We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Great location, wonderful views”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Hay Den

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tombarnol...
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This recently renovated outbuilding is small but very well thought out and is perfect for a couple staying in the area. The views from your own patio are wonderful and the owner's dog will soon make friends with you!
Sharon was very helpful in directing us to all the local amenities. The local pub deserves special mention for a very memorable evening (they have a band on every Saturday night) with fantastic music, food and beer.
We will be going back!
And Sharon - we bought the caravan on your advice!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissMorts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect get away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We did not get to meet Sharon until the second day of our stay, however, all of her homely touches made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived (including the scrumptious plate of cakes).

The property is ideal for short stays and well equipped for cyclists. It is ideally located for walking and cycling routes but would recommend having a car. It is walking distance from the local pub that does great home made meals and live music. Thoroughly enjoyed our get away and would recommend to anybody seeking a bit of countryside air.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bazturk
Dundee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Hay Den is a lovely little hideaway with everything you would need for a short break. Its location provides a great base to go exploring Derbyshire. Sharon makes you feel very welcome and also makes some lovely cakes which are a godsend after a long day traveling. If you are looking for somewhere to spend a few quiet days then The Hay Den is for you.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Peaceful and compact.
Liked least: Could do with a mirror in the main room and shelf in bathroom makes it difficult to get to the sink.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetmurr...
Deal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Too small for us!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We knew the Hay Den was compact but nothing had prepared us for just how small it was. There was little accessible storage, no wardrobe and the 2 armchairs had to be moved , to gat around. There was no freezer compartment in the fridge and only one (hand) towel was provided. the internet access was poor
We found the place difficult to find coming from the top of the village, easier from the bottom. The parking space was too narrow for anything other than a very compact car, with a drop at the side.
When we arrived late afternoon no-one was around and the studio hadn't been cleaned from the previous guests. To be fair Sharon was very apologetic. She was also friendly and helpful. The views were good, there was a pleasant patio area, but the peace was spoilt on one of the 3 mornings by workmen drilling outside.
The studio was new, clean and warm but it was too cramped for us.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spinneyma...
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nothing too much trouble!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The lovely Sharon (and Dave her dog!) made us feel so welcome! Lovely touches showing she had taken time to help us settle in and feel comfortable. Lovely views down the valley and across is a beautiful wood stretching along the side of the valley.

If you're looking for a studio apartment in a quiet rural location you'd not go far wrong choosing this one. Sharon has worked her magic providing all you need for your stay, be you a walker or cyclist or like us nosing about in what seems like interesting places. There isn't much room for parking a car, but the lane is hardly used and we had no trouble.

We wish Sharon the very best in her new venture, but if you are thinking about staying, remember it's not a one bed flat, it's a studio and so compact!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: owner's attitude
Liked least: parking space too small
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann F
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable and peaceful break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights in the Hay Den. It is in a lovely, peaceful spot looking out on to a field where the sheep and occasional rabbits kept us amused. The sunny weather enabled us to eat out on the patio which was very relaxing. The studio itself is well-equipped for such a small place. The only thing we missed was an oven. The description 'cooker' in the details suggested that there would be one but there is only a hob and microwave. Sharon was welcoming and helpful without being intrusive and left us some very nice banana cake for our arrival. We would be happy to return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Didn't want to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Incredible views and a lovely, quiet location, this property was perfect for our short break. We had an excellent time exploring Matlock and the surrounding area, a great drive to Holme Moss, the Reservoirs and Chatsworth Estate. Sharon is a wonderfully warm and attentive host who made our stay as comfortable as possible. The studio is ideal for two people; beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Would highly recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$64
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing