We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little place overall!”
Review of Matlock Farm Park

Matlock Farm Park
Ranked #7 of 45 things to do in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Matlock Farm Park is a family friendly open farm, providing a great day out with varied activities for all the family. The park has a large selection of animals to see including llamas, goats, peacocks, meerkats, chickens, pigs, alpacas, ducks and deer to name a few. There are specially designed playgrounds and even a go-kart track for the kids and many places for the adults to relax if they wish.Group party bookings and children's birthday parties are also catered for, please ring for details.There is a licensed cafe serving hot food, a classroom and a gift shop. Horse Riding Lessons and Pony Trekking are also available with prior booking.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good little place overall!”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We took two children here for an afternoon out on a day in which the weather was lovely. If you take your time going round (don't rush!) you can easily spend an afternoon here!

The children's play areas were brilliant and we could hardly get the children off them, without these aras I think the afternoon would have been a lot shorter, so they were a good little time filler.

For those who complain about the smell - get real, it's a farm!

My only criticism is the small animal area - the rat cage was rather dirty and there was a litter of babies in with a number of other rats, these need separating so that their mother can feed them, and there was no nesting material for the mum and babies either. I suspect males were being kept with females, thus making a little rat baby boom! But that is my only criticism.

At the end of all the animals was another small children's play area with a bouncy castle, trampoline dug into the ground and children's play houses which helped to keep the children occupied.

We finished off the day with a very reasonably priced ice cream from the cafe :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank lilruthc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    131
    62
    32
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, but could be improved”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We took our 2 year old here today, and it's ok. The pathways aren't too bad for buggy's (we have a double buggy) and there's definitely plenty of animals to look at. The price is just about right for the length of time you are there. You have to like the outdoors, not many places to shelter if you get caught in a rain shower (luckily it was sunny whilst we were there). All in all, its not a bad place for younger children and you get to feed the animals (if you buy the £1 bag of animal feed).

The staff are friendly even if they seem bored at being there. This isn't a problem at all. The cafe was clean, apart from the cobwebs (but it's in the countryside, you can expect cobwebs), the shop is reasonably priced and there is a lot of choice, but not too much choice that you spend hours trying to work out what to buy. We bought a small jar of marmalade for £2.30, which isn't actually badly priced.

The pens/areas for animals had enough space, although they could have done with being mucked out, it did seem like there was quite a lot of poo in the areas.

Smell wise, it's a farm, it's meant to be smelly. It actually doesn't smell too much once you get past the goats.

There are 3 play areas for children, the newest play area was a huge hit with our 2 year old, couldn't get her off it. There is a trampoline that has been sunk into the ground, which again is something we had trouble getting the daughter off.

It has a average rating due to it being a tad tired looking and in need of a cash injection to smarten the site up. There were printed out sheets stuck on the pens, telling you what the animals were, these could possibly do with being plaques, but again this would need a bit of cash throwing at it. The little tykes outdoor play equipment could also do with a jet wash.

Reasonably priced and enjoyable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Friendly Farm”
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for a sanitised experience then go elsewhere but for a relaxing half day it's perfect.
Worth reading the owner's response to the negative review - this is a genuinely caring place. My autistic adult companion was treated with the utmost courtesy and nothing was too much trouble. The employees with learning difficulties are very helpful and clearly enjoy their work.
The simple cafe (tea, ice creams and biscuits) is cheap.
I was impressed by how long people stayed but it was a nice day so the children could play on the equipment whilst adults sipped tea all afternoon.
For what you get it may seem a bit pricey (6 pounds adults, 19.50 for a family) but for what they give it's very cheap. My grateful thanks to the owners.

Helpful?
4 Thank Umpalulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice for younger kids”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We visited Matlock Farm Park with our toddler whilst staying in the area. There is a variety of different farm animals on display for petting and feeding, and a couple of playground areas for kids, including an old tractor to sit on, which our 2-year old loved.

There's clearly some investment going on here (as one of the playground activity centres looked very new) but some areas looked very shabby & run-down. It looked as though some of the playhouses hadn't been cleaned in years (if ever), and the toilets were not in a particularly nice state. Fortunately we didn't need to try out the baby-changing area.

There's enough here for a morning or an afternoon with young kids, but not a whole day. There's a snack shop but no real cafe or restaurant so don't plan any your visit around any mealtimes.

Compared to some of the competition at more professionally-run farm parks, this seems a little average. Having said that, it did feel more like an actual farm than some of the other places we've been to, which felt more like tourist attractions primarily, so it depends on what you're looking for. Overall it was a nice morning out, which kept our little one entertained.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank garsidiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely little farm”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This farm was right next to where i was staying and loved the farm animals they had there. You can just look around if you want or buy a bag of food to feed all the animals

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank spidsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matlock Farm Park also viewed

 

Been to Matlock Farm Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing