We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Wedding Aniversary”
Review of Sheriff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheriff Lodge
Ranked #2 of 53 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

It was all a secret kept from me and my wife until we arrived at the door of the guest house where we were met by the lovely Kate and Allen we received a wonderful welcome and shown to our room which was beautiful with a wonderful view south east and west and the beds were extra large
The next morning we went down to breakfast and was presented with a menue fit for a King all in all everything was second to none and we felt really at home if you want full satisfaction visit Kate and Allen for a wonderful stay

Room Tip: I stayed in The Birds Nest and had Beutifull views s/e/w
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric Seabo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
There are newer reviews for Sheriff Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

What can I say, such a friendly and welcoming host/hostess in Alan and Kate.
You know how they often say "there's no place like home" - well the greeting we received on our arrival at Sherriff Lodge was just like coming home.
After being shown to our room.....and yes I too have to mention the 7 foot beds, we then "retired to the lounge" with fresh beverages readily made and just soaked in the atmosphere.
A good nights sleep ensued, followed by a hearty breakfast setting us up for the day ahead.

Will we return...........you bet!!!

Room Tip: We only used the Warrens (Family Room) - but if all the rooms are anything to compare by,then you wo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here in the 2 rooms in the basement which were just right for 2 adults and 2 children. Alan and Kate are really warm, friendly people who made us feel very welcome from start - there's a real generosity of spirit about them. And very good breakfasts to boot!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My family so enjoyed our too-short stay at Sheriff Lodge. I left a short review on another web site, afraid I'd be cut off: let me gush here! You don't want to stay anywhere else if you need lodging in the area of Matlock! Alan and Kate have made the perfect B&B, not only providing all the little touches that make a stay both charming and comfortable (every room theme-decorated according to its name, tea service in the room, toiletries in the bath, cold drinks & lap-top in the lounge), but also going above and beyond what used to be my concept of perfect hosts. They are friendly, helpful and gracious--but so are many hosts, right? This couple love being alive and are living their dream of having a delightful B&B: they really make you feel as if you're their favorite family members come to visit & they can't wait to help you have a great time.

Alright, enough gushing: details. Our room was on the top floor & Alan insisted on helping with our way-too-heavy bags! The room was--I think--the nest & was tastefully decorated with bird motifs. Our large bed was clean and wonderfully comfortable. My 15-year-old daughter had a comfortable single bed set up in the corner & said it was much better than some of the other inns we stayed at. Our room had a sitting chair, a side table with area information & tea service, and an armoire. Our en-suite bathroom was large and elegant with a pedestal sink.

After a long day's travel, Kate made us tea and served us in the garden with delicious pastries! What a nice way to relax and unwind. Then Alan gave us directions to a local pub we could walk to for dinner as we didn't want to do any more driving that day! In the morning, our "cold" selection was enough to go all day on--especially Alan's fresh bread and home-made marmalades. As a 20-yr veteran of bread baking I can assure you: Alan's bread is AWESOME! And the breakfast that follows needn't be ashamed to be served in the same meal.

The only complaint I have with our visit is our own doing: we didn't stay nearly long enough!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Myself and my bridesmaids stayed at this beautiful little B&B for my wedding bridal party, after having my reception at Sycamore Inn. I would highly recommend this wonderful gem. The service was flawless, the food was the best we've tasted. The rooms are so quaint and so unique in decor. Highly recommended to anyone that wants a memory to remember.
No ask is too much, personal touches make this B&B outstanding.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed in Sheriff Lodge for 2 nights while visiting Alton Towers and Chatsworth House.

The first issue we had was the fact that we were bringing 2 cars - one being a Lotus, which needed secure parking. Not a problem for Alan and Kate, a quick phone call (from Kate) arranged security for while we were at Alton Towers.

Second issue, horrendous traffic on the Friday night on our way up, resulting in us not arriving until just past 10pm. Again, not a problem, Alan was more than happy to wait up for us, show us our room (more about that later!) and make sure we were settled in.

Third issue - we needed an early breakfast Saturday. Again, not a problem. Alan got up especially to make us breakfast over an hour earlier than the usual Saturday breakfast time, to cook to order possibly the best breakfast selection I had ever seen, including freshly baked bread (delicious!) In fact, any issue we had was sorted out almost before it had happened, and nothing was too much trouble.

Sheriff Lodge is homely, welcoming, and comfortable, and everything you could possibly want. Our room, "The Nest", is a family room with the biggest double bed I have ever seen - no kidding, it's 7 foot long! - and a single bed for our son. The beds were extremely comfortable, the room very well decorated and appointed, the bathroom was fabulous, loads of hot water and a good powerful shower. Lots of little personal touches everywhere which really made it special, I loved the bluetit theme of the room, and my son loved the little cuddly bluetits that tweeted when you squeezed them!

Downstairs, the lounge/breakfast room is very nicely furnished and decorated, with plenty of books and magazines, an internet ready laptop, fridge with soft drinks for you to help yourself, and a lovely "Alice in Wonderland" themed chessboard to keep you occupied whiled you chill out. A lot of thought has quite obviously gone in to this place!

Alan and Kate are two of the nicest, most accommodating people I have met, and make you feel more like family come to visit rather than paying guests.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!!

Room Tip: Any room is a good room, but the nest is on the second floor, and quite a climb. Not a problem for u...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

During June, we enjoyed an idyllic three week holiday in the Derbyshire Peak District. After experiencing the first class hospitality at Sheriff Lodge last summer, there was no question of where we would choose to stay during our holiday this year. Yet again our hosts Alan, Kate and their friendly “Room Fairies,” who service the bedrooms, looked after us so well. While the atmosphere is welcoming, friendly and informal, the service is delivered with a quiet efficiency, care and admirable attention to detail. All of this makes it a great place to stay.

After a great night’s sleep in a comfortable bed, what could be better than coming down to breakfast each morning to the aroma of Alan’s freshly baked bread and later to enjoy his exceptional homemade jam or marmalade? The delicious Derbyshire breakfast, prepared to order by Kate to satisfy individual tastes and dietary needs, was a great start to each and every action packed day.

Sheriff Lodge in Matlock was a great location for visiting the many and varied tourist attractions throughout Derbyshire. It is also an ideal base for touring around and walking through stunning scenery that the Peak District National Park has to offer. Alan and Kate provided a very useful visitors guide folder in the bedroom packed with information about interesting places to visit and where to eat out. As well as this there are numerous publications and maps in the lounge that helped us plan our days. Returning each evening we were assured of a parking space in the well lit, off road, parking area and the nearby Sycamore Inn provided excellent food in a warm and friendly atmosphere.

Will we be returning to the Peak District? We’ll be back. Even after five weeks there are still a lot of places we have yet to visit.

Will we be returning to Sheriff Lodge? Yes we will.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockanfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanrichmond, Owner at Sheriff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Mr & Mrs K - it is always a privilege to look after such wonderful people as yourselves. To have stayed here for two three week periods in two years is simply amazing - and now you've booked for another three week stay next year - astounding! You'll know more about the Peak Distirct than we do:-)
Thank you once again for all your lovely comments - and we can't wait to see you again - we'll try to book some lovely weather too
Best wishes
Kate & Alan @ Sheriff Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
312 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
379 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
4.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
801 reviews
0.9 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 53 in Matlock
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheriff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheriff Lodge

Address: 51 Dimple Road, Matlock DE4 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: £99 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Edwardian Gentleman's residence in the heart of the Derbyshire Dales with easy access to the Peak District, Haddon Hall and Chatsworth. Our rooms have extra long, 7 foot beds! In addition we cater for all dietary needs, from vegan to vegetarian to coeliac to diabetic, and of course The Full Derbyshire Breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sheriff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing