We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place at reasonable prices”
Review of The Cardinals Hatt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cardinals Hatt
Ranked #7 of 11 Saltash B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 September 2013

our rooms or should i say our chalet was great it was clean large our toilet and shower were separate which is a really nice touch.the bed was super clean and there was no bumping into things in the room due to its size.The restaurant has a nice feel to it and the food we had was 5 star at 3 star prices alcohol was at a very reasonable price which made our meal and drink for 4 people much more enjoyable.I would recommend this place to anyone. prior to this find we always stayed at the more well known places near but even with their so called special offers this place is cheaper and has soul. A thorough enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: check your room first number 8 has a 4 poster
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skysongSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager T, Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear SkysongSurrey, Thank you so much for your kind review on here, we are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us! We take pride in our freshly painted rooms and the cleanlines of them! We hope that you join us again very soon! Many thanks Ellie Venables
PS We are also glad that you enjoyed the food, we have some great chefs here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for The Cardinals Hatt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

A good hotel with clean rooms. They were a good distance from the road so very quiet. The meals up at the pub were tasty and reasonable in price. The outside area was neat and tidy with a nice ambiance. Good place for a beer

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alstonvillains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager T, Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear AlstonVillians, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, I have to admit I do think we are in a great location here, close enough to local ammenities and some of cornwalls beautiful tourist attractions, but far enough away to have some peace, quiet and relaxation. Saying that I do hope you come back and use us again soon. Many thanks, Ellie Venables

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Went to the Cardinal's Hatt for dinner and it was a lovely setting. Had Pork Belly for starter which was delicious. Waitress very attentive and was able to give good advice on ordering. Both had steak for dinner which were cooked as requested and very tasty. Steak came with three massive onion rings which, while nice, made it look like pub grub. Smaller would have been better in this case. Pudding was a baked Alaska which was not cooked well. Meringue was like foam instead of crunchy. Only saying this in the hope that the restaurant consider where they could do better.
Service, food and wine were great. Definitely go back.
Xx

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Noodleburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager T, Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Noodleburger, thank you for taking the time to review us. And thank for your constructive critism, we are always open to feedback here at The Cardinals Hatt, and I will most certainly be passing your comments on to the kitchen for them. Thank you again, and I hope you come back again soon :) Many thanks, Ellie Venables

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We attended our nephew's wedding reception on Saturday and had a fantastic time. The service from start to finish was excellent, the food was first rate and the accommodation was fine. Accommodation was not fancy but everything was neat and clean. The full English breakfast the next morning was enormous - and tasty. All in all it was a fabulous weekend.

Room Tip: Evidently there were four poster beds - but no room was in a bad location.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shearons_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager T, Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Shearons_Mum, Thank you awfully for your kind review and taking the time to make one. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. All our rooms are nearly up and running and we have finally finished the total refurbishment of the main building! Thanks again Ellie Venables

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

I arranged for 52 french singers to stay here for 3 nights whilst performing as part if callingtons May Fest. Everything was spotlessly clean. Service was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble. Ellie, Liz and their wonderful team worked tirelessly, to the delight if the french group. It was my first ever planned large group trip. I wouldn't hesitate to book there again. Well done Cardinals Hatton, for making 52 people so very welcome to Cornwall.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiloamCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager T, Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear SiloanCornwall, Thank you so much for your kind words, we remember this particular stay very well and are so glad that the whole team enjoyed themselves. We look forward to having you all over again very soon, or perhaps the Swedish Choir next time?! Thanks again, Ellie Venables

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I arrived late on the Monday evening and was greeted by Steve, he was kind enough to have sandwiches ready for me after my 4 and half hour journey.

I had booked a single room & found it had a four poster bed amazing value for money.

I also ate my dinner their the food was exceptional and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, what great service and facilities.

I will be recommending the hotel to my colleagues and hope to stay again real soon.

Kevin Lowe

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevlowe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager T, Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Kevin,

Thank you so much for your kind words about the newly refurbished Cardinals Hatt. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately Steve has now left, but my mother and I have taken over and I am sure we will be as accomodating as he was. Again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Ellie Venables

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

This review is in two parts. The first part covers about the restaurant, the second covers the restaurant.

The food is extremely good and reasonably priced. The mix of dishes is good and the presentation is painstaking.

Unfortunately, (this is a personal gripe) the Hatt has fallen prey to the (recently passed) fad of using slate and timber to replace crockery.

As my colleague said, "It's like eating off a roof tile and a support beam". This refers to the starters served on slate and the gammon main served on a wooden board.

The service was attentive, but the restaurant was empty (very wet and windy Tuesday night). The staff are friendly and make an effort to be welcoming.

As a regular visitor to the area with work, I expect I shall eat at the Hatt many more times, but I will probably stay elsewhere (as we have a deal with another local hotel).

///

The accommodation represents good value for money. My room was £40 for the night including breakfast (which was very good).

The room itself is in within a 1960's prefabricated structure. The interior has been recently refurbished and was smart, clean and warm, if a little basic. I would not like to stay here in deep winter or high summer as the exterior temperature would transmit through the walls.

The shower is electric and is pleasantly hot, but ask for one of the rooms between 7 - 10 as they are lower than 1-6 and the pressure is marginally higher.

There is no wifi in the cabins, but there is free wifi in the bar and restaurant.

For 1 or 2 nights at the above rate - good value and no complaints. I would stay here if making a stop on a motorcycling tour.
///
Overall 3.5* out of 5*.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager T, Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Sportster-RS, thank you for taking the time to be our first review on the Hotel side since we refurbished and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please be advised that we have in increased our prices to £55 for single occupancy, £65 for Double occupance and £89 for a family room. We have just one more black left to open, and we have since changed our menus and now have a bar menu (which changes daily) and a restaurant A La Carte menu. We look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks again, Ellie Venables

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltash
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Saltash
Travelodge Saltash
#4 of 4 in Saltash
326 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#3 of 4 in Saltash
260 reviews
2.8 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
China Fleet Country Club
5.4 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
612 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Brunel Inn
The Brunel Inn
#11 of 11 in Saltash
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cardinals Hatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cardinals Hatt

Address: Callington Road, Saltash PL12 6PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Saltash
Price Range: £37 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Cardinals Hatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Saltash
The Cardinals Hatt Saltash, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing