We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't hope for more”
Review of Sheriff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheriff Lodge
Ranked #3 of 54 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2013

One of the reasons we picked the B&B was because of the excellent ratings and we certainly weren't disappointed. The room was great, comfortable bed, lovely big bathroom and beautiful views. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever eaten in a hotel and B&B - the homemade bread was very yummy. More than anything Kate and Alan were very helpful and welcoming, their tips meant we saw some greats pubs and did some good walks to earn the drink! We had a lovely weekend in the Peak District and are looking for an excuse to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

A warm welcome, helpful, knowledgeable & accommodating hosts, splendid breakfasts, warm rooms in a cold April, a comfortable bed and a splendid shower - what's not to like?
My best B & B.
Bill Gridley

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We booked at the last minute to stay for a weekend at the start of January.
When we arrived we realised that a lot of the activities we had planned were closed for winter but Kate and Alan came up with lots of alternatives, even offering us their bikes. They know the area really well and made sure we got the most out of our few days.

The breakfast is incredible!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed only one night but would definitely go back anytime.

A warm welcome from Kate who showed us to our room and offered us refreshment as soon as we arrived. She is also full of information about local restaurants.

Our room was lovely and the bed was both massive and oh so comfy! (My partner is 6ft 7 and he very much appreciated the leg room).

We were in the Loft which is an owl themed room and we had fun counting all the owls... we spotted 32 - I hope we didn't miss any! The views from the room were good too.

Breakfast in the morning was great: well presented, freshly cooked and quickly served. Both Kate and Alan were very friendly and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this to a friend and hope to visit for a longer stay in the future.

My only "even better if" would be if there were a couple of hooks on the back of the bedroom/bathroom doors to hang things on!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanrichmond, Owner at Sheriff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Thanks for your lovely review - and you are mind readers. We already have the hooks but were waiting until this weekend to fit them when Alan is free from his 'day job' as an officer in the Fire & Rescue Service to fit them.
We look forward to seeing you soon - and don't forget folks ALL our beds are seven feet long:-)
Best Wishes
Kate (and Alan of course) at Sheriff Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

A very warm welcome from Allan and Kate, a really first rate place to stay. So refreshing to have your expectations more than exceeded when visiting a british B&B. Smart, comfortable, quirky/funny rooms. Excellent food, especially the home-made bread and marmalade. The recommended local pub (The Sycamore) provided excellent food and beer. What more could you ask for? Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArmstrongMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanrichmond, Owner at Sheriff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Smart, comfortable quirky and funny - this sounds like a great place to stay - think I'll try it one day:-)
I think the quirky/funny aspect that you refer to is the efforts that we've gone to to keep the character of this wonderful former Edwardian's Residence (with parts dating back to 1740).
Check out our website folks to see the rest of the rooms.
See you all soon
Kate & Alan @ Sheriff Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Took other half here for a weekend break, what a lovely place, would definitely recommend. Ideal for touring the area, and made very welcome, breakfast lovely and made to feel completely at home by Kate and Allan. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Very friendly and welcoming hosts. The Warren Rom is actually more a mini-suite and is ideal if you have a dog as you have direct access to the car park and plenty of space. Excellent choice at breakfast. The smoked salmon & scrambled egg in a butter croissant was a delight. No distance for a stroll into town or up to the local pub for an evening meal but very quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
348 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
392 reviews
0.9 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 54 in Matlock
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 54 in Matlock
326 reviews
3.0 mi away
Deeley House Bed & Breakfast
17.7 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheriff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheriff Lodge

Address: 51 Dimple Road, Matlock DE4 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: £103 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Edwardian Gentleman's residence in the heart of the Derbyshire Dales with easy access to the Peak District, Haddon Hall and Chatsworth. Our rooms have extra long, 7 foot beds! In addition we cater for all dietary needs, from vegan to vegetarian to coeliac to diabetic, and of course The Full Derbyshire Breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sheriff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing