We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a weekend - too cramped for a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Hay Den

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
TeresaH19...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for a weekend - too cramped for a sweltering week”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Hay Den is very compact and although the photos are accurate some have been taken from very misleading angles as it was far smaller than we had expected. The chairs have to be moved around to get to the bed and there was no wardrobe space at all, just a very small hanging rail in a corner by the bed. The only accessible storage is 2 boxes under the bed, although there are 3 small cupboards that you access by climbing onto the bed. The wetroom is really tiny but serviceable, except for the washbasin which is virtually useless. We had to brush our teeth in the main sink.

That said - the views are stunning; the location is perfect for walking and it is within easy access of many interesting places. Sharon is also very helpful and welcoming. It is an ideal place to stay for a long weekend but for a week it was more challenging. Even though we spent some lovely evenings at the Barley Mow and the Kings Head we also wanted to spend some evenings together relaxing in the room but the lack of space made it difficult - especially as some of our clothes had to be hung on the backs of the chairs.

We had an enjoyable time and it was an interesting experience in a lovely location but the accommodation is more suitable for a weekend stay.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay, and leaving the Hay Den clean and tidy. Love to see you again
Sharon colin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 May 2017
Lovely to met you both. Pleased you enjoyed your stay and the scones
Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sandsieh
Wolfenbuttel, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely little gem!”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Writing a review for this special place has been on my list for too long now...Although it's been a while since we visited, we often remember this beautiful place. It's a little gem surrounded by beautiful countryside. Sharons warm welcome and amazing banana cake made our stay very special. We loved it and the little house got everything we needed! Many thanks again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garry h
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Special place 💕”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Absolute peace and tranquility ! Amazing little place with a massive heart. Panoramic view with a chorus of birds for a wake up call. Sharon our host was fantastic and very welcoming. She made us very welcome and gave us lots of homemade baking.
We will definatley re visit this little gem again. Thankyou for your warm welcome x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5***little gem”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful little hide away, with stunning views, 5* home comforts, and 5* hospitality from our hosts, lovely welcome tray with home made cake, warm homemade apple pie we felt totally spoilt, super attention to detail with our names welcoming us on a blackboard on the hay den wall. We stayed for 2 x nights but would not hesitate to stay for longer next time..
Thankyou Sharon x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Even though the Hay Den is small, it has everything you need. Sharon made us very welcome and the banana cake was delicious!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing