We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St Mellion International Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saltash
GreenLeadersSilver level
montvale, nj
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed here as part of a group tour. First the good: the hotel and the rooms are very light and airy. Very pleasant staff especially in the dining rooms. It's in a very pretty location. Great shower. The bad: very poor lightening in bathroom and no magnifying mirror so difficult to put on make up. Also did not supply body lotion or conditioner or Cotten balls.also requested wash clothes on first day. They said that they would give them the next day but never did.it is also very difficult to find your way around hotel. We, as well as others on our tour were constantly lost.m It seems that there are many golfers here so most likely they have a good gold course. From the looks of the hotel I expected it to be much better.

Room Tip: Ask how to get around the hotel. Difficult to find exits
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromNY2NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    320
    187
    93
    40
See reviews for
210
370
20
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The lodge was amazing, beautifully decorated, lovely cosy feel when we visited on a cold late September holiday, exposed wood beams and amazing views over the trees. Could not fault the accommodation at all. The rooms were a fair size.

The one single down side was that the location was not central, but we knew before travelling that this would be the case, and we had an incredible holiday regardless.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ReginaPhilangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Great place came here for the last 3 years with 12 lads for the golf, always been looked after, kernow course is good but the Nicklaus course is superb best course I've ever played, every hole is just individual no hole looks identical very difficult but pleasure to play. The hotel is ok everything is all pretty close the spa, restaurant and the rooms foods got better every year you won't be disappointed with the golf, comming from hertfordshire it's a bit of a pig the travel too but the price is always good for what you get in return. Would be back again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BradZ179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel was clean and quiet, rooms very good and comfortable.
Kernow and Jack Nicklaus were a very interesting challenge the more you playing the better it becomes.
Food was generally very good, did find that the Fish in the meal Fish and Chips was large in batter little on fish and batter was we found high in oil making it rather unpleasant to eat this information was relayed to the staff and was advised would be passed onto the Chef. We heard no more.

All in all the stay was very good. Would return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Recently visited with 9 others golfers for a 1 night dinner b&b 2 rounds of golf break. Very friendly welcome from the golf reception staff.Hotel has everything you would expect at a 4 star establishment. Dinner was in the brasserie they were very busy, service was friendly but a bit slow, food was fine. Kernow course has greatly improved, Nicklaus course was in great condition

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were very impressed when we walked in the room, we stayed in a superior room which looked over the 18th Green. Very comfortable & large bed. The bathroom was super clean and very impressive.

The trip was let down by the meal, we ate in the brasserie both nights & in spite of the large menu choice was disappointed on both nights,. On one night, we had a steak pie which was luke warm & extraordinarily dry. Also, the mushrooms on brioche were very small with just 1 tiny piece of bread.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room - beautiful views from the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trophysophie212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked the dinner bed and breakfast deal for a one night stay and were intending to use the "fine dining" restaurant. When we checked in we were told that our dinner would be in the brasserie. The food there was fine but the place had no ambience and was pretty chaotic with children running about all the time. When I mentioned it at check-out I was told that it was made clear in our on-line receipt. It wasn't. Both the booking website and the receipt mention both restaurants, opening times, need to book, etc. great pity as we enjoyed everything else, so give the hotel a try but be careful. Might be best to avoid the dinner deal.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retiredandhappy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltash
4.5 mi away
China Fleet Country Club
24.9 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Saltash
Travelodge Saltash
#4 of 4 in Saltash
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
489 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,561 reviews
24.4 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mellion International Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mellion International Resort

Property: St Mellion International Resort
Address: St Mellion, Saltash PL12 6SD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saltash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St Mellion International Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Unparalleled Rest & Relaxation at St Mellion International Resort Discover a world of cosmopolitan pleasures within the grounds of St Mellion. Set in 450 acres of breath-taking Cornish countryside, the resort offers an exceptional blend of four-star accommodation, inspired dining and outstanding business and event facilities. Located in Saltash, just 10 miles from Plymouth, St Mellion offers a well-deserved escape to the countryside right on your doorstep. Steeped in elegance; a place where miles of open green valleys wait at every turn. The resort is best known for the Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, the first European course personally designed by Jack Nicklaus, which draws accomplished and casual golfers from around the world looking to improve their game. With the addition of luxurious bedrooms, casual and fine-dining restaurant options, swimming pools, fitness, tennis and spa facilities, it's what makes St Mellion an all-encompassing leisure hub and resort of choice. Adding a friendly welcome to the exquisite setting of St Mellion, our team have created a luxury experience that anticipates the needs of our valued guests, offering you and your family endless possibilities for recreation and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your St Mellion International Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mellion International Hotel Saltash
St Mellion International Resort Saltash, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing