We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gate Cottage

Gate Cottage - the one with the porch over the door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gate Cottage - the one with the porch over the door
Master Bedroom The Lounge with Smart TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Gate Cottage - the one with the porch over the door
Master Bedroom
The Lounge with Smart TV
Bathroom has both bath and a shower
Kitchen
Lower Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Kitchen
The Lounge has a Log Burner
The Front Garden
The Kitchen has a dish washer and a door onto the patio and log store
Kitchen detail - the old bread ovens
Lower Ground Floor Bedroom - has some road noise
The road outside isn't too noisy but we would rather say there is some noise
Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Master Bedroom
Little details
Shower in the Bathroom
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Janet G
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This is a wonderful cottage. The owner, Martin sent prior to our stay, informative emails regarding the cottage and local area which we found very helpful. The cottage, itself is warm, cosy and vey comfortable and a nice bottle of wine was waiting for us arrival. The log burner was also a big hit with us. We had read the reviews regarding the parking but really didn't find this to be a big problem for us. We will definitely be returning again soon

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for the review - we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Martin & The Carols
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nervous_T...
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage but be aware of the steep and narrow stairs”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Amy Gardner
· 4 hours ago
Just returned from a lovely nights stay at Gate cottage. We arrived to find the cottage spotlessly clean and with everything we would need, even a complimentary bottle of wine. (Thank you so much for the thought but neither of us drink red wine so we left it for the next guests). We did drive past the cottage at first but we just went round the block again and found it easily. The driveway is very very narrow and I would suggest backing the car up the driveway and into the space. It's very tight, even for our car, which isn't very big. Make sure your hand break is in good working order as it's also quite steep! The stairs inside and out are very steep and narrow but, if you're careful, shouldn't cause too many problems - it's just worth noting but also expected for a country cottage. We slept in the upstairs bedroom, which is right next to the bathroom. The bed is huge and so comfy. The pillows were great. The bathroom is also big and has everything you would need. A free standing shower as well as a bath, so you have plenty of choice. The living room is lovely and cosy. We found the board game Monopoly and had great fun playing. It is a lovely idea to have it there! Everything is just so clean and welcoming at gate cottage. The welcome book is full of ideas of things to do and placed to eat. I really cannot fault the place. If we ever stay in Matlock again, this will be the place we choose. Thank you to Martin and the two Carol's for a great stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2017
Thanks so much for the review - hope we can welcome you back soon, Martin & The Carols
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
This-seat...
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy and quaint”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We would have loved to stay longer at Gate Cottage. It is so very cute, cosy, clean and comfortable. Our host sent us helpful information and was readily contactable when we had questions. A little gem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2017
Thanks so much for the review - so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Martin & The Carols
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaddieS14...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed overnight after a long day travelling to see Chatsworth House. It was so nice to come into a home away from home. Martin has clearly put a lot of effort into making this cottage comfortable for his guests. There was a bottle of wine out, fire made and ready to go and lots of information about nearby food. The cottage is perfectly adapted to it's surroundings, I stayed in the room downstairs and found that there were shutters as well as curtains to block out light and noise.
The only problem here would be parking as the drive is very tight and on such a steep hill. I would say if you have an old car with a bad handbrake you may want to find other ways to park, maybe on the road? Having said that the whole of Matlock is a hill which makes for incredible views but hell for hill starts.
We loved our stay and will definitely return if we ever find ourselves in that direction.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for the review....really appreciated and glad you enjoyed the cottage. Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bee P
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We were booked into this lovely cottage as we were attending a wedding nearby, it literally couldn't have been more perfect. Great location, a few shops etc on the same street, with the main bit just a 5 minute walk down the hill. I'd not been to Matlock before, it was superb. The owners were kind enough to leave a bottle of wine for us, which was very much appreciated!

This was a lovely clean house, comfortable beds, well decorated. There was lots of information around in relation to local attractions and things to do, there was a very well organised book which gave us all we needed, i.e. wifi password etc. It was boiling hot so unfortunately didn't make use of the log burner. We left in a slight rush so sadly did not get time to write something in the visitors book, and I think we also forgot to put the bin out (sorry).

This was a real treat, a very cosy and pleasant space, when we return to Matlock we'll definitely be re-booking. Thanks again.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for the comments and we are really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Martin & The Carols
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilmissya...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“5* cosy cottage..”
Reviewed 2 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

What a beautiful 2 bed cottage..
stayed 2 nights at Gate Cottage & loved every minute. Arrived just after 4.30pm to find a built log fire, ready to light & a lovely bottle of wine. Cottage was spotless & so comfortably. Thank you Martin.
Will most definitely be booking again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2017
Arh.....thank you so much for the wonderful review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Martin & The Carols
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandMNott...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed here for two nights, and couldn't fault anything at all. It's probably the cleanest place I've ever stayed!
The cottage itself is gorgeous, very well equipped, it has everything you need, even the things you don't know you need until you need them! The information when you arrive is excellent and should answer any questions you have, and there is a shop over the road, literally 10 seconds away.
As an aside, the shop keeper was most helpful, and offered to get a couple of things in for us that he didn't sell, as he was popping into town - we walked out for dinner, and came back to find the items on our doorstep. An act of kindness we didn't expect, thank you!
All in all, a fabulous stay, and I would definitely stay again - I also recommended to a friend who has booked in already.
Oh, and the bottle of wine on arrival is a lovely touch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2017
Thank you so much for the review... I really must say thanks to the shopkeeper Mark.. he is a wonderful neighbour. Oh and thanks for the recommendation too. Martin and The Carols
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing