We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magnificent find....highly recommended”
Review of Erth Barton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saltash
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Erth Barton
Ranked #8 of 11 Saltash B&B and Inns
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“A magnificent find....highly recommended”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at Erth Barton as we were attending a wedding in nearby Landrake.
Erth Barton is an imposing, impressive manor house dating back to Edward 1 and beyond and set in 38 acres of rural splendour.
Nick and Jenny Foster are a truly charming couple and really make you feel at home. Our room was well appointed and very comfortable.
They are both such friendly people. They looked after our dog whilst we attended the wedding. She enjoyed the roast beef titbits Nick was on hand with! Nick even drove us back to collect our car....simply put, nothing is too much trouble.
The manor house is very dog friendly. Our dog Maisie is still worn out after trying to catch Bertie and Freddie, the resident cockerels and their harem!
We cannot stress how enjoyable this stay was and we would have no reservations at all in coming here again (if they will let us).
Breakfast was a delight....ask Jenny for the hens freshest of eggs....her poaching skills are superb.
Thank you for a super weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenc4874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This beautiful and historic property lies at the end of a long track on the peaceful shores of the St Germans Estuary. You couldn't wish for a more peaceful setting. The owners were extremely welcoming and friendly and the room (an unexpected but gratefully received upgrade) was clean tasteful and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. You couldn't really have asked for more.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Booked a weekend at Erth Barton for a friends weddng near by, after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor we selected this B&B. Our friends stayed at the Crooked Inn, down the road. We were delighted with the manor house, its huge, full of charm and character. The owners are extremely welcoming and friendly. Our room was amazing, clean comfortable with views over the lovely countryside and gardens. Breakfast was a delight, with a real homely feel. The other guests were equally as friendly. This is a true hidden gem and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Dorset, England
Level Contributor
334 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We stayed with Nick and Jenny for four days and it was a fabulous stay. From the moment we arrived to the moment we sadly left they were the most fantastic hosts. The house is gorgeous, the two bedrooms we took were big and beautifully appointed, with superbly comfortable beds, and big fluffy towels. From our window you could watch the badgers feeding on the lawn below in the twilight. It is quiet and totally peaceful, our friends dogs were made very welcome, the breakfasts were delicious, they gave us lots of information about walks and places to eat and it was just great. They certainly look after you and are very relaxed about their totally beautiful house, giving you much freedom around the place. We certainly intend to return one day!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

We arrived at this wonderful old house down winding lanes with beautiful views of the Tamar. Nick and Jenny and the dogs greeted us with tea in the garden in the sunshine. We found Nick collecting eggs from the hens who peck about the grounds overseen by their lorder and master, a beautfiul white cockerel.
As it was Sunday, Jenny wasn't cooking but Nick gave us information about local pubs, one of which we went to where we had a great meal. We arrived back just in time to see the badgers on the lawn who come each night to eat peanuts.
Our room was delightful with a view across field to the Tamar. We slept blissfully in a really comfortable bed after a bath in the spacious bathroom with choice of toiletries.
Nick is very well informed about the many National Trust and other places of interest in the area and we set off to visit one , reluctant to leave,after a great breakfast. We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandg20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2010

What a delightful treat! We found Erth Barton after a few wrong turns but, boy, was it worth the wait? The house is set in glorously peaceful surroundings. Nick and Jenny are superbly welcoming, and it was great that Mollie, our dog, was given the same treatment. The house is grand, but not ostentatious or pretentious. To get to our room, we walked through the lounge, past the huge fireplace and the roaring log burner. Nick and Jenny were attentive hosts - their recommendations for local places to eat and dog walks were spot on. Our breakfasts and evening meal were delicious - loved the homemade jam. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cumbriafanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Erth Barton is a hidden gem in every way. Located west of Saltash amidst the beautiful scenery of the Tamar Estuary, this gorgeous manor house is reached via a succession of ever-narrowing lanes running south from the A38. Apart from a stunning setting, what you find when you get there is a fabulous hospitality in surroundings which date from c.1400 (complete with an adjacent chapel that’s a listed building). This is the stuff of expensive country hotels, yet Jenny and Nick Foster have decided instead to opt for an air of complete informality, throwing their magnificent house and its gardens open to their guests and charging only B&B prices. We had booked for one night only, our time being limited, and came away really regretting our stay was so short. We’d have loved to stay on for days more, exploring the many estuary walks, relaxing in the garden, chatting to Nick and Jenny, watching them feed the badgers that arrive on their lawn at twilight, and sampling Jenny’s excellent cooking (dinners – and even lunches, I believe – are available on request, with wine thrown in). Our room was very spacious and beautifully furnished, with a super-comfortable bed. Downstairs is a huge lounge, with a splendid stone-framed, leaded window looking out onto the front lawn.
For anyone who enjoys peace and quiet, beautiful English (sorry, Cornish!) countryside, a real sense of history and intelligent conversation I can’t recommend Erth Barton highly enough. It feels just like staying at a country manor with friends.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ebfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saltash hotels
3.6 mi away
Smeaton Farm
Smeaton Farm
#2 of 11 in Saltash
97 reviews
5.3 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
4.6 mi away
Pentillie Castle
Pentillie Castle
#1 of 1 in Saint Mellion
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#3 of 4 in Saltash
246 reviews
2.9 mi away
China Fleet Country Club
2.6 mi away
The Brunel Inn
The Brunel Inn
#11 of 11 in Saltash
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erth Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erth Barton

Property: Erth Barton
Address: Elmgate, Saltash PL12 4QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Saltash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a hidden Cornish paradise set on a private peninsula overlooking the Tamar and Lynher estuaries. Just a few miles from the A38 and all the rail and air services you will find spectacular countryside, all for you to enjoy. As you enter the half mile private driveway and take in the sweep of the two estuaries and drive to the handsome medieval manor house you will instantly recognize why it is so special. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Erth Barton Saltash, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing