We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great b&b”
Review of Smeaton Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smeaton Farm
Ranked #3 of 11 Saltash B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just back from a lovely break at this wonderful b&b,location great,rooms very comfortable and clean.We had a meal on the first night which was a tasty beef roast dinner.Breakfast was exceptional we will defiantly be back

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piplawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at Smeaton Farm last week for a second visit and nothing has changed - just as fabulous! The breakfasts are delicious and it's lovely to wake up to singing birds and countryside! The rooms are clean and tidy and is a brilliant base for exploring more of Cornwall.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked based on the good reviews Smeaton Farm have received and we were not disappointed. Wonderfully peaceful location, lovely room and reception rooms - nice to have a read of one of their many books after dinner. Richard was very welcoming and we felt nothing was too much trouble.
We opted for the evening meal which was really good, I would recommend the clotted cream rice pudding which was sublime! Breakfast was also delicious - great fruit salad; I had the cooked and my husband the croissants - both options fabulous.
My husband hasn't stayed at a B&B for over 50 years and incredibly fussy - but he could not stop talking about how wonderful everything was. We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice (we had a mini tour) and each have their own particular qualities. The web site i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FusiBuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Four members of the family used Smeaton Farm as a base for a short trip to Cornwall to visit relatives. It was everything we expected and more. The location and environment is superb with great views over rolling countryside. It is working farm which adds to the authenticity of the place. The rooms we had were spacious, nicely furnished and very comfortable.

However, the piece de la resistance was undoubtedly the breakfasts served in a lovely light and airy dining room. Absolutely, first class and better than most hotels. The rates are very reasonable for what is provided and I would thoroughly recommend it. We will certainly use it again when we are next in that part of the world.

The one piece of advice I would offer is to follow the directions on the website and ignore your sat nav. The best access is from the A388 and down the narrow lane to the farm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My friends and I stayed here on the night of the 24th May after attending a party locally. We are going to stay at Pentillie Castle again but it was full. I am so glad that we saved the additional £250 it would have cost and stayed here.

The house is set in beautiful gardens with amazing views, the perfect place to relax. Its just a shame that we had so little time there.

The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable. I had the Bamboo room, which had a bathroom that was huge. Very clean room with nice little touches, like the toiletries and large bottle of mineral water.

Breakfast was amazing and Richard and Sarah were very welcoming.
Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plymouthfoodfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent an excellent bank holiday Easter weekend in the lovely B&B in a rural location. Richard and Sarah and there family were very welcoming. The breakfasts were wonderful and the evening meals very filling and well worth the money. You will need a car to explore both Devon and Cornwall, however trips through the woodland exploring the local flora and fauna was a must especially ending up at the local pub to taste a local ale or two! Would definitely recommend staying at this place and we will be booking again soon. Thanks Smeaton Farm for welcoming us into your home. The Evans family would also like to thank you for allowing us to purchase some of the beautiful meat that I know you painstakingly rear on your farm. I shall definitely be sending a request through to purchase one of your meat boxes online.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed last year. Half term 2013. Nothing to fault at all. Perfect retreat. May be a little remote for those wanting to walk to the nearest shop etc, but if you want to feel like you are on a real farm holiday away from hectic life, then this will really suit you. My daughter loved the experience too. Owner was lovely and really made us feel welcome. no complaints for the price, great value, clean and tidy. Breakfast was perfect. Setting was wonderful. Will be going back if we get the opportunity.

Room Tip: We had a large room which could sleep 3. Shower over bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saltash hotels
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Saltash
Travelodge Saltash
#4 of 4 in Saltash
341 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#3 of 4 in Saltash
262 reviews
1.6 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
China Fleet Country Club
1.3 mi away
The Cardinals Hatt
The Cardinals Hatt
#8 of 11 in Saltash
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trenethick Farmhouse B&B
Trenethick Farmhouse B&B
#4 of 11 in Saltash
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smeaton Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smeaton Farm

Address: Pillaton, Saltash PL12 6RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Saltash
Price Range: £74 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Smeaton Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Smeaton Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smeaton Farm Saltash, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing