We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeshare visit at St Melllion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St Mellion International Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saltash
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Timeshare visit at St Melllion”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I'm just back from my third visit to a friends timeshare cottage on the St Mellion resort. These are high quality furnished cottages (better than the hotel!), cheaper than the hotel, and include free golf, gym membership, swimming pools, tennis courts, use of hotel facilities. Amazing, clean, cosy and well appointed with everything you need. You buy a week (there's a few for sale at the moment) and pay a yearly charge (very low). Then it's yours for that week, for ever, with free golf at St Mellion, for ever. I'm about to buy my own week. Negatives? There's some half-built houses that spoil the area, the service and waiting times in the Bewdern Brasserie are horrendous, hotel restaurant prices are very high.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    320
    188
    93
    40
See reviews for
210
370
20
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
south west
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We booked a Golf & Spa night away with friends. On first impressions hotel very good, check-in efficient and rooms are pleasant and a decent size. Our room was a standard facing the car park, the superior are on the other side facing the greens with a balcony. We did a DBB deal, which for the men was good value and they highly rated the Nicklaus course as being the best they'd played. For the ladies spa experience, I'm afraid the deal for us wasn't value for money with only one 30min treatment in the package. There are only 2 treatment rooms and no area in the hotel for ladies to sit, relax in between treatments. You have to sit in the Bistro area and there are limited comfy seats available. The pool area is lovely and big with plenty of room to swim, wish they offered bigger towels for the pool and there are only 3 changing rooms. .The Nicklaus bar is very male dominated with TV's and pool table.The food in the Bistro was average and some of the dishes were NOT value for money. The men would return to play the course, but the women would not want to return - the hotel needs to remember the guests using the spa do spend money on the treatments. Overall the hotel is to clinical, the seating upstairs by reception is wasted and unwelcoming. Could do better 6/10.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony face the greens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willowcat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My partner booked this through 'Secret Escapes" as a surprise birthday treat. It is a four star hotel but we would certainly put it at 4* plus. Food excellent, service wonderful facilities very good. My partner got a two night deal bed and breakfast and dinner for one night total cost £168.00p Dinner was taken on the first night, the pool spa Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were very clean all patrolled by a life guard. Breakfast was buffet style and freshly cooked and ample. Only area of possible gripe was the king size bed was actually two singles put together with a central ridge. The room had a lovely south facing balcony and overlooked the 18th green with exceptional views over the surrounding countryside. Blissful

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms overlook the golf course odd numbered rooms the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our "Superior" room was both perfectly located with a balcony directly overlooking the lake adjacent to the 18th green on the Nicklaus course, as well as offering excellent value with breakfast for our 3 night stay at St Mellion.

However, the beds were excessively hard and should perhaps already have been replaced as I could feel what appeared to be the tops of coil springs grinning through the upper cover of the mattress, notably under my hip - most uncomfortable and it was no better for my wife.

We also thought the chairs in the room and in reception had probably been chosen by a designer for their look, rather than comfort - presentation v functionality! However, we did receive a discount for the excessively slow service at breakfast - and they weren't busy.

Having regard to St Mellion's excellent facilities, it would be churlish to give an overall rating of less than good. However, improvements are in our opinion essential to truly justify this in terms of comfort, as well as service within the brasserie.

Room Tip: We would recommend a "Superior Room" with balcony on the south side - but make sure the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knight45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night and initially we were really impressed by the hotel - the reception area was lovely and the staff were very helpful.We checked in to find it was a good walk to our room. The room was clean and functional but not quite 4 stars, no luxury at all in fact it was very similar to premier inn but with worse beds.
Two singles pushed together.The hairdryer didn't work and the tea bags seemed to have been there so long they had gone stale. The shower was fab but the bathroom was a little tired.
We chose the brasserie for tea. The food was ok I had mussels which were lovely but the fish and chips were soggy with more skin than fish.The drinks were expensive too. The whole area was clinical and lacked ambience.
Breakfast was great.
Probably wouldn't stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luluboo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Found the hotel on the net and got a good deal on 2 rooms. Both my boss and I enjoyed the stay had a very nice meal in the evening and a good breakfast in the morning, don’t forget to take your swimming things with you and also your gym gear as you can use the pool and gym free if you are staying. I also found out if you play golf you can have a room and golf deal.
Nice big room with good sized bathroom that has a bath and shower. I must stay the shower was very powerful which was great. My room overlooked the back of the hotel and the other room had a balcony and over looked the golf course.
Excellent value for money, I will be staying again and hope to play golf as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliveFowler186263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Organised an event for 40+ over two days. Planning was first class, excellent service by Emma in the events team. Could not have asked for anything better.
Whole event went perfectly, excellent organisation, excellent location, perfect meeting rooms, first class party, excellent facilities and attention to detail.
Rooms were first class, beautifully clean and equipped.
Can not speak highly enough of St Mellion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie_666291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltash
4.5 mi away
China Fleet Country Club
24.9 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Saltash
Travelodge Saltash
#4 of 4 in Saltash
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
489 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,563 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#3 of 4 in Saltash
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mellion International Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mellion International Resort

Property: St Mellion International Resort
Address: St Mellion, Saltash PL12 6SD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saltash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St Mellion International Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Unparalleled Rest & Relaxation at St Mellion International Resort Discover a world of cosmopolitan pleasures within the grounds of St Mellion. Set in 450 acres of breath-taking Cornish countryside, the resort offers an exceptional blend of four-star accommodation, inspired dining and outstanding business and event facilities. Located in Saltash, just 10 miles from Plymouth, St Mellion offers a well-deserved escape to the countryside right on your doorstep. Steeped in elegance; a place where miles of open green valleys wait at every turn. The resort is best known for the Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, the first European course personally designed by Jack Nicklaus, which draws accomplished and casual golfers from around the world looking to improve their game. With the addition of luxurious bedrooms, casual and fine-dining restaurant options, swimming pools, fitness, tennis and spa facilities, it's what makes St Mellion an all-encompassing leisure hub and resort of choice. Adding a friendly welcome to the exquisite setting of St Mellion, our team have created a luxury experience that anticipates the needs of our valued guests, offering you and your family endless possibilities for recreation and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your St Mellion International Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mellion International Hotel Saltash
St Mellion International Resort Saltash, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing