We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheriff Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Wirksworth)
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$299
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peak Edge Hotel(Stonedge)
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hodgkinson's Hotel(Matlock Bath)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
441
17
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
441
17
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breaddrawing roomaward winningeggs benedictnothing is too much troublehome from homepeak districtattention to detailan emergencydvd playerhuge choicethought of everythingperfect hostsbreakfast was amazinglittle toucheshuge bedchatsworth house
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Thanks Kate and Alan for a wonderful couple of days stay in Matlock. The Warren provides perfect family accommodation, very comfortable and great collection of books and games for children and adults alike. And the breakfasts... Well, my eldest daughter is Coeliac and declared it the best gluten free breakfast she has ever had! Alan's homemade gluten free bread is fabulous and with whisky marmalade ....
We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The warren consists of two adjoining rooms with private bathroom on the lower ground floor, so parents get a bit of quiet! Both rooms have TV and DVD, with small DVD library in the guest lounge. The guest lounge is directly above so we could sit upstairs and relax while the kids went to sleep.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I recommend this hotel. Is very nice hotel, big bedrooms, very clean and have a excellent breakfast. This hotel have a nice views for the hills.
The price is ok, not very expensive.
The hotel owners are very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCE_Portugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

As other reviews have said....nothing was too much trouble. A warm welcome for Ralph our dog. Superb breakfast and very hospitable throughout. Comfortable beds and a decent shower. Friendly and relaxed atmosphere makes for a stress-free stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ralphsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had a great time here with our little bison frise Misty. This delightful place is a home from home with a huge bed and plenty of room for our portable kennel for night time. There was lots of space and the theme of the Warren delightful and pleasant. Wish we could have stayed longer . Our hosts were kind, thoughtful and did all they could to help make our stay comfortable and special. In fact , we would prefer to keep this place a secret so we will always be able to stay here. Breakfast just superb with fresh bread and other goodies available to suit our wishes,
There is no problem parking. Our little dog was welcomed too. What more could anyone wish for ???? Thanks Kate and Allan .We will be back !

Room Tip: Dog friendly and a delightful place
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulnLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanrichmond, Owner at Sheriff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Hi you two,

Thanks for a lovely posting - its really good to see that we are doing our bit to encourage people to want to return to this great part of the world. Here's to a glorious scorching summer of guests as lovely as you

Best wishes
Kate & Alan
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

On arriving we were greeted by Kate and Alan and a waggy tail from Hattie. Kate put the kettle on straight away whilst we unloaded the car and settled ourselves including Tyler (our dog)!! Hospitality throughout our stay was exceptional with little personal touches thrown in i.e Tyler had a specially cooked sausage for breakfast every day. The bed was large and extremely comfortable, ( I prefer the room to be cool at night, and my daughter prefers it to be warm), and we both slept "like logs". Breakfast was scrummy with homemade bread, jam and marmalade (don't forget to leave room for this!! We would definitely recommend salmon and scrambled eggs. Alan and Kate gave us plenty of advice of local places to visit, which we did, and thoroughly enjoyed. We would love to return again soon.

Room Tip: The Warren is a great dog friendly room
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 311,469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews