We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wheatcroft Hen Weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lea Coach House

The Coach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Coach House
Granary Granary
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
The Coach House
Granary
Granary
Granary
Briar & Hornbeam Access
Briar
Briar
Briar
The Courtyard
Hornbeam
Hornbeam
The Courtyard
The Parlour
The Parlour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
9 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alisonwhe...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wheatcroft Hen Weekend”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had the best weekend at Lea Coach House for my daughters Hen Weekend. Lea Coach House is in a lovely location not far from Matlock. The setting is lovely with fields on one side and a pub almost next door.

We hired out the whole of the accommodation and it was just perfect for our requirements. The main Parlour was fantastic for all getting together for activities, eating and just relaxing on the comfy sofas. The kitchen was huge and well equipped.

We had afternoon tea, enjoying the sun in the courtyard. Kate was brilliant, she was there when we needed her for anything and recommended a walk nearby.

Everyone said it was a perfect place for a Hen or friends or family break. We would all thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay.

Thanks very much Kate and family!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanstedP...
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Loads of room, good facilities, and close to a great pub”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

There were nearly 20 of us staying over a long weekend but it never felt crowded, because there is an enormous room with a large adjoining kitchen - I think it's a former restaurant - where we could all get together when we wanted to.

Each part of the complex has its own kitchen and bathroom(s), so it's quite flexible - but get a floor plan in advance to make sure it's going to work for you.

There's plenty of parking, and the village pub - which is only 100 yards away - offers excellent food and drink (it may seem a bit pricey at first, but it's worth it!).

The WiFi could be better, and you might find that the sheep in the field next door start baa-ing in the early hours, but hey - you're in the country, so what do you expect!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vora1
London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation!!”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We booked this accommodation for the Easter weekend, for 23 adults and 3 kids. The accommodation was more than accommodating for our large group.

The rooms were very clean, spacious and had enough bathrooms.
The parlour (large lounge/ kitchen area) was brilliant the whole group could comfortably have dinner together and sit down and relax. There was a TV in this room and wifi access although the connection was poor. The kitchen was well equipped with cutlery, large commercial sized gas and oven.

Location was perfect, easy access to main attractions in Peak District. There was a public play area few minutes away which was great for the kids.

Kate was great providing wine and a must have Bakewell tart on the first day.

Would definitely recommend this accommodation for large groups as well as small groups as the cottages are separate and all have individual kitchen/bathroom facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate A
Middlesbrough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, kate was very helpful, great place to stay”
Reviewed 21 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had an excellent time at Lea coach house, Kate was very accommodating. It had everything we needed for a large group of us, it was the perfect meeting place in the middle for people travelling from both north and south. I would highly recommend staying.... in sure we'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura-Bet...
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for large groups!”
Reviewed 12 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I contacted Kate in late November regarding a get together for friends and family, so at relatively short notice; she was very quick to come back to me and so helpful from the offset. It was explained that ordinarily they would not rent the accommodation out for 1 night though we were given a special offer due to the time of year (as the price to stay would have at least covered energy bills for a short period) and able to stay on just the Saturday.

Upon arrival, we were met with Kate in the courtyard, which even in the rain and dark proved impressive. She showed us round the whole of the property surrounding the courtyard with separate type maisonettes and then the front of the property where stood a beautiful house with additional rooms and kitchen (some bedrooms with en-suite.) All of the rooms were clean, well decorated, warm and comfortable. There were also kitchens and bathrooms in abundance, so much space for everyone!

The Parlour is where we entertained and ate and drank. A beautiful, large space with plenty of seating and massive kitchen. There were 22 of us in total and there was more than enough space.

There is a pub about 1 minute away, lovely food, and friendly staff that made us breakfast butties the next day!

Everything combined, I would definitely revisit. I think Kate is especially hospitable, laid back and approachable. I would suggest this for a large group of friends, family or both – brilliant experience!

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kat H
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Accommodation”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed at Lea Coach House for a week in February for a work trip. The accommodation was lovely - all immaculate and well presented and a lot of room/very spacious. Kate was so helpful and really went out of her way to ensure our stay was enjoyable.

Couldn't recommend Kate and the Coach House more - what a lovely place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette J
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“fantastic place for my extended family”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I stayed a Lea Coach House with 24 of my family, friends, children and grandchild. We had a fabulous time, so much so that I have booked again for New Year next year. All of my family loved it so much!. Kate left some lovely gifts to get our New Year's Eve party started. I would definitely recommend for large parties.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The parlour, which was a great communal meeting place for the whole group
Liked least: We were unable to turn one of the light on in the Farmhouse bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing