We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
461
20
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
461
20
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade bread drawing room award winning nothing is too much trouble home from home attention to detail warm welcome thought of everything huge choice perfect hosts breakfast was amazing little touches chatsworth house b b's cooked to perfection fruit juice lovely couple
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2017

We have just returned from a few days up in Derbyshire at Matlock. We chose the Sheriff Lodge B&B and were so happy we did. This is a fab B&B and our hosts Alan and Kate were lovely - warm and welcoming and so helpful in advising us about great walks or places to see. They lent us books and printed off maps for us...nothing was too much trouble for this great couple. Our room was lovely with little touches like sweets and cookies as well as a wide selection of drinks options, and the biggest bed we have ever slept in! The breakfasts were just scrummy and were cooked to order. The homemade bread and jams etc. just the icing on the cake...

Room Tip: Each room had a theme - really fun
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

There were 5 adults and most importantly Bertie my sister's dog staying at Sherriffs Lodge for one night as we were visiting Chatsworth the following day and did not want to waste time travelling. Nothing was too much trouble for Kate and Alan, the breakfast was superb and the rooms were light, airy and extremely well equipped. This was the best B&B I have stayed at in the UK. ( They also had discount Chatsworth Tickets).

Room Tip: All rooms apart from the two on the top are dog friendly. There are only 5 rooms and they are all excellent.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LanternH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanrichmond, Owner at Sheriff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

So glad to read that Bertie loved his stay:-)...and thank you for your great comments - we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes
Kate & Alan (and Hattie the Lab)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Just got back from a two night, weekend stay. We stayed in the "Nest" room, which has a blue tit theme. It's a good sized room with a huge four poster bed, which was firm but very comfortable. It was well furnished including a comfy arm chair, which you rarely get in your rooms from our experience. The bedding supplied catered for any climate and there was a small plug-in radiator, which soon took the chill off the room when the night cooled down. The en-suite was also a good size (bigger than our bathroom at home), with lovely soft towels and plenty of toiletries.

The owners, Alan and Kate were very friendly and welcoming. The choice of breakfast was very good and varied, with a menu which you could literally mix and match. Fresh fruit salad, yogurts, cereals and fruit juices etc. were all laid out for you to help yourself, whilst your choice of main meal was being freshly prepared. The sausages were especially nice, very tasty and thick. I can recommend the Eggs Benedict, it's very good. The bread was homemade on the premises by Alan and very nice and extremely filling! Homemade jam and marmalade also graced the tables.

The building itself is a lovely old house, well maintained and acceptably clean with a well furnished garden which guests are allowed to use. When we stayed, the weather was lovely and sunny and most of the guests made full use of the garden, a few empty wine bottles by the end of the day. The dining room and drawing room are combined and guests are allowed free use of the comfy leather sofas and a laptop for surfing the internet. There is a fridge stocked with bottled water and fruit juice which are complimentary, and guests can bring in their own alcohol and chill it in the fridge. Plates, cutlery and a table in the dining room will be provided if you want to order a takeaway.

I was impressed with the thought that has gone into making their guests stay as comfortable as possible. With little things like tissues and face clothes, a coffee machine in the room, lots of mirrors(in the right places), an excellent selection of drinks on the complimentary tray, a teapot and wine glasses, use of a good selection of DVD's etc. Home from home really. We have stayed in many b & b's that just provide the minimum requirements that they can get away with. We found Sheriff Lodge very welcoming and would not hesitate to recommend it. It is situated on quite a steep bank though, which is not easy on foot if you are less able!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanrichmond, Owner at Sheriff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Definitely THE most comprehensive review I have ever seen - I think you have covered every aspect of what we do here - and its great to read that what we try to do is noticed. All of our efforts from discount tickets to Chatsworth House to Eggs Benedict is thought through carefully and we love to meet guests who really appreciate it all.

Thank you so much for a review that wouldn't look out of place in The Sunday Telegraph (are you sure you're not related to Paddy Burt:-)

Can't wait to see you again

Best wishes
Kate & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

We can say without reservation that this is amongst the best guest houses where we have ever had the pleasure to stay, our hosts were excellent, they were attentive and could not do enough for their guests, the breakfast was yummy yummy yummy and not the standard Full English all on the plate normal fare. 7' beds very comfortable

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank davidc288119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanrichmond, Owner at Sheriff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

What a fabulous review - Thank you so much. Our efforts are always rewarded when we meet guests like you.
Thank you again and see you soon
Kate & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

We have been visiting sheriff lodge off and on for the past 12 years. Each time we visit it just gets better. The real winner for all us has always been all the beautiful little touches that go into every room and the attention to detail. Alan and Kate are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble.

Awards for home made bread and jam, breakfasts are a delight.

The area is perfect for walkers, and with the experience and knowledge of Alan and Kate, as regulars walkers themselves, they will provide you with many interesting routes. If not a walker Derbyshire has many interesting places to visit, such as Chatsworth House.

Highly recommended and If you are looking for something special and different then you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank seawall2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews