We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant for children”
Review of Matlock Farm Park

Matlock Farm Park
Ranked #7 of 46 things to do in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Matlock Farm Park is a family friendly open farm, providing a great day out with varied activities for all the family. The park has a large selection of animals to see including llamas, goats, peacocks, meerkats, chickens, pigs, alpacas, ducks and deer to name a few. There are specially designed playgrounds and even a go-kart track for the kids and many places for the adults to relax if they wish.Group party bookings and children's birthday parties are also catered for, please ring for details.There is a licensed cafe serving hot food, a classroom and a gift shop. Horse Riding Lessons and Pony Trekking are also available with prior booking.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
North West England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant for children”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

A perfect place for children from babies through aged 10. Lovely setting and great play areas with separate provision according to age.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    136
    65
    32
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than yourkshire wildlife park - quote from my kids”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Visited with my wife and two children 6 and 8; we had a fantastic day out, the kids were amazed to be so close to a deer (stag) and feed him up close with the bag of feed they give you when you arrive. The kids were able to hold animals (chicks and rabbits) under supervision in the petting area, feed calfs with a bottle and the meercats with fruit. There are numerous play areas suitable from tots to early teens. I was surprised that they had a go carting area which was good fun. The pony and horse riding was lovely and activities broke up the day. There is plently to do, and there always seems to be a special activity on, exotic animals were there on our visit with racoons, snakes, spiders, armadillos. There is a cafe which serves lovely food and you can also get a beer (old spekled hen!), there is a bouncy castle next to the cafe so you can eat and have a drink while the kids use up some energy! The finale of our day was the ferret racing, what a laugh!
We'll definatley be going back, what a fab day out.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Can't understand the negative reviews”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We visited the park today with our 21 month old son. He loved the experience, seeing all of the animals close up and the play areas too. He was totally exhausted by the end and was straight asleep in the car.

We ate at the cafe, the food was decent and reasonably priced. There was a mix up with my order but the young waitress sorted it out straight away and efficently with no fuss.

There's plenty to do and see for everyone and the park looks to be expanding and improving all of the time.

I don't consider £6.50 for adults much to pay for the entrance and I can imagine when our son is a bit older that we'll end up staying there for most of the day. We've visited similar places around the country and this is as good as any we've been to.

Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area and you and your kids love animals.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Mr_Pork_and_Ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Developing delight”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I visited in August with my husband and six yr old son and spent a few hours here. This is a developing farm park but we had a lovely time. There are plenty of adventure playground areas between animal areas and even a bouncy castle near the cafe. You are given a bag of animal feed and this enables you to feed the grazing animals. The goats will come for the food and are very lively and the pigs were a delight. There is an opportunity to have a horse ride and my son loved it. He also enjoyed having a rabbit and tortoise on his lap. There are opportunities to wash your hands etc with gel soap but I appreciate that this s a FARM PARK. This was a lovely experience and I will return next year.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie18122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun afternoon feeding the animals”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Visited with a friend and her 9 year old daughter who really enjoyed feeding the donkeys and ponies and looking at the goats. We weren't so keen on the small animals and birds but overall a good value place to visit which we all enjoyed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matlock Farm Park also viewed

 

Been to Matlock Farm Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing