We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quality, kindness and lovely palace to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
One of the stunning views from the terrace which includes table, chairs and a BBQ.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One of the stunning views from the terrace which includes table, chairs and a BBQ.
Enjoy a good nights rest with Hungarian Goose Down bedding and Egyptian Cotton sheets.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
One of the stunning views from the terrace which includes table, chairs and a BBQ.
Enjoy a good nights rest with Hungarian Goose Down bedding and Egyptian Cotton sheets.
This photo was taking looking directly ahead from the South facing terrace - a great sun trap!
Taken from the terrace looking East at Riber Castle. You can also see The Heights of Abraham.
This will give you an idea of the walk down into Matlock which takes about 15 minutes.
View the Derwent Valley from above in a cable car. The Heights of Abraham is 10 minutes drive.
We are surrounded by many beautiful villages. This is Ashford-in-the-Water, 20 minutes by car.
Bakewell has a monthly Farmers Market, usually the last Saturday of each month.
Crown Square, Matlock.
Chatsworth House is a 15 minute drive. Make sure you visit the farm shop in Pilsley.
Matlock Bath is 10 minutes away. A former spa town alongside the River Derwent.
Discover the underground world of the peaks. Treak Cliff cavern - Castleton.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eluned R
Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quality, kindness and lovely palace to stay”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Scones and tea for our arrival worthy of four stars. Spotless but am disabled ,so had to rely on the car because of location.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoulouLon...
London, Ont
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breath taking view”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from staying at Little Lhasa's Retreat. Perfection. Beautiful viewy from Solarium and balcony. Cottage beautifully decorated and spacious. Lovely home to come home to after venturing out to beautiful countryside each day. Would recommend to anyone! Immaculately clean and tea and dessert await you on arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: spectacular view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keyes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Leaving!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Worksop
Reviewed 16 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
djlysuc
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice retreat”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

The house is located near The Sycamore Inn which we tried one night. The food was reasonable and they had a log burner going and the pub had a friendly locals atmosphere.
The accommodation was good although a little chilly, the outside temp was below 5c though. In the summer I would thoroughly recommend the place but take cosy blankets for the winter. Everything else was as expected, clean and tidy with a welcoming atmosphere and good communication from the owner.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2013
I'm really upset to read my guests felt the cold - I cannot bare being cold! I didn't realise they were and so I'm very upset to learn. If I'd have known I could have done something about it. It's fair of them to say it was chilly but that's no excuse. The heating was switched off during the night and from late morning until mid afternoon, but that obviously wasn't adequate. As I open all year round, during the cold months I have the heating on 24/7 and leave it up to my guests to turn down individual radiators if need be. I'm so sorry guys.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo36_13
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This delightful flat in Matlock was perfect for our weekend break. It was airy and bright, very modern, but retained the charm of the era in which it was built.
We booked on the very last minute and had a problem with the directions (corrupted file) which is why I had to say the directions were poor, but once we were able to view them they were fine.
Other than that, the property itself was bright and clean and excellently maintained, the location was perfect for the activities we had planned for the weekend and next time we go back to the area we will certainly be hoping that this property is available to rent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The place was bright and beautifully maintained.
Liked least: There is not much outdoor space for the children.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$65
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing