We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply heaven”
Review of Erth Barton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saltash
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Erth Barton
Ranked #7 of 11 Saltash B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

It's an absolute privilege to stay at Erth Barton. It's actually quite hard to describe why this place is so amazing, but sometimes people and places have such a profound effect on your life that words are simply not enough.
Nick and Jenny have to be the nicest people you could ever wish to meet. They make you so welcome, with a wealth of local knowlege, captivating conversation and nothing is too much trouble. The beds and breakfast are fantastic, just what a bed and breakfast should be, but rarely are.
From the bottom of my heart I would like to thank Nick and Jenny for welcoming us into their home. It doesn't need saying that we WILL be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Planet5455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2012

Our hosts were wonderful, we were greeted with a smile and a pot of tea when we arrived. All of the rooms are delightful,spacious , beautifully presented and clean. The house is charming throughout oozing charm. Some rooms have showers and some only baths so make sure you ask for what you want but all have en-suites. Would we stay again ? Yes we would. It's a little off the beaten track I admit but well worth it. The grounds are fantastic and you look out over the river Tamar. The main lounge for guests is huge and a lovely big fireplace, TV and wi-fi access. There is also another little snug with is charming if you want somewhere away from the TV to sit and read. The dining room is lovely and breakfast is as you would expect from this level of accommodation . Most of the produce is locally sought and delicious. If you get the chance don't for get to visit Jen's deli on saltash lovely coffee and teas and again great produce. Our stay was lovely and value for money it's not expensive and you will get looked after extremely well.

Room Tip: If you prefer showers to baths then make sure you ask when booking. It's off the beaten track as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I can't really say enough about what a brill stay we had at Erth Barton. Our arrival the directions we asked a passer by was "down the lane until you can't go any further" which we found hilarious, but true!( your Sat Nav will stop working) Our hosts were incredibly generous, caring and interesting. Our room had an enormous emporer sized magnificant bed with a beautiful view. Breakfast was outstanding, delicious, almost all home grown, eggs laid fresh in that morning and bread freshly baked. The main house was the oldest house in Cornwall and the grounds were beautiful and fascinating with friendly dogs, horses and chickens! Thank you so much! we'll be back! Oh and gay friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmoryP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stunning off the beaten track situation but not too far from great pubs/restuarants and Jen's Deli!!! in Saltash.
The house and surrounding buildings ooze period charm with a really welcoming and homely feel.
Our bedroom overlooked the beautiful gardens also with views across to the water and the bed large and comfortable, the linen clean fresh and the decor subtle but stylish.
Breakfast is everything you can think of all beautifully presented, cooked and served.
Our two jack russell's came too and were made very welcome by Lottie and Millie who took turns showing them across the surrounding lands of Erth Barton.
Nic & Jen are great hosts very laid back and really helpful, making your stay really relaxing

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We were originally looking to stay at another B&B but as our stay fell during the Queen's Jubilee celebrations and Bank Holiday weekend, the owners were taking a well-deserved rest for themselves and kindly suggested Nick & Jenny Foster's B&B "Erth Barton" as being an excellent establishment in a lovely location.

We had a look on the internet and "Erth Barton" looked to be exactly the type of B&B we love to stay at with loads of character, beautiful surroundings and lovely rooms. We were fortunate to secure the dates we required and even extended our original two night booking to three nights in the charming Tamar Room, which overlooks the front garden and Tamar River (for us as Australians and lovers of Tasmania, the Tamar had a wonderful link to a place we adore!).

Our GPS struggled somewhat to find Elmgate in its memory bank so when we got close I rang Nick from my mobile phone and he very kindly guided us (with wonderfully exact directions and explainations) onto the correct country road that ultimately leads to their private mile-long driveway! What a delight driving through the fields with the estuary beyond and then pulling into the parking area bordered by beautiful grey stone buildings, to then be met by Nick looking every bit a gentleman farmer in his Wellington boots with two dogs at his heels and some handsome chickens pecking around outside the barn. "Erth Barton" just oozes English country charm!

Nick showed us through an impressive original oak door into a large sitting room with an enormous fireplace and on up to our room, which was large and had a beautiful window seat overlooking the front garden, barns and then on out towards the Tamar. Through a door off the bedroom was a large cupboard and dressing area and then up a step off to the right of that was the light and spacious bathroom (also with lovely views to the front and side).

When we arrived we were the only guests in the house and were able to see a couple of the other rooms. All are nicely furnished and have plenty of character but not all have their ensuite directly off the room as ours did (one was across the hall). Nick made us very welcome with a cup of tea and a chat and later we met his lovely wife Jenny, who runs a cafe and bakery in Saltash. We were lucky to see more of Jenny than is generally the case as the cafe was closed over the Bank Holiday weekend.

"Erth Barton" is situated on a promontory of land between two estuaries and enjoys a gorgeous rural setting. Both mornings we borrowed a pair of Wellington boots (what we call gumboots) and enjoyed a lovely long walk in the company of Lottie (one of Nick and Jenny's Golden Retrievers - "the good one" as Nick put it, as she keeps an eye on guests to make sure they don't stray!). The first morning we headed down toward the Tamar and followed along the river then bush-bashed back through the rape seed field and the second morning we followed Nick's woodland path, around the crest of the hill and then back through a wheat field - wonderfully enjoyable! Lottie seemed to have deserted us at one point but came suddenly bounding through the field to surprise us making us laugh at her antics.

Being locals, Nick and Jenny are a wealth of information regarding villages, restaurants and the local gentry on nearby estates such as Antony House, Cotehele, Mount Edgcumbe Park and Port Eliot. As we are extremely interested in historic houses we visited all four of these estates over our three day stay (much to Nick's amazement at how much we could pack into a short stay) and they were all thoroughly worthwhile. We even spoke to the Earl at Antony House, although at the time we mistook him for one of the gardeners!! On the Sunday we were looking to enjoy a meal of roast beef and Yorkshire pudding and Nick suggested that the best place for that was at the restaurant at Cotehele run by the National Trust - it's where they themselves go and it was very good indeed.

From our base at "Erth Barton" we also visited Looe and the lovely fishing village of Polperro where we ate dinner at the very popular Blue Peter Inn. Nick suggested "The Rod & Line" pub in nearby Tideford for our first night and Jenny suggested "The Weary Friar" in Pillaton on our last night - while very different, both were very enjoyable.

Breakfasts at "Erth Barton" were very good and I was fortunate to have Jenny make me a delicious hot chocolate (thank you!) as a special treat.

In addition to all the other wonderful aspects of staying at "Erth Barton" was the treat of seeing a couple of barn owls (who live in one of Nick & Jenny's barns) and Nick's "babies" - the badgers who come down to the back garden to feast on the peanuts that Nick throws out on the lawn for them (we saw 6 one night and 7 on another). Amazing!

"Erth Barton" was an experience like none other and thoroughly enjoyable. We hope to make it back there again some day to experience some more of Nick and Jenny's hospitality!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJDowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Me, my fiance and a friend were staying at Erth Barton for a wedding we were going to locally. Upon arrival, I discovered my overnight bag had been conveniently left by the front door of my fiances flat back in London. Nick was amazing, realising we had just 50 minutes to replace as much of my things as possible including a whole new outfit and get to the wedding on time, he offered to drive us into Saltash. Preferring to use the privacy of the drive over to yell at my fiance, Nick called ahead to his wife Jenny who has a gorgeous Deli on the high-street who met us and ran us up and down various shops trying to find an outfit. I went with her choice in the end and it was a gorgeous one. Once we got back to Erth Barton I had 15 minutes to get ready. The rest of our friends already left and Nick so kindly drove us to the venue to save time. I just could not have expected the kindness and service from anywhere else. The manor house itself is stunning and set in beautiful grounds, the breakfast cured our over-indulgence and the coffee set us up for the drive home. I hope to visit again soon so I can fully appreciate my stay and arrive in a calm manner! Thank you Nick and Jenny, such a friendly and warm, welcoming couple. Crisis averted!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Spent 2 nights with Jenny and Nick in their beautiful Manor House.

Jenny and Nick made us feel very welcome and our bedroom was spotlessly clean with a large comfy bed and peacefully quiet.

Breakfast was cooked beautifully with plenty of it, and Nick I have managed to create your special coffee mix!! thanks so much for that x

We were given a choice of wellies and "Lottie" one of their two Golden Retrievers who took us for an hour long walk all around the farm with its many acres of land. Lottie would run on ahead, then sit and wait for us to catch up, it was such fun.

Would recommend anybody to stay there, thank you Jenny and Nick xx

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkkaaazzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saltash hotels
0 mi away
Pentillie Castle
Pentillie Castle
#1 of 1 in Saint Mellion
339 reviews
0 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
0 mi away
China Fleet Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#4 of 4 in Saltash
266 reviews
0 mi away
The Cardinals Hatt
The Cardinals Hatt
#9 of 11 in Saltash
165 reviews
0 mi away
Hay Lake Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erth Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erth Barton

Address: Elmgate, Saltash PL12 4QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Saltash
Price Range: £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a hidden Cornish paradise set on a private peninsula overlooking the Tamar and Lynher estuaries. Just a few miles from the A38 and all the rail and air services you will find spectacular countryside, all for you to enjoy. As you enter the half mile private driveway and take in the sweep of the two estuaries and drive to the handsome medieval manor house you will instantly recognize why it is so special. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Erth Barton Saltash, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing