We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Early Summer Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Riber Hall

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
dining table for 18 cinema stairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
dining table for 18
cinema stairs
Barker en suite
Barker triple room super kingsize bed can be made up as a twin or double + full size single day bed
Allen super kingsize bed can also be made up as a twin, full size day bed room can sleep up to 4
Boswell super kingsize bed can also be made up as a twin
Boswell super kingsize bed can also be made up as a twin
Ground Floor bedroom super kingsize bed can also be made up as a twin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Zara R
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Early Summer Getaway”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a fantastic weekend away with extended family and would book again. Quintessentially English the accommodation couldn't be faulted and the view of the Derbyshire Hills topped it off. Staff were helpful and kind and i couldn't recommend this place highly enough!

Perfect for walking, eating and drinking, which we did lots of!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_C_G_75
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing White Christmas in the English Countryside”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A group of 17 of us spent four days over Christmas 2014 in Riber Hall. The house and location absolutely blew us away and we could not recommend it more highly.

The bedrooms were spacious and accommodated the large number of us easily. The bathroom amenities were modern although kept with the charm of the house. Fireplaces throughout worked beautifully to keep the large house warm in the midst of some cool temperatures outside.

The expansive kitchen was perfect for the huge group with ample utensils, cutlery, crockery, pots and pans to accommodate a huge Christmas feast and allow everyone to be involved in the preparation and clean up!!

The cinema was a wonderful feature of the property, as was the Jacuzzi which was set up for us in the walled garden. Additionally the pool room and library added to the fabulous facilities within the house.

The owners were very easy to deal with and their thoughtful touches (Mince pies and champagne on arrival) added to the enjoyment of the four days.

Overall an amazing property – perfect for large groups and to enjoy the charming English countryside!!

Many thanks Riber Hall!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are very please we managed to tick all the boxes for your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JessieGil...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing to fault!”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Riber Hall was absolutely fantastic. The house is gorgeous. Very big and spacious and perfect for a weekend getaway for a large group of friends. The kitchen was especially inviting for a sociable evening, with a large dining table, fire place and pool table.

The location of the house is secluded enough for privacy, but close enough for a nice walk to local pubs.

The owners were extremely helpful in preparation to arrival, aswell as during our stay when we got a power cut one morning!

All the Bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and spacious.

We had a really great weekend, the house was lovely and would definitely recommend!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
We are so please you enjoyed your stay and took the time to tell others too.
Thank You
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LamyaFaha...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had a great family time, the place brought us closer, we also lived a horror story because the house reminded us of one of the ghost movies! Brilliant antiques and furniture and really beautiful and astonishing location.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, as our first guests we it was very nice to hear you like our house as much as we do.
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing