We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our long weekend at China Fleet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
China Fleet Country Club
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saltash
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Castleton, Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our long weekend at China Fleet”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

When getting to China Fleet, our room was cleaned quickly and thoroughly just before we arrived, which was perfect as we could go in when we got there. The facilities such as the pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna are amazing, and really enjoyable. The meal we had there was fantastic, food was great, it was affordable and it filled us up. Best meal I had in Cornwall no doubt. One night me and my partner had got in from Looe quite late at 8.30pm and the jacuzzi closed at 9, when we went down the attendant said she needed to come down earlier tonight at 8.45pm to clean the jacuzzi, but she would infact come down later on at 9pm to give us the time to relax. The sports facilities like tennis and golf are brilliant and the staff are very friendly and caring. They are adaptable and go out of their way to make the customer feel happy and welcome. I would highly recommend staying here as it is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    134
    48
    16
    9
See reviews for
167
81
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed for one night at the China Fleet Country Club en route from Devon to Cornwall. It was certainly good value, the access to the pool and sauna etc is all included in the price of the room, and for a family the accommodation in small apartments is ideal. The rooms could do with a bit of updating and their arrangement in two storey blocks means some open onto the seating area outside the restaurant/function venue (numbers in the mid to upper 30s) and should be avoided in case there is a function taking place (luckily the one there when we arrived ended around 21.00). The Brasserie is an informal restaurant in a slightly odd layout that feels a little bit like a canteen, the food was OK but unremarkable. There is a children's play area at one end in a separate room and windows looking onto the pool. Breakfast is served in the Brasserie as well and the cooked meal was of good quality, but I am not sure really worth the price (£31 for two adults and two children). There is however free wifi in the rooms. In summary, OK if you are passing through the area, but personally I wouldn't choose it for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the function suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arborfieldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Another fantastic stay at the China Fleet Club. We discovered this little Cornish gem a couple of years ago & after several visits, it really is beginning to feel like 'home from home'. I thought it was time I shared my views & experiences with others. I cannot recommend the Fleet Club enough, especially if you have children of similar ages to ours (8 & 10). They are very well catered for, from the superb swimming pool complete with flume, floats & water jets, to the soft play area, park & holiday club activities. The self catering accommodation is set in beautiful, well maintained grounds with stunning views. We have stayed in several of the apartments which comfortably sleep four. They are well equipped with flat screen TV, DVD player & basic kitchen necessities & always spotlessly clean. We have eaten in both the Lounge Bar & The Farm House Restaurant, (the latter has sadly been changed to a function suite). The Lounge Bar offers a varied menu catering to most tastes, with the advantage that the kids can nip off for a quick play in the soft play area while waiting for their food. As part of your stay you can use many of the leisure facilities including the well equipped fitness centre & relaxing spa. I cannot praise the staff enough. This stay we would like to thank Corrine, Pascale & Maureen for their attentive service. We'll see you all again soon!

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the apartments, not the cottages. If you would like to park almost outside yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squidge592856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChinaFleet, Manager at China Fleet Country Club, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay with us. Its great to see you used most of the facilities and our team of staff assisted in making your stay a memorable one.

We have just completed our Upper Deck area of the brasserie for guests to enjoy a range of a range of delicious specials, a table d'hote menu and brasserie menus in a relaxed and modern setting.

We are delighted you and the family had a great time and very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We spent 2 nights as a party of 9 for our daughters Passing Out Parade at HMS Raleigh. The rooms were a great size and the kitchen facilities were excellent. The food at the Brassierie was great and just what we needed after our 8 hour drive. The pool was a great added bonus and our 4 year old thoroughly enjoyed the playground.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicky914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We spent two nights here last weekend and would have no hesitation in booking to go back again. The facilities available to guests are lovely and it was a nice surprise to find that children are well catered for too with both indoor and outdoor play areas and a great pool (although in my opinion the changing rooms could do with a bit more attention during the day as water left on the floor in the cubicles was a bit smelly but I am being picky!). We found that all the staff were friendly and helpful.
Our apartment suited our needs well and the only criticism that I would have is that the telephone didn't work and the light bulb in the bedroom lamp was broken (only a concern for us as we had a young child in our party). Food was also very good and we found that staff were flexible on choices and allowed our daughter to choose a breakfast item from the adult menu at no extra cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missmax84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, UK
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had full membership at the club as part of our week's stay at Crylla Cottages in nearby Notter Bridge. We ate in the Brasserie. The service was quick, and the food tasty, though it was very very hot in there. The kids enjoyed playing in the(thankfully) air conditioned soft play area while waiting for our food.

We used the indoor pool several times and enjoyed the water flume. The facilities we used we were more than happy with.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dipsy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChinaFleet, Manager at China Fleet Country Club, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your positive review, we are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities and food. in the recent hot weather we have found the Brasserie to be very hot, for this reason we have just installed air conditioning to the entire brasserie area to make your experience a more enjoyable one.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Club soon to enjoy our cooler brasserie, newly refurbished upper deck and new brasserie menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Great cottage with private parking outside the door , private back yard , two bedrooms , two bathroom . Very good English breakfast and a super waitress that was so helpful giving us tips of where to visit and what to see .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltash
4.5 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
2.3 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#4 of 4 in Saltash
247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Saltash
Travelodge Saltash
#3 of 4 in Saltash
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
5.8 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
596 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Fleet Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Fleet Country Club

Property: China Fleet Country Club
Address: North Pill, Saltash PL12 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saltash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — China Fleet Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The China Fleet Country Club has 41 spacious apartments; all are en-suite with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable lounge / dining areas. Set in 180 acres of stunning Cornish countryside along the banks of the River Tamar and just 10 minutes from Plymouth it is an ideal location for visiting both Cornwall and Devon. China Fleet has long been famed for its championship standard golf course and its range of fitness suite, racquet sport, Aqua Spa, swimming and hair and beauty facilities. China Fleet offers unlimited WIFI access in all rooms and public areas, ample free on site parking, complimentary use of our 25 meter indoor swimming pool and Aqua Spa (includes steam room, sauna, Spa Bath, Laconium, salt steam room, ice chute, heated loungers, monsoon showers and relaxation area, minimum age 16) and reduced rates on all other leisure facilities. As well as our extensive leisure facilities the club also boasts excellent dining options with our Upper Deck Bistro and our Brasserie serving food for all ages all day. Terms & Conditions available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your China Fleet Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Fleet Country Club Hotel Saltash
China Fleet Country Club Saltash, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing