We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Luxury" resort?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Mellion International Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saltash
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Not really.

You will like this resort if you are a golf enthusiast or like loads screaming kids. But golf widows beware. If you are expecting to have a nice relaxing weekend at the 'spa' whilst your husband is out enjoying 18 holes on the award winning course with his mates, you will most likely be very disappointed.

First the good. The golf course was amazing and the view from our room of the 18th hole was fantastic. (We did have to pay extra for that view). The Nicklaus bar was great and was one of the few places you could go to escape the madness of the pool. Also, the location is fab. You are close to several wonderful towns with great pubs and restaurants. But sadly that's about it for the good.

It actually comes in handy being to close to good pubs because you will most likely have to go there if you want decent food. The food at the bistro was mediocre at best. The food at An Boesti is better but do beware when ordering wine and make sure they give you the wine you ordered. We ordered 4 bottles and they messed up 2. First they switched a pinot noir for a pino grigio (easy to spot, white vs red, and rectify), but then they substituted the less expensive sauvignon blanc we ordered for the most expensive one on the menu. When we pointed it out, the response we got was "sorry, but I showed you the label and you drank it". Fair, except, it was the same year, same country the only difference was the vineyard.So check your labels carefully. We did not get reimbursed. Also, there were only four mains on the menu (usually a sign of a good restaurant) but... they didnt have one of them. So not much choice.

In terms of the "spa" there is an elemis spa with 2 treatment rooms. The treatments were relaxing and the therapists were very nice. But then that's it. Unless you are getting a treatment there is no spa. The pool is your only place to go and relax but that was full of loads and loads of screaming under 5s ( I counted 20 in the pool most times) so not very relaxing at all. And it wasn't kids staying at the resort either. Families were coming in by the SUV load and checking into the pool so it would seem there was some sort of summer swimming programme on, which every family in Saltash seemed to be taking advantage of. Anyway, there were only 4 chairs next to the pool, so you couldn't even chill by the pool if you wanted.

Any finally ( this one was pretty devastating)- there were no robes in the rooms! How can this be a luxury resort and spa if you have to pay 60 quid for robes?! You do get reimbursed on checkout, but only if you lug your robes to the desk (along with the rest of your luggage) when you check out. Apparently they don't trust you enough to leave the robe in your room. Even if you are spending over 1000 pounds at their "luxury resort" for the weekend.

Overall experience: I've had better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dlk1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

852 - 858 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

Im hear daily to walk my dogs and let the kids run around, its a really nice place to visit with a cold water lake running through it, the kids use it to swim and play in it, the dogs do the same, you can spend an hour to 4-5 hours hear easily, they have a few ruins dotted around so you can enjoy those, or just relax and take a picnic with the kids for the day

1  Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed in a time share exchange. Beautiful spacious lodge overlooking the golf course.
Two golf courses including a Nicklaus championship course. Hotel had an excellent pool, gym and spa. There were also tennis courts. Two good restaurants in the hotel. Also plenty of pubs nearby.
Plymouth is only 20 minutes away.

Room Tip: If you are using lodges, ask for numbers 4 or 5, which have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarwickshireMarakesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Super location and good value, given the high level of facilities. We just stayed one night while passing through the area. Very impressed by Reception staff manager who took us to our room, explaining all the features of the hotel while he did so.We realised, when we got home, that an expensive new I Pad was missing from our luggage.One call to hotel ; it had been found and handed in by staff - phew ! We didn't eat there, so unable to comment on food, but enjoyed lovely views over the golf course from the bar/lounge.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor (front) are beside footpath so,for more privacy,try first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This hotel is so quiet, OK so it is in the middle of nowhere you would expect piece and quiet but it is so easy to get to!
Great golf facilities for those who enjoy a round or two but the good thing is the gym and pool......OUTSTANDING! They even have leisure pool so the kids are allowed in during the day.
We didn't eat at the hotel for dinner but if it is anything like the breakfast I am sure it would be lovely.
All in all a fantastic experience and we will be back again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Great hotel for avid golfers with packages that are pretty good value. Two very challenging courses, beautifully maintained. Efficient and friendly staff in pro shop and on courses. Perfect for a couples trip or a group outing of any size. We preferred the Nicklaus course.
The hotel has an Enormous gym fully equipped and staffed and 3 pools, one of which is reserved for children.
There were weddings on 2 of the days we were there but they did not impact other guests' enjoyment ...or ours anyway.
We ate in the Brasserie....dinner, lunches and breakfasts and the food was adequate and plentiful. The service was very friendly and efficient. The other restaurant was not open.
The downside for us was that the floors of the corridors and our room, creaked every time you move. This is a shame as the rest of the hotel is well built. If you are a light sleeper ask to be on the top floor with no one above you. We were, and I dread to think that we woke those below us with our early starts. Other reviewers have mentioned the single beds stuck together to make kings...ours was but it was comfy and the room was large, light and airy. We overlooked the car park....we golfed 3 times so didn't spend too much time in the room looking at that, but had a sneak peak at those overlooking the golf course and the views are spectacular.
Overall this is a large well run hotel catering to everyone and we really appreciated the young, very welcoming staff with the "nothing is too much trouble" attitude.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Cassandra595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Okay, so the good stuff: We were working until midnight and they were happy to check us in at 12.30am. So that was nice. But the hotel was fully booked so they put us in one of their lodges.

Oh my God. Everything was as cheap as could be - the bathroom tiles, the shower fixtures, the crappy suede and leather sofas, super chintzy crap. The shower kept turning itself off. And when it was full flow it was as limp as a dripping tap. Well, not that limp. But you know what I mean.

They said even though the lodges were a quarter of a mile from the hotel it was fine cos we could phone whenever we liked and they'd pick us and our heavy bags up. But not only was the shower barely working, the phone wasn't working. So I had to chase a cleaning lady in a buggy down the road waving my arms to get the message that we needed picking up.

When they finally did and took us to reception I was startled to see FOUR STARS.

But the breakfast was nice. And the golf course seemed good although I know nothing about golf.

Room Tip: NOT THE LODGES. Jeez. Stay away from Lodge 43.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltash
4.5 mi away
China Fleet Country Club
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Saltash
Travelodge Saltash
#4 of 4 in Saltash
339 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#3 of 4 in Saltash
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
22.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,611 reviews
7.6 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mellion International Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mellion International Resort

Address: St Mellion, Saltash PL12 6SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saltash
Price Range: £62 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Mellion International Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Unparalleled Rest & Relaxation at St Mellion International Resort Discover a world of cosmopolitan pleasures within the grounds of St Mellion. Set in 450 acres of breath-taking Cornish countryside, the resort offers an exceptional blend of four-star accommodation, inspired dining and outstanding business and event facilities. Located in Saltash, just 10 miles from Plymouth, St Mellion offers a well-deserved escape to the countryside right on your doorstep. Steeped in elegance; a place where miles of open green valleys wait at every turn. The resort is best known for the Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, the first European course personally designed by Jack Nicklaus, which draws accomplished and casual golfers from around the world looking to improve their game. With the addition of luxurious bedrooms, casual and fine-dining restaurant options, swimming pools, fitness, tennis and spa facilities, it's what makes St Mellion an all-encompassing leisure hub and resort of choice. Adding a friendly welcome to the exquisite setting of St Mellion, our team have created a luxury experience that anticipates the needs of our valued guests, offering you and your family endless possibilities for recreation and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your St Mellion International Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mellion International Hotel Saltash
St Mellion International Resort Saltash, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing