BBQ & booze , mainly familly or groups of families....... were planing a 'prenagers' campout , 90% sure of returning , ' really enjoyed our stay , well done Barm farm!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christopher b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burley, Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We booked Barn Farm after not being able to get into another site and as the reviews seemed good we weren't to worried. On arrival we were asked to camp in field 2, as we pulled in we could see it was already quite busy and as this was a sloping field all the flat pitches at the bottom of the field had been claimed, there were a couple of flat-ish spots at the top of the hill and a few tents had already pitched there so to avoid having to camp right next to someone else we opted to pitch at the top of the hill...what a mistake!

Having already noticed a couple of rumbling lorries passing on the road behind the field we did not expect that this would go on all night! The noise was horrendous, a bit like a bin lorry going by every 5 mins as well as all the other bangs and crashes. I eventually dropped off around 2am (out of exhaustion more than anything else) and was awoken at 5am by the peacocks, which I wouldn't have minded so much if I had not been kept awake all night. As we left the campsite we drove up the road to discover what all the noise had been about, we were more than a little surprised to find a stone quarry right behind the camping field...this explained alot!

So all in all, yes the facilities were great and nice and clean but if you want a good night's sleep avoid the top of field 2, as no one else has commented on this I can only presume you cannot hear it from else where in the site or their just very heavy sleepers!

Room Tip: Avoid the top of the hill in field 2 like the plague!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have been camping now for over 20 years and this campsite has just entered our top 10. Clean, spacious, excellent views and ample facilities. The campsite is well maintained and the toilets and showers were always spotless. We never had to queue for showers, toilets or pot washing. Our children could roam the site in complete safety and they made great use of the play area.

The site has a number of Peacocks which add a certain charm to the place. We stayed there for a week and really enjoyed the peace and quiet. Also we visited one of the pubs in the village of Birchover (The Druids Inn) and enjoyed some excellent food along with some lovely real ale.

All in all we will be going back to Barn Farm very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Barn Farm. The site is very well maintained and the toilets and showers are clean. There is a great play area for the children, a games room (mostly occupied by teenagers) and a shop selling non-food basics and some toys. We would certainly visit here again. It's a great location for exploring the Peak District and not too far into Matlock or Bakewell.

The reason I've not given it an excellent rating is for just a few small but very annoying niggles:

There is a fridge and freezer for guests to use which is free. Just beware that not everyone is honest - we had an ice pack stolen and one morning got up to find our milk had nearly all been used! The problem is that the site don't sell milk and there is no shop in the village to get any.

The best showers are the Adults Only ones... I tried using the shower in the main block once but it was a push button that gave a few seconds of lukewarm water before turning off again. However there was one lot of showers I didn't try so these may be ok.

On our first night there was a school group who were extremely rowdy past the 10.30pm quiet curfew. They were singing songs at the tops of their voices well after 11pm.

Where people pitch their tents is not monitored.... we had a group of 3 tents pitch fairly close to our tent when they should have been at least 6 meters away. To be fair, they were very quiet but it just felt like we had been invaded. There were very few tents in the field so they could have camped anywhere else.

I know that sounds like an awful lot of moaning but it wouldn't put us off going again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinderToffee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
4.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
305 reviews
7.7 mi away
Knotlow Farm B&B
Knotlow Farm B&B
#4 of 39 in Buxton
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Ashbourne Heights Holiday Park
Ashbourne Heights Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Fenny Bentley
312 reviews
13.3 mi away
Riddings Wood Caravan And Camping Park
9.6 mi away
Sandybrook Country Park
Sandybrook Country Park
#1 of 19 in Ashbourne
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barn Farm Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barn Farm Camping

Property: Barn Farm Camping
Address: Birchover, Matlock DE4 2BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barn Farm Camping 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barn Farm is situated on the outskirts of the Peak District. Overlooking the Derwent Valley, the farm is a haven for wildlife including Badgers and rare Black Fallow deer. It boasts over 60 species of birds. Caravan and camping visitors can enjoy the use of our 5 star facilities which include a laundry and drying area, games room with TV, outdoor childrens playground, sauna, convenience/camping store on site. Aswell as the camping and caravan pitches we have 5 self-contained camping barns which accommodate from 2 - 15 people. Located 7 miles south of the historic market town of Bakewell and 3 miles west of Matlock, Barn Farm is ideally situated to access the diverse array of local attractions.The Limestone Way passes close by the farm, which is situated on the junction of no less than 4 major footpaths throughout the area. Bordering the farm is the mystical Stanton Moor with its ancient 'Nine Ladies' stone circle. Robin Hood's Stride and Catcliffe Rocks are just 2 of the local climbing areas. Matlock Bath boasts the children's attraction 'Gullivers Kingdom' and a cable car to the heights of Abraham. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing