We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A proper 'guest' house”
Review of Sheriff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheriff Lodge
Ranked #3 of 54 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

If you are looking for a traditional guest house - look no further. A warm welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Great bedroom facilities - I was shown to the 'owl room' on the top floor of the lodge. Looks like all rooms are themed which shows that extra thought has been given to making your stay memorable.
Freshly baked bread and home made jam etc and an extensive breakfast menu. Why go anywhere else in Matlock. Thanks for a lovely overnighter - made a lonely traveller very welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights with teenage daughters and we had a really enjoyable stay. The atmosphere is friendly and Kate and Alan so welcoming. As others have said, the breakfasts are terrific - well cooked, plentiful and great home baked bread. The rooms are nicely turned out and the beds very comfortable. Strongly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have stayed in many b&bs and this surpasses the lot by far! Breakfast is a real treat, catered for gluten free too and the bread is the best gluten free I've ever tasted.

Great location

We stayed in the Warren basement rooms which was a real home from home, cosy and spacious and great to hav a separate room for our child to sleep in.

Extremely clean and inviting! 10/10

Owners can't do enough for their guests and seem to reall enjoy their business

Room Tip: If you're going to Matlock, don't stay anywhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerri3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed in the Mouse Hole room and it was WONDERFUL. Huge bed,beautiful furnishings, immaculate attention to detail. We had a wonderful breakfast cooked especially to order and Alan even printed off a recommended walking route for us. We only stayed one night but feel we got SO much out of it due to our wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We booked this room as a base for Matlock. It's centrally located and we received a very warm welcome from Kate and Alan. With four kinds of vegetarian sausages to choose from (not to mention the delicious bacon!) this was a breakfast lover's paradise. The owners have thought of everything. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thoughtful_Voyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanrichmond, Owner at Sheriff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Once again thank you so very much for your wonderful comments - they make a difference in more ways than one.
Firstly they give us constructive feedback on where we can improve and where we need to maintain the high standard that we always try to meet with every guest that steps across the threshold here at Sheriff Lodge.
Secondly they help dictate just where we feature on this ever growing website...and this entry has taken us back to a third position in Matlock - so thank you...(and incidentally we are actually number two but I'm being picky - Silver Ridge is outside the centre of Matlock by 2.9 miles according to Google Maps but TripAdvisor hauls it into its algorithm - and they are good friends of ours so I'm not knocking their excellent achievement - it is not easy maintaining position in this competitive market).
...and just a little tip folks - if you find ANY accommodation on this website that tells you they affiliated to such booking giants as Late Rooms and Booking.com check out the accommodation's own website before you go booking through such an agent - they generally take 15% from each of the bookings made through them and the more money we have in our hands the more we have to spend on improvements - and there are other review sites as well as this so go surfing.
See you all soon
Kate & Alan @ Sheriff Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stopped at Sheriff Lodge last weekend.
Brilliant B&B Kate and Alan could not have done more for us, they made us feel very welcome from the begining of our stay.
The room we stopped in (The Nest) was emmaculate and the first thing my partner sai was that we would be coming back again. It was all the little things that mattered and the attention to detail.
The Breakfast was excellent and the home made bread, marmalade & jam to die for.
A really good weekend enhamced by a first rate B&B what more could you ask for.

Room Tip: The room we stopped in had a dual aspect some beautiful views of the hills and countryside surroundi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We went to matlock on a whim, to celebrate our weekend and do some walking.. I booked last minute but Alan was so accomodative. He offered us a great room with beautiful views. Kate is a great hostess- she let us check in early as the room was ready, and gave us plenty of advice on the area. The room has absolutely everything you need, its like a home away from home. Its the little touches which we loved- plenty of towels, books, lovely toiletries, dvd player, access to wine, drinks, all sorts! Above all, the breakfast was superb. Alan had made a fresh seeded bread, apple and blackberry jam with port, a whisky marmalade, home made butter, a fantastic choice of full breakfasts and even a gluten free full english breakfast option! That sealed the deal for me! They had even made gluten free bread at home! Kate gave me some tasty gluten free coconut macaroons she had made, to take away with me in the morning. I will definitely be back!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank suchipatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
348 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
392 reviews
0.9 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 54 in Matlock
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 54 in Matlock
326 reviews
3.0 mi away
Deeley House Bed & Breakfast
17.7 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheriff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheriff Lodge

Address: 51 Dimple Road, Matlock DE4 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: £102 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Edwardian Gentleman's residence in the heart of the Derbyshire Dales with easy access to the Peak District, Haddon Hall and Chatsworth. Our rooms have extra long, 7 foot beds! In addition we cater for all dietary needs, from vegan to vegetarian to coeliac to diabetic, and of course The Full Derbyshire Breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sheriff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing