We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly local, good food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Stags

Three Stags
Ranked #58 of 121 Restaurants in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Friendly local, good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We visited this lovely local pub on the way back from a food festival in Derbyshire.

It was near the end of serving but the staff were very friendly and we had good food. The atmosphere and decor a bit dated, but otherwise a good place to stop.

A nice selection of real local ales on tap.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mervyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    0
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly, welcoming,delicious food, great beers fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

After a long walk up hills we were me with a friendly welcome. Great pretty, old and traditional pub, food was fresh, served hot, and delicious also great beers on offer. Go visit you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“People and dog friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

What a great little pub! Great beers and a huge menu choice which was such good value. It was also nice that dogs are allowed throughout the pub, we will definatley be returning when we are next in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mega friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Have been to the Stags a few times and never been disappointed. The staff are always friendly and the service and food are first class. Dogs are as welcome as humans! They also have some very good entertainment. The pub does get very busy at times but with a cracking place like this you will understand why. Pay it a visit you won't regret it, we shall definately be returning again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HillybillyRockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Little Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The food at the Three Stags Heads is excellent, the staff are very friendly and there's a great atmosphere. Dogs are also allowed throughout the pub. We'll definitely be returning.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lesley_and_Stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Stags also viewed

Darley Dale, Matlock
Matlock, Derbyshire
 
Darley Dale, Matlock
 
Matlock, Derbyshire
Two Dales, Derbyshire
 

Been to Three Stags? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing