We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Hat to the Cardinals Hatt”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cardinals Hatt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cardinals Hatt
Ranked #7 of 11 Saltash B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Top Hat to the Cardinals Hatt”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Booked this hotel from late rooms and were not disappointed, the staff & owners are very very friendly and professional and we couldn't have been made more welcome. We stayed in a superior room, recently refurbished and very comfortable. The rooms are chalet style, very quiet and have all you need for a night away or even a few days. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was lovely and very well presented, the chef cares ! .. Breakfast was included in the rate and was up to par with the evening meal, good food , attentive service and a leisurely atmosphere. The decor in the restaurant and bar area is contemporary and relaxing. We will be back ..asta la vista ..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennarddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack M, General Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear pennarddog,
Thanks for taking your time to review The Cardinals Hatt, we are pleased that your had a great overall experience at the hotel. We pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and satisfaction. We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, and further meeting and even exceeding your expectations.

Kind Regards

Jack Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    42
    27
    20
    14
See reviews for
42
50
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have just revisited the cardinals hatt at saltash for two nights room large clean and bright.
We ate there one night and the food was excelent a bit longer wait than expected but well worth waiting for ,very well presented very good food at a very reasonable price in nice suroundings.
Wine was very good price for a good quality.Staff very friendly and really seemed to like their job.
I found this place after previously staying at the premier inn there is no comparison the cardinals hatt is by far cheaper friendlier and the food excellent.
We will always return unless something alters. The breakfsast is almost enough for two and good quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skysongSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack M, General Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear SkySongSurrey,

Thanks for taking the time to review The Cardinals Hatt, we are pleased that your room was to your liking.

All of our food is cooked fresh to order by our brilliant kitchen team. Unfortunately when we get busy this can lead to a longer wait on food, but we are glad that you found it worth the wait.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Jack Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

spent 2 nights here 12-14th June...had a great time and can recommend this as a great base and excellent value for money. Clean and comfortable rooms with the added bonus of tea and coffee making facilities and very comfortable beds. The breakfasts are very good and offer great value for money. Best of all was the level of service offered by the staff. Thanks everyone for making our stay very enjoyable...hope to see you again...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glennys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack M, General Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Glenys W,

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Cardinals Hatt and pleased that our staff made your visit memorable.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Jack Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I decided to book a last minute night away for me and my mum ready for a day of shopping in Plymouth. I found this hotel online for £40 for the night, 3 times cheaper than most places! Decided to ignore the miserable reviews and check it out ourselves, we found it very easily and there is a huge amount of parking. On arrival the lady checking in was so friendly and chatty, she had our details & payment etc already printed and happily showed us to our room, which turned out to be chalet style outside which I loved! The room was large with 2 beds in, tea & biscuits, the bathroom was large & clean as well! Very cute, not for those expecting luxury...but for £40 last minute I was pleased. We didn't get to try the food but will be having breakfast next time as the bar & restaurant area is lovely! wifi available in the bar but I had 3g in my room anyway :-) Such a comfy quiet night stay, my only small issue was the tv. We didn't get to watch it as the remote only worked for the tv & not freeview but we were so busy we didn't mind having it off. Hoping to stay again for our next trip to Plymouth xx

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack M, General Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Emma C,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Cardinals Hatt.

We are pleased that you decided to ignore some of our previous reviews and make your own judgement. We are constantly making improvements to enhance our customers’ experiences and have so far refurbished a third of our guest rooms and following your feedback we have replaced many of our TVs.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jack Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
269 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We wanted to stay in Saltash and stumbled across this in Trip Advisor.
We paid 40 UKP per night for a room we have been paying 80-100. The rooms are excellent, OK to be really picky I would have liked another mirror.......a hook behind the door...... but for goodness sake, this has good beds, great bar and meals, staff that could not be more supportive and cooperative. My husband also said that they have the cleanest gents toilet he has ever seen! I'll have to take his word for that.
As this is not near the road a great quiet night.
The meals are very up market, the wine good and all not expensive.
I hope these people get plenty of patronage....they deserve it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack M, General Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Woodcotefarms

Thank you for taking the time to review The Cardinals Hatt.

Since opening we have refurbished our bar & restaurant, developed two excellent function rooms and have overhauled a third of all of our guest rooms. Your feedback will be used to make further improvements.

Our greatest asset is our excellent staff team. They work tirelessly to support our customers’ needs and give genuine service, so they will be glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip to the UK and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Jack Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Ate here on a Saturday a few weeks ago and had Cajun pork which was very good!! Went here again today thinking I was going to have a good meal only to be disappointed. Change the menu again, so I decided on the roast lamb, at £10.00 expected a good roast on a Sunday not the case, roast potatoes looked like they had been cooked and hanging around all day, vegetables very bland, stuffing dry and the meat very fatty!! Not worth the prices charge, will not be going back any time soon. To the owners: DON'T TRY AND FIX SOMETHING THAT'S NOT BROKEN!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Plymouthgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack M, General Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear PlymouthGB,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Cardinals Hatt.

We change our menu every three months to make the most of the great seasonal produce available in the South West. Unfortunately our costs of sale have increased in the last six months to a level that we could no longer absorb which led to the recent increase in our prices. We do however still offer a great value and daily changing Table d’hôte menu starting at £10.00 for two courses.

I’m sorry to hear that your recent visit did not compare to your previous experiences with us; our head chef has been made aware of the issue you had with your Sunday lunch.
I hope you reconsider us in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jack Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saltash hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We checked in on a Friday evening and paid on arrival. We left two days later. The same woman checked us in and out. However when we were leaving and walking through the car park to the car, the same woman chased after us asking if we had paid. It made us feel like criminals trying to get away without paying. How did they not know whether we had paid or not? They must have some sort of system surely. I cannot comment on the food, the chalet was ok, nothing special. We will be returning to St Mellion Golf and Country Club in future for all our many visits to Saltash.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grecianprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager T, Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Grecianprincess, thank you for taking the time to review us, we're sorry it was not a happy stay. We're sorry you won't be joining us again, many thanks, Ellie Venables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saltash hotels
0.8 mi away
China Fleet Country Club
1.9 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#3 of 4 in Saltash
239 reviews
4.7 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Brunel Inn
The Brunel Inn
#11 of 11 in Saltash
43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hay Lake Farm Bed & Breakfast
3.2 mi away
Smeaton Farm
Smeaton Farm
#2 of 11 in Saltash
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cardinals Hatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cardinals Hatt

Property: The Cardinals Hatt
Address: Callington Road, Saltash PL12 6PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Saltash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Cardinals Hatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Saltash
The Cardinals Hatt Saltash, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing