We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky and privileged to have stayed at Sheriff Lodge”
Review of Sheriff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheriff Lodge
Ranked #2 of 53 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2013

During June, we enjoyed an idyllic three week holiday in the Derbyshire Peak District. After experiencing the first class hospitality at Sheriff Lodge last summer, there was no question of where we would choose to stay during our holiday this year. Yet again our hosts Alan, Kate and their friendly “Room Fairies,” who service the bedrooms, looked after us so well. While the atmosphere is welcoming, friendly and informal, the service is delivered with a quiet efficiency, care and admirable attention to detail. All of this makes it a great place to stay.

After a great night’s sleep in a comfortable bed, what could be better than coming down to breakfast each morning to the aroma of Alan’s freshly baked bread and later to enjoy his exceptional homemade jam or marmalade? The delicious Derbyshire breakfast, prepared to order by Kate to satisfy individual tastes and dietary needs, was a great start to each and every action packed day.

Sheriff Lodge in Matlock was a great location for visiting the many and varied tourist attractions throughout Derbyshire. It is also an ideal base for touring around and walking through stunning scenery that the Peak District National Park has to offer. Alan and Kate provided a very useful visitors guide folder in the bedroom packed with information about interesting places to visit and where to eat out. As well as this there are numerous publications and maps in the lounge that helped us plan our days. Returning each evening we were assured of a parking space in the well lit, off road, parking area and the nearby Sycamore Inn provided excellent food in a warm and friendly atmosphere.

Will we be returning to the Peak District? We’ll be back. Even after five weeks there are still a lot of places we have yet to visit.

Will we be returning to Sheriff Lodge? Yes we will.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockanfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanrichmond, Owner at Sheriff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Mr & Mrs K - it is always a privilege to look after such wonderful people as yourselves. To have stayed here for two three week periods in two years is simply amazing - and now you've booked for another three week stay next year - astounding! You'll know more about the Peak Distirct than we do:-)
Thank you once again for all your lovely comments - and we can't wait to see you again - we'll try to book some lovely weather too
Best wishes
Kate & Alan @ Sheriff Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
There are newer reviews for Sheriff Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Like other reviewers who have stayed here we were extremely impressed with everything about the accommodation. The super size beds, the choice on the breakfast, including fresh baked bread and home made preserves menu was superb. The attention to detail leaves some 5 star hotels in the shade. Very friendly and so comfortable we will have no hesitation recommending it to our family and friends. We also took advantage of the discount tickets for Chatsworth House that they have.Thank you both.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisyessir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanrichmond, Owner at Sheriff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Wow - being compared to five star hotels - that's great. We are always trying our best to improve and we've just had our annual ETC Quality Assurance visit - we are still right up there with our Gold Award and we aim to stay that way.
Thank you for excellent comments - and see you again soon?
Kate & Alan @ Sheriff Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Sheriff Lodge and were very satisfied. Our room had a "mouse theme" and was clean and well equipped. The breakfasts were tasty and there's a sitting room and garden where guests can relax too. The town centre is five minutes walk down a hill, where there are parks and a riverside path. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanrichmond, Owner at Sheriff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thanks for your lovely review - we obvioulsy missed something here - only a Very Good rating. We'd love to know what we could do to make your stay warrant an Excellent. If you have the time could you drop us a direct e-mail - any changes we can make, we do - all which are designed to improve our service to all our guests - if we don't know how then we can't improve.
Looking forward to seeing you again in the future
Kate & Alan @ Sheriff Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I was looking for a nice, friendly, clean and welcoming B&B for a 1-night stay in Matlock, and booked in at the Sheriff Lodge on the back of the reviews/ratings on Trip Advisor. I must say that it lives up to its reputation on here and more

Kate and Alan were very welcoming upon arrival (as was their lovely dog Hattie), and we received a nice introduction to the place with some very helpful tips on where to eat and what to do. The room we stayed in (the Nest) was immaculate and the views across Matlock and beyond were excellent, much better than we'd expected. The bed was very big and very comfortable, the bathroom was spotless with everything we needed and it had a very warm, comfortable and homely feel

The breakfast was, as expected after reading so many comments about it on here, outstanding and perfectly cooked, with a varied choice cooked exactly as we asked

We enjoyed a nice evening meal at The Sycamore up the road, but I'd also recommend a drink in Harvey's Bar in Matlock (perhaps one for the younger visitors), where the landlord and landlady were very friendly and their son spent 30 minutes chatting with us and introducing us to his dog Yeti

Thank you Kate and Alan for for a really nice night away, and we'll certainly be visiting again, highly recommended!

Room Tip: We would definitely recommend booking the top floor rooms to take advantage of the views across Matl...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Kate and Alan deserve all the plaudits in these reviews. We spent three nights in The Loft: well proportioned room with an excellent double bed (tall folk can stretch out!). Breakfasts are spendid! We found a Happy Anniversary card and vase of flowers in our room: it's the thoughtfulness that makes Sheriff Lodge outstanding.

Room Tip: Kate and Alan are tall people and have provided 7ft beds so that us tall people can sleep in comfort...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerMRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed here with my son for one night whilst walking in the Peak District. Alan and Kate are warm and considerate hosts, and greeted our arrival with tea and cakes. Our twin room was clean, comfortable and well furnished and decorated. The en suite shower room provided lots of hot water and big luxurious towels. Breakfast was superb - a wonderful variety of choices available. For evening meals there s plenty of local choices, but the pub up the road provided excellent and reasonably priced food and a welcoming environment. What's not to like?
If I really tried really hard to find anything wrong I suppose the mattress was a little hard for my liking, but I would heartily recommend Sherriff's Lodge to anyone.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed for three nights in the Loft and our break was made very special by Kate & Alan's hospitality, which was second to none. I am on a wheat-free diet, which is often a challenge when on holiday but not here. Kate produced a box of wheat-free macaroons for me on arrival as I couldn't eat the biscuits that were on the tea tray in our room. How delicious were they! The breakfasts were to die for; again, all wheat-free for me. Alan's homemade bread must get a special mention, also the homemade jam and marmalade.
Our room was excellent with everything we needed for our stay including quality toiletries and was spotlessly clean like the rest of the lodge. The sitting area available for us to rest our aching muscles at the end of the day was also a delight. Here, we had the use of a laptop, complimentary cold drinks, sherry, chocolate bars, fruit, books etc. What more could we want? Definitely a B & B to return to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zan190775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
312 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
379 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
4.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
801 reviews
0.9 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 53 in Matlock
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheriff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheriff Lodge

Address: 51 Dimple Road, Matlock DE4 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: £99 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Edwardian Gentleman's residence in the heart of the Derbyshire Dales with easy access to the Peak District, Haddon Hall and Chatsworth. Our rooms have extra long, 7 foot beds! In addition we cater for all dietary needs, from vegan to vegetarian to coeliac to diabetic, and of course The Full Derbyshire Breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sheriff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing