We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down to Erth”
Review of Erth Barton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saltash
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Erth Barton
Ranked #8 of 11 Saltash B&B and Inns
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Down to Erth”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stunning off the beaten track situation but not too far from great pubs/restuarants and Jen's Deli!!! in Saltash.
The house and surrounding buildings ooze period charm with a really welcoming and homely feel.
Our bedroom overlooked the beautiful gardens also with views across to the water and the bed large and comfortable, the linen clean fresh and the decor subtle but stylish.
Breakfast is everything you can think of all beautifully presented, cooked and served.
Our two jack russell's came too and were made very welcome by Lottie and Millie who took turns showing them across the surrounding lands of Erth Barton.
Nic & Jen are great hosts very laid back and really helpful, making your stay really relaxing

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We were originally looking to stay at another B&B but as our stay fell during the Queen's Jubilee celebrations and Bank Holiday weekend, the owners were taking a well-deserved rest for themselves and kindly suggested Nick & Jenny Foster's B&B "Erth Barton" as being an excellent establishment in a lovely location.

We had a look on the internet and "Erth Barton" looked to be exactly the type of B&B we love to stay at with loads of character, beautiful surroundings and lovely rooms. We were fortunate to secure the dates we required and even extended our original two night booking to three nights in the charming Tamar Room, which overlooks the front garden and Tamar River (for us as Australians and lovers of Tasmania, the Tamar had a wonderful link to a place we adore!).

Our GPS struggled somewhat to find Elmgate in its memory bank so when we got close I rang Nick from my mobile phone and he very kindly guided us (with wonderfully exact directions and explainations) onto the correct country road that ultimately leads to their private mile-long driveway! What a delight driving through the fields with the estuary beyond and then pulling into the parking area bordered by beautiful grey stone buildings, to then be met by Nick looking every bit a gentleman farmer in his Wellington boots with two dogs at his heels and some handsome chickens pecking around outside the barn. "Erth Barton" just oozes English country charm!

Nick showed us through an impressive original oak door into a large sitting room with an enormous fireplace and on up to our room, which was large and had a beautiful window seat overlooking the front garden, barns and then on out towards the Tamar. Through a door off the bedroom was a large cupboard and dressing area and then up a step off to the right of that was the light and spacious bathroom (also with lovely views to the front and side).

When we arrived we were the only guests in the house and were able to see a couple of the other rooms. All are nicely furnished and have plenty of character but not all have their ensuite directly off the room as ours did (one was across the hall). Nick made us very welcome with a cup of tea and a chat and later we met his lovely wife Jenny, who runs a cafe and bakery in Saltash. We were lucky to see more of Jenny than is generally the case as the cafe was closed over the Bank Holiday weekend.

"Erth Barton" is situated on a promontory of land between two estuaries and enjoys a gorgeous rural setting. Both mornings we borrowed a pair of Wellington boots (what we call gumboots) and enjoyed a lovely long walk in the company of Lottie (one of Nick and Jenny's Golden Retrievers - "the good one" as Nick put it, as she keeps an eye on guests to make sure they don't stray!). The first morning we headed down toward the Tamar and followed along the river then bush-bashed back through the rape seed field and the second morning we followed Nick's woodland path, around the crest of the hill and then back through a wheat field - wonderfully enjoyable! Lottie seemed to have deserted us at one point but came suddenly bounding through the field to surprise us making us laugh at her antics.

Being locals, Nick and Jenny are a wealth of information regarding villages, restaurants and the local gentry on nearby estates such as Antony House, Cotehele, Mount Edgcumbe Park and Port Eliot. As we are extremely interested in historic houses we visited all four of these estates over our three day stay (much to Nick's amazement at how much we could pack into a short stay) and they were all thoroughly worthwhile. We even spoke to the Earl at Antony House, although at the time we mistook him for one of the gardeners!! On the Sunday we were looking to enjoy a meal of roast beef and Yorkshire pudding and Nick suggested that the best place for that was at the restaurant at Cotehele run by the National Trust - it's where they themselves go and it was very good indeed.

From our base at "Erth Barton" we also visited Looe and the lovely fishing village of Polperro where we ate dinner at the very popular Blue Peter Inn. Nick suggested "The Rod & Line" pub in nearby Tideford for our first night and Jenny suggested "The Weary Friar" in Pillaton on our last night - while very different, both were very enjoyable.

Breakfasts at "Erth Barton" were very good and I was fortunate to have Jenny make me a delicious hot chocolate (thank you!) as a special treat.

In addition to all the other wonderful aspects of staying at "Erth Barton" was the treat of seeing a couple of barn owls (who live in one of Nick & Jenny's barns) and Nick's "babies" - the badgers who come down to the back garden to feast on the peanuts that Nick throws out on the lawn for them (we saw 6 one night and 7 on another). Amazing!

"Erth Barton" was an experience like none other and thoroughly enjoyable. We hope to make it back there again some day to experience some more of Nick and Jenny's hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJDowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Me, my fiance and a friend were staying at Erth Barton for a wedding we were going to locally. Upon arrival, I discovered my overnight bag had been conveniently left by the front door of my fiances flat back in London. Nick was amazing, realising we had just 50 minutes to replace as much of my things as possible including a whole new outfit and get to the wedding on time, he offered to drive us into Saltash. Preferring to use the privacy of the drive over to yell at my fiance, Nick called ahead to his wife Jenny who has a gorgeous Deli on the high-street who met us and ran us up and down various shops trying to find an outfit. I went with her choice in the end and it was a gorgeous one. Once we got back to Erth Barton I had 15 minutes to get ready. The rest of our friends already left and Nick so kindly drove us to the venue to save time. I just could not have expected the kindness and service from anywhere else. The manor house itself is stunning and set in beautiful grounds, the breakfast cured our over-indulgence and the coffee set us up for the drive home. I hope to visit again soon so I can fully appreciate my stay and arrive in a calm manner! Thank you Nick and Jenny, such a friendly and warm, welcoming couple. Crisis averted!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Spent 2 nights with Jenny and Nick in their beautiful Manor House.

Jenny and Nick made us feel very welcome and our bedroom was spotlessly clean with a large comfy bed and peacefully quiet.

Breakfast was cooked beautifully with plenty of it, and Nick I have managed to create your special coffee mix!! thanks so much for that x

We were given a choice of wellies and "Lottie" one of their two Golden Retrievers who took us for an hour long walk all around the farm with its many acres of land. Lottie would run on ahead, then sit and wait for us to catch up, it was such fun.

Would recommend anybody to stay there, thank you Jenny and Nick xx

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at Erth Barton as we were attending a wedding in nearby Landrake.
Erth Barton is an imposing, impressive manor house dating back to Edward 1 and beyond and set in 38 acres of rural splendour.
Nick and Jenny Foster are a truly charming couple and really make you feel at home. Our room was well appointed and very comfortable.
They are both such friendly people. They looked after our dog whilst we attended the wedding. She enjoyed the roast beef titbits Nick was on hand with! Nick even drove us back to collect our car....simply put, nothing is too much trouble.
The manor house is very dog friendly. Our dog Maisie is still worn out after trying to catch Bertie and Freddie, the resident cockerels and their harem!
We cannot stress how enjoyable this stay was and we would have no reservations at all in coming here again (if they will let us).
Breakfast was a delight....ask Jenny for the hens freshest of eggs....her poaching skills are superb.
Thank you for a super weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenc4874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This beautiful and historic property lies at the end of a long track on the peaceful shores of the St Germans Estuary. You couldn't wish for a more peaceful setting. The owners were extremely welcoming and friendly and the room (an unexpected but gratefully received upgrade) was clean tasteful and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. You couldn't really have asked for more.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Booked a weekend at Erth Barton for a friends weddng near by, after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor we selected this B&B. Our friends stayed at the Crooked Inn, down the road. We were delighted with the manor house, its huge, full of charm and character. The owners are extremely welcoming and friendly. Our room was amazing, clean comfortable with views over the lovely countryside and gardens. Breakfast was a delight, with a real homely feel. The other guests were equally as friendly. This is a true hidden gem and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saltash hotels
1.9 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#4 of 4 in Saltash
248 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Saltash
Travelodge Saltash
#3 of 4 in Saltash
300 reviews
3.6 mi away
Smeaton Farm
Smeaton Farm
#2 of 11 in Saltash
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Cardinals Hatt
The Cardinals Hatt
#6 of 11 in Saltash
147 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kilna House B&B
Kilna House B&B
#10 of 11 in Saltash
16 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hay Lake Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erth Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erth Barton

Property: Erth Barton
Address: Elmgate, Saltash PL12 4QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Saltash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a hidden Cornish paradise set on a private peninsula overlooking the Tamar and Lynher estuaries. Just a few miles from the A38 and all the rail and air services you will find spectacular countryside, all for you to enjoy. As you enter the half mile private driveway and take in the sweep of the two estuaries and drive to the handsome medieval manor house you will instantly recognize why it is so special. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Erth Barton Saltash, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing