We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rafting on Derwent - a great family outing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rapid Horizons Ltd

Rapid Horizons Ltd
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We specialise in White Water Rafting, Kayaking and River Tubing! Take to the white stuff with Rapid Horizons. From family groups to stag and hen parties our aim is to give you the best experience on the river. Based in Darley Dale our main location is the River Derwent but we also operate in North Wales on the River Dee and also Nottingham at Holme Pierrepont. No Experience is required for any of our activities. Our staff and River Guides and highly qualified and experienced not to mention incredibly passionate abut their jobs!
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rafting on Derwent - a great family outing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

It's hard to find something that parents and teenage kids both equally enjoy but I think this is definitely one of them. You don't have to be regular in water sports to do this. Great fun, instructor John was a real laugh. Excellent equipment provided and safety was clearly at the top of the agenda. Hot showers available afterwards at the Square and Compass. Would like to return with a bigger group so that we can go out with a couple of rafts. Might even try the River Dee!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrific tubing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Guided by John we all had a fab time tubing down the Derwent. Great fun, not too daunting and good for those a bit worried about more full on water pursuits. Highly Recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rafting the Derwent August 14”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

A really lovely experience with a great instructor and friendly fellow raftees. We all joined in and most of us got a good soaking. Glorious weather and beautiful scenery. Super equipment (helmets, bouyancy jackets and wetsuits) and Jon, the instructor, had a lovely way with everyone, respecting those who did not want to go in but providing safe opportunities for the rest of us to get in the water. Highly recommended for an exhausting but truly memorable afternoon. Rapid Horizons even provided photos for us to remember our day, something that would have been tricky for us amateurs. Very good value for money. A big thankyou to Jon!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MouseNo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We went to the river derwent, It was a very fun and pleasant day trip. The instructor , john was great. Professional, friendly, fun and informative. The whole experience was not just rafting and enjoying the scenery, it also included some activities. Just wanna say BIG THANK YOU to the rapid horizons team!! We had a fab time!! Next time will try the river dee , up a level!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience, loads of fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Worth the experience, had such a fun day. We arrived 2 hours early so we had a meal outside at the square and compass pub with views of the peak district followed by a short walk. Then we went rafting in the early afternoon. We had the option of wearing a wetsuit and everyone wore a life jacket. We then had a quick safety brief. Had loads of fun on the boat and in the water. Rapids were grade 2. so its good for people who have not been rafting before or even if you just want a fun exhilerating day out. Where looking forward to our next white water rafting trip in the river dee where the rapids are slighty more challenging and we are gona go for a half day trip as we enjoyed it so much.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rakkidoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rapid Horizons Ltd also viewed

 

Been to Rapid Horizons Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing