We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent farmhouse stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trenethick Farmhouse B&B
Ranked #4 of 11 Saltash B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed for two nights 26/27 March and had a relaxed and enjoyable stay at Trenethick Farmhouse. Our room was spacious and comfortable and furnished in a traditional way; the en suite bathroom was new and of a high quality. We had a wonderful south facing view over the surrounding hills. There was a wide choice of breakfasts and plenty of good coffee! This was served in the front conservatory again with great views. Mr and Mrs Carpenter were hospitable in a very unforced and natural way and organised for us to have a excellent evening meal at a great local pub 'The Rod and Line'. Booking the accommodation was straightforward. All in all it was just the right place for a short 'getaway'

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Owner at Trenethick Farmhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for such a fabulous review and lovely photo. We both hope to see all three of you again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

We've stayed here a couple of times on our visits to Cornwall and it's a gorgeous, traditional farmhouse. We stayed the first time in Samson and the second time in Old Billy (hope I get those names right!). There's a livery too, it's great to take a walk out the door and go to see the horses in their stables. Sitting in the winter garden one has a spectacular view over the rolling green fields, a beautiful spot for afternoon tea with the newspaper and a snooze! And some really interesting artwork displayed throughout the house.
The breakfast was delicious, first class produce and the freshest eggs we've seen in a long time, scrummy! Waking to the smell of coffee and freshly baked bread (thank you John!) was absolute heaven, mmmmhhh…
John and Amanda, the owners were the pefect hosts, nothing was too much trouble, they even took us to the local village pub, and we had a great time meeting some of the locals! We're looking forward to going back in Spring.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikkoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Owner at Trenethick Farmhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Vielen Dank for publishing such a lovely review. We love the term 'winter garden' for the conservatory and shall use it again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Searching for a "non business as usual" accommodation I have found this Bed&Breakfast in the Cornwall. Already on the second day you will start to feel at home. If you search for a calm place you will love to be there at Trenethick Farm in the middle of nature.
I appreciate the interested and open minded way of the Farm`s owners Amanda and John, sharing their dinner with me and discussing philosophically the problems of our modern business society...
You will enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Owner at Trenethick Farmhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to publish a review of your experience at Trenethick Farmhouse, John and I are both grateful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Although we cancelled our reservation prior to the two-week period necessary for refunds, Amanda Carpenter has yet to return the 225 pounds - payment in full for 4 nights - that we had paid to her for the stay we had planned for last October. Email requests for our money have only resulted in evasive and unpleasant answers. We visit England from the USA almost every year, and this is the first time we have had such an unpleasant experience.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Owner at Trenethick Farmhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

The refund had been sent by cheque to the USA but, it appears, not received. We had asked for an alternative method of making the refund but none received. Sadly, this customer became threatening and abusive and was informed that we would no longer respond to such communications.
We had been inspected by this customer's niece for our suitability prior to the booking.
With the relevant information, the refund will be made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stopped at Trenethick Farmhouse as part of a week long holiday in Cornwall. The farmhouse was warm and cosy with the amazing decor. The service was the best we've experienced in a long time, and it was so nice being in a traditional working farmhouse and somebody's home! The location was just divine with amazing views and the breakfasts were delicious. Plus it was so quiet we slept very well. I want to steal some of Amanda's decorating ideas it was such a lovely place to stay! Love what they've done with the house.
We've recommended Trenethick to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Owner at Trenethick Farmhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Fabulous review, many thanks indeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My girlfriend and I went to a wedding in Port Eliot and had to choose this B&B as all the ones in the area were fully booked. What a great find! we were amazed of the great service and extraordinary breakfast with an outstanding yoghurt with honey, cereals and blueberries. The views from the conservatory where we had breakfast both days was one of the most romantic places in the area. This is a place we will be visiting next time we are down there.
100% recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto Isasa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Owner at Trenethick Farmhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for posting such a lovely review for us, we are so pleased you found us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Myself, my husband and our little girl had a fabulous stay here in August. John and Amanda are brilliant hosts and really made our stay special, the farmhouse is decorated so wonderfully and really in keeping with its true character.
Breakfasts are lovely, shower powerful and hot! Lovely little table on the landing with teas, coffees and biscuits! The whole house is decorated with beautiful artwork of Amanda's.
Would not hesitate to recommend this to a friend and hope to visit again soon.
Well done John and Amanda this is truly what b&b is all about.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Owner at Trenethick Farmhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a great review. We hope to see you all again too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saltash hotels
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Saltash
Travelodge Saltash
#4 of 4 in Saltash
341 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#3 of 4 in Saltash
262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smeaton Farm
Smeaton Farm
#3 of 11 in Saltash
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pentillie Castle
Pentillie Castle
#1 of 1 in Saint Mellion
333 reviews
0.0 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
0.0 mi away
China Fleet Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trenethick Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trenethick Farmhouse B&B

Address: Trerulefoot, Saltash PL12 5DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Saltash
Price Range: £83 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trenethick is a traditional, Cornish farmhouse offering organic luxury and style for you and your family. Trenethick has been farmed by the Carpenter family for over 250 years and we are sure you will feel as at home here as we do. Well behaved dogs are welcome, we can also accommodate your horses. Guests are encouraged to relax and feel totally at home. Should you require a get away break or a more active stay Trenethick is well situated to offer whatever you may require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Trenethick Farmhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trenethick Farmhouse B&B Saltash, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing