We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family get-together”
Review of Pear Tree Farm

Pear Tree Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pear Tree Farm
Ranked #27 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place for a family get-together”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed here over the weekend of 15/17 July for our annual family get-together. Lovely location. We were self-catering and we certainly weren't disappointed. The 9 rooms easily accomodated our group of 18, all with ensuites, plenty of room and very clean. The kitchen was well-appointed, the dining room had plenty of space and the books, games and videos were all used. The owners, Sue and Alan, were very welcoming and informative when we arrived. You couldn't ask for more friendly and helpful owners - thank you so much, Sue and Alan. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgf98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
2
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend on a self-catering basis with a large group of 10 adults and 11 children. This was the nicest and cleanest house we've stayed in for our annual get-together. The rooms are a good size and nicely furnished with every necessity catered for. Bathrooms are all ensuite with great showers. The sitting room and dining room were well equipped with enough seating for everyone, and the kitchen was well stocked with cutlery, crockery, pans and utensils. There was a lovely woodburning stove in the sitting room and it was a great place for the adults to sit and chat in the evenings once the kids were in bed. Weather wasn't too great so we didn't play outside as much as we might have done, but the stream at the bottom of the field still gave us a good couple of hours of fun. The owner was very helpful and friendly, and did as much as possible to make sure our stay was a good one - thanks Alan! Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fridayfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Everything that has been written to date on here about the Pear Tree Farm Guest House is true. It's wonderful in all respects. Good, clean accommodation with very friendly owners who care about the comfort of their guests. The food is fantastic - I always put on weight! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mousling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frizington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Booked the whole place for a birthday celebration weekend - fourteen adults and seven children. Very helpful, and arranged for caters to come in and cook a three course dinner on the Saturday evening. Rooms comfortable, large and spacious dining room and lounge. Good area for local walks. A bit of a lottery booking somewhere for a large party, but this one came up trumps.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KirkEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueBarber, Owner at Pear Tree Farm, responded to this review, 26 April 2010
Thanks so much - it was a pleasure to have you and glad the weekend went so well! Hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

My elderly mother and my husband and I spent four weeks in England last spring, and this was one of the high spots in a brilliant trip!

Mel, the owner, could write a book about the right way to run a self-catering cottage. The cottage is charming, tremendously well-equipped, has high speed internet included (not standard in self catering places, but very, very welcome) and is a true home away from home. The kitchen, although small, boasted everything we needed, all of a very high standard. The place was immaculate throughout. Information about the cottage and local sights is easily available and very well organized.

The location was brilliant for our genealogical research in Derbyshire. We also really enjoyed seeing nearby sights, including Bolsover Castle, Hardwick Hall, the fascinating city of Chesterfield and Chatsworth House. Derbyshire is stunningly beautiful, and we enjoyed exploring it, and returning to the comfort of Pear Tree Farm Barn each evening. Lots of good pubs around, too!

We would stay here again with the greatest of pleasure!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Stayed for two nights recently. Accomodation building is a recent extension to farm house, sited in a quiet & pretty spot. Rooms modern, ok size with good ensuite, shared dining & sitting room. Second night we stayed rooms were full (7 I believe), walls a bit thin so was a little noisy & breakfast room was v busy, but minor issues. Breakfast simple but good quality. Cant fault host, v welcoming & sociable. Overall clean, functional and good value. This was our first B&B experience so nothing else to compare it with, but would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waynep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Our family has just stayed at the Pear Tree Farm/Derbyshire Arts Centre and had a lovely time. The hosts are excellent and the place very clean. It is situated near Matlock and Cromford, a beautiful setting surrounded by peaceful countryside. The breakfast was very, very good - lots of fruit, cereals, juice and full English cooked to perfection. We will certainly stay there again when next in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank ivyeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matlock hotels
2.6 mi away
The Duke of Wellington Country Inn
4.6 mi away
The Jug & Glass Inn
1.6 mi away
The Gables Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pig of Lead
Pig of Lead
#2 of 5 in Bonsall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ashdale Guest House
Ashdale Guest House
#2 of 7 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ellen House
Ellen House
#7 of 51 in Matlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pear Tree Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pear Tree Farm

Property: Pear Tree Farm
Address: Lea Bridge, Matlock DE4 5JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing