We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location amazing, felt at home immediately...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Coach House Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Coach House Cottage
Back Gardens on to open Fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
The Old Coach House Cottage
Back Gardens on to open Fields
Lawned Gardens
Sun Garden
Kitchen Dinner
Garden play area
master bedroom
Winter Wonderland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jwhossein...
Chesham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Location amazing, felt at home immediately. Beautiful part of the world, and would like to return one day.”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would recommend a visit to Matlock Bath, beautiful walks and views. Buxton and Bakewell are also well worth a visit. If you like history Masson Mills in Cromford is a very interesting place to visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve2120...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb cottage in perfect location”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Lovely cottage, comfortable and well appointed with all you need for a peaceful break from the daily grind.
Perfect location to explore some of the best that the dales has to offer, Bakewell, Buxton, Matlock, Dovedale etc. One must do is the cable car ride up to the 'Heights of Abraham'

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalmasvic
Island of Malta, Malta
1 review
“A Nice cottage with beautiful surrounds”
Reviewed 14 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The Old Coach House is a nice cottage in a very quiet area with beautiful surroundings. Very warm in winter and all you need is found in the cottage. Will recommend to our friends for a nice stay in UK

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea G
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Huge blue skies on top of the world”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We loved this cottage, its history as part of an old coaching in, its cosiness and its location in an unspoiled village surrounded by fields. There were curious calves looking at us over the garden fence. The cottage forms part of a very well-kept farm complex. Nigel and his family and immediate neighbours very welcoming and friendly. Little gestures like a pint of real milk for your first cuppa, I value very highly. Can never understand how country cottages can provide little plastic pretend milks! The kitchen facilities were good, every kitchen utensil you could possibly need - we had just one request. It is self-catering and it would be good to have at least one totally empty cupboard for your own foodstuffs. Every cupboard was filled. But all in all, very happy times in the cottage and we were grateful they welcomed our dog too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: personal niggle - don't like artificial flowers, prefer none at all.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ke K
England
2 reviews
“Would definitely recommend”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

It does sleep 6. A double bed, 2 bunk beds and a double fold out sofa bed. There is also an additional fold out single available on request. My husband and I with 2 young children (3 and 6) with my mum too all slept comfortably in the cottage. The cottage is close to all local attractions, on average a 15/20 minute drive to the more popular ones such as Gullivers Kingdom. The children loved the play areas and plentiful toys available to them and we enjoyed the peaceful area and incredibly scenic views from all around. The owner and his family were all very welcoming and the coattge had everything you could need. A definite home from home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david c
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“a little disappointed”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Really nice people and excellent central location to Matlock, Bakewell and Ashbourne. However the photos of holiday let were not representative of it being in the middle of a farm and the view blocked by a barn. It took us several days to get our heads around this. Cosy house but 4 maximum, not 6. Needs new mattresses.

Would not think about going back unless just two of us. Not suitable for teenage kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: bedding and mattresses
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
The cottage is not in the middle of a farm ,it has its own access road.
The cottage has 9 windows so they pick the same window to look out of all week. We are 1000 ft above sea level and have lovely views of open fields and countryside. What was they expecting to see ,a cruise Ship or even Blackpool Tower?
Not suitable for teenage kids?, we have very large Lawned gardens with Goal Posts, Basket ball nets,Badminton/Tennis ,Cricket, Bowles.
They brought their own Bicycles and were seen riding around the village.
Perhaps they should all just stay at home looking through one window at another house or even a tower block playing on their I pads siting on Feather Down mattresses.
Good job that we are Really nice people, what was the point of this Silly review by some NOT REALLY NICE PEOPLE.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter A
Adelaide Hills, Australia
2 reviews
“False Advertising”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This cottage is advertised to have 2 bedrooms, sleeping 6 with a temporary bed for an extra person if needed and a double sofa bed in the lounge. When we arrived after a flight from Australia with 4 adults and 2 children, we found 1 bedroom with 2 single bunks and on the stairway landing a double bed. That was it we had to use the old sofa bed in the lounge and all basically bunk together. The price we paid was not cheap being on the high side of a 6 person cottage. When we called the owner we were told if we did not like it we could leave, but there would be no refund. We had to split up and rent another cottage, which was very similar but notably half the price. The picture on the website implies the cottage is on it's own, but it is not, there is another house almost touching.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The neighouring farmers
Liked least: It was mising 2 beds and a proper second bedroom.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
This Australian can not read ,he came to my cottage in little old England expecting four bedrooms and 16 beds.
No one has complained about our cottage lay out for over 25 years.
Think that he had booked Buckingham palace, but that would not have been good enough .
We went out of our way to find him another cottage but his family loved the Old coach house and all of the out door play areas and gardens so much that they stopped in the cottage all week and would not go so he went and slept in the other cottage.
The cottage is Detached and on its own as the Next property is at least Two meters away.
This man is a trouble maker do not let him stay in your property as he will go out of his way to destroy your Business. With lies on trip advisor .Stay in Australia .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing