We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Delightful Experience”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cruck Barn

Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance
The Barn and clock tower Gated Entrance from Wheatcroft Lane
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Entrance
The Barn and clock tower
Gated Entrance from Wheatcroft Lane
Visit England Four Star Rating
Sitting area downstairs
New Kitchen
Cruck Beam
Dining area
Upstairs bed/sitting room with access to balcony
New Shower Room
Balcony and patio area
Seating on the balcony overlooking the Amber Valley
View from balcony
View from  balcony - winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wett1rawe
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Delightful Experience”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Cruck Barn is a relaxing & comfortable experience close to all local attractions, not to missed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Relaxing atmosphere of The Cruck Barn & owners Mary & Ray
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
You were very welcome. It is good to welcome people from so far afield. Hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dups88
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our first family holiday”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I just wanted to write about how lovely this barn was. I was rather nervous about coming on holiday as we have recently had a little girl but I need not have worried. The barn was fantastic; it had everything we needed for our little girl to have a comfortable stay.

The hosts were lovely and friendly and helped me carry the little one up to the barn. We also got some tasty homemade scones on arrival. The barn was equipped with the highest of quality cooking facilities and the bed had to be the comfiest I have ever slept on.

The barn was in a prime location with stunning views and it felt like you could be a million miles away from any stress. It was immediately relaxing.

We will definitely be back to visit again.

Thanks for a fab stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Glad that everything worked out well for your first holiday with the baby. You would be very welcome for a future stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fussyget
nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An unexpected delight”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

There are very few places I would return to for a holiday /break. I strongly believe that you should experience something new whenever possible, the cruck barn turned that belief right on its head!
Set in beautiful surroundings and located within very easy reach of matlock and surrounding areas the cruck barn truly is a gem of the dales.
A warm welcome from your hosts Mary and Ray. The basics for a brew awaiting you in the kitchen and the best home made scones I have ever eaten. Comfortable and clean accommodation with an armchair you'll want to take home and a view from the balcony that will take your breath!
As you may have gathered, I really liked this place.
Now the practical stuff.

The control for the heating /hot water is in the garage, not a negative but something to be aware of.

The access road is a little basic, try to come down (north to south) the lane if possible. And drive slowly :)

This property does not have a bath, shower only, a great shower I might add but I do like a soak.

Internet (WiFi) access can be a little sketchy but I had no issues with my own provider on my phone.

So without a doubt I will be booking another break at the cruck barn, and I'm pretty sure it won't be the last

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to meet you both.
Best Regards
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suemhill
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful little place in a gorgeous setting”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable and well equipped.
Beautiful surroundings.
Great places to visit nearby
Great hosts providing milk, home made scones and cream and bottled water
Convenient parking
Dog friendly

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Many thanks for your kind comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie E
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“cottage wheatcroft derbyshire”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

lovley cosy cottage quite relaxing area , cottage nice, . area.everything u needed. loge fire great, nice and warm. area nice walked to the only pub i mile white hart inn . visited matlock 4 miles away. went with my partner and son, , the only disspointing thing was no wi fi couldent get it to work not sure why ???. would go back def !.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussellN8...
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special weekend away”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A fantastic place from which to explore the Peak district. Lovely weekend, Lovely Location, Lovely views and Lovely hosts do we need to say more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
X1528EFke...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“weekend break”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Just got home from the cruck barn . What a great place , everything you need and more , position is fantastic views have to be seen to be believed . Scones and jam waiting with a bottle of fizz, please don't stop all the nice touches Mary as it is really appreciated. Very close to everything in the peak district , walked to local pub about a mile and had very nice meal. Cruck barn is definitely on our list for a return visit ,
Thank you Mary and Ron for sharing your property with us, other than saying hello and goodbye felt like the place was ours, leo enjoyed it as well secure garden for him to have a walk round .
Forgot to say breakfast on the balcony lovely.
Kevin

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing