We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect camping experience”
Review of Barn Farm Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barn Farm Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here 24th-26th August with a group of friends and their children. The facilities are excellent - plenty of toilets and very clean, hot showers. The campsite shop was well stocked for food we'd forgotten to bring and the catering van provided us with lovely fish and chips in the evening and bacon/sausage butties in the morning. The patrolling security guards kept the noise levels down at night. Overall a fabulous, relaxing stay. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barlthrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Last minute descision to go camping on bank holiday weekend. site was busy but so well organised that didnt feel that busy as extra toilets were hired and additional fiels open. All areas of the site were reguraly cleaned and always toilet paper! Great for kids as good little play park. views are fantastic will be coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andyandjen641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Great campsite, very clean lots of showers, toilets blocks and pot washing areas.

You can buy a selection of food from the onsite catering van, Saturday night was fish, chips and peas. Just down the road there are two pubs we tried both but preferred the atmosphere and food at the Druids Inn, if its a bank holiday/summer holidays you are staying booking in advance is recommended as there were no tables if you just turned up.

Would defo camp here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanemorris007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Spent bank holiday weekend here.
Nice feel. Fully booked but never felt busy! Use adult showers if poss as they are nicer. May get quite expensive for camping if you have older kids as charge per person rather than per tent! so check price before you go. Nice staff, very clean and reasonably quiet after 10.30 at night as security come and tell you off! ( which is a good thing if you have any kids and need sleep) nice playground and great location for walk ( nine ladies straight from campsite), and 2 lovely pubs in birchover!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank sheffdudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

just returned from 4 days camping and i was really impressed with this site. staff were friendly and helpful, there were plenty of toilets and showers which were maintained and kept clean at whatever time of day we used them and considering it is only a small campsite i thought the facilities were very good. having 2 young children we appreciated the 10:30pm cutoff for noise and the whole place had a real family feel to it. will definitely be staying here again

Thank hmcows
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Have been going here every year for at least a decade, started with friends and now have a young family, we love Barn Farm and always have a great weekend and wish we'd stayed longer! Facilities are great (pot washing water is hotter than at home!) always a great atmosphere kids running round till dusk, lovely village location and very clean, security make sure there is no late night noise and had a peaceful few nights sleep :) my girls love it here and we will definitely be back

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OliviaMayTugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Loved everything about this site! The location was spot on, not too far from Matlock, Buxton, and Bakewell. The facilities were fantastic, plenty of loos and showers (I’d recommend the adults only showers!!), which were very clean and well-kept even at busy times. The grounds are very pretty and having peacocks pottering about made it even more special. The catering van is defo worth a visit, the sausage and bacon butties are delicious and very reasonably priced! This campsite is by far the nicest I’ve stopped at and I’ll certainly be paying another visit soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
9.6 mi away
Sandybrook Country Park
Sandybrook Country Park
#1 of 20 in Ashbourne
414 reviews
12.4 mi away
Lime Tree Holiday Park
Lime Tree Holiday Park
#6 of 20 in Buxton
85 reviews
13.3 mi away
Riddings Wood Caravan And Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
348 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Jug & Glass Inn
2.0 mi away
Barringtons
Barringtons
#2 of 6 in Darley Dale
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barn Farm Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barn Farm Camping

Address: Birchover, Matlock DE4 2BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Matlock
Price Range: £83 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barn Farm Camping 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barn Farm is situated on the outskirts of the Peak District. Overlooking the Derwent Valley, the farm is a haven for wildlife including Badgers and rare Black Fallow deer. It boasts over 60 species of birds. Caravan and camping visitors can enjoy the use of our 5 star facilities which include a laundry and drying area, games room with TV, outdoor childrens playground, sauna, convenience/camping store on site. Aswell as the camping and caravan pitches we have 5 self-contained camping barns which accommodate from 2 - 15 people. Located 7 miles south of the historic market town of Bakewell and 3 miles west of Matlock, Barn Farm is ideally situated to access the diverse array of local attractions.The Limestone Way passes close by the farm, which is situated on the junction of no less than 4 major footpaths throughout the area. Bordering the farm is the mystical Stanton Moor with its ancient 'Nine Ladies' stone circle. Robin Hood's Stride and Catcliffe Rocks are just 2 of the local climbing areas. Matlock Bath boasts the children's attraction 'Gullivers Kingdom' and a cable car to the heights of Abraham. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing