We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Small but perfectly formed.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Hay Den

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
guyhth
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed.”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two nights in the Hay Den, and what lovely nights they were.

Sharon was wonderfully welcoming, and the homemade cakes she provided were a very nice (and delicious) touch. The setting is very tranquil, and yet is well placed to explore the local area. There's a great pub (The Barlow Mow) within walking distance which is similarly welcoming and does good food.

Yes, it's small. Yes, brushing your teeth can be an exercise in contortion. Does it matter? Not one bit. It provided us with a cosy place to sleep and have breakfast, and that's all we needed. We wouldn't hesitate to come back if we were visiting the area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry A
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway! ”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The Hay Den is a charming and cosy studio apartment surrounded by stunning views! Sharon is the perfect host who made us feel very welcome - nothing is too much trouble! The bed was so comfy, I didn't want to get up! We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne T
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“wonderful !!!!!!”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My first holiday travelling alone and what a good decision I made booking the Hay Den. The owner Sharon was amazing - kind caring and could not do enough to make sure everything was ok for me. She baked cakes for my arrival and even shared her delicious pudding with me on one evening.
The Hay Den is small but beautifully formed with everything two/one people could possibly want - comfy armchairs and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in.
Sharon is more than happy to share her beautiful garden with you and the views all around are a delight.
Thankyou Sharon - you have no idea how much you and your gorgious dog and even the horses in the field have helped me and I will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and the views
Liked least: narrow lane
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
Caked and puds alway available to my guest. No calorie counting allowed
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_timnezzy
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just spent two nights in this lovely accommodation. Sharon very friendly and welcoming. Setting was perfect for a romantic get away. Everything needed was provided and the homemade cakes were a lovely personal touch. Just disappointed that we missed the woodpecker!! Maybe next time.
Can't wait to stay again soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally1366
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Great Escape”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had decided that we needed a break from the city and the bank holiday was a good opportunity to escape from it. By luck i stumbled across the Hay Den on tripadvisor and we decided to book it. This was all without realising what a blissful and silent retreat it would be, from the welcome cake to waking in the mornings to the birds chirping and the view of ponies on the great green landscape. The Hay Den is an amazing retreat for anyone, whether that be just somewhere to stay while you hike or escaping for a little while. It situated with great access to Matlock, Chatsworth house and the Peaks. We hope to return in the future and highly recommend you stay if you can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyce B
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 5 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How anyone could not fall in love with this gem is beyond me. It is compact but perfectly formed with everything that you could need. Sharon is an absolute angel who would do anything to make you comfortable. The views and walks surrounding are pure perfection. We wouldn't hesitate to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MNaughton
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a beautifully appointed cosy get away for the Peak National Park”
Reviewed 30 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the Hay Den for my mother in December 2015. Who stayed two very comfortable nights here. In fact she loved it that much, she wants us to book her in again for her next visit.
The accommodation itself was welcoming and beautifully decorated. Sharon the owner is a lovely, lovely lady, who could not do enough to make her stay welcoming and comfortable. She had even put out a few home made cakes out for her due to her late arrival, just in case she was peckish.
The den is a seperate building to the main house & has a double very comfortable bed and was beautifully warm on her arrival. A very clean en suite bathroom and a kitchen area for her, if she wished to make anything.
It was spotless, warm and perfect to come back to after a day out in the Peaks. It also has a stunning view down the valley. The area is central to many great attractions such as Buxton 25 mins, Chatsworth 20 mins, Matlock 10 mins, Wirksworth 10 mins, Cromford 5 mins and a 10 min walk to the most amazing pub (The Barley Mow..... The home of the World Championship Hen Racing and live music) They also make big Home made pub dinners at very reasonable prices. Which is a perfect place to ramble to after a great day walking, cycling or climbing.
She loved every minute of her homely stay with Sharon and will now be staying a lot more often. She has asked us to book her in again for her next visit. You most definitely arrive as a stranger and leave as a friend. It comes fully recommended.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing