We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise Found”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Erth Barton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saltash
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Erth Barton
Ranked #8 of 11 Saltash B&B and Inns
Arundel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

There is little to be added to the excellence of the reviews of this fabulous and idyllic house. This house sits within its own grounds down a long unadopted metalled road. It is able to offer up to 7 rooms although Nick and Jenny prefer not to be too full. They together with their two gorgeous yellow retrievers run the house and collectively ensure their guests have the best possible time. An excellent breakfast is offered at the start of each day. When we stayed we enjoyed home grown raspberries and strawberries together with fresh honeydew melon followed by a full English breakfast cooked to individual taste.

The rooms are immaculately clean, the linen fresh and oh the views! wow! could not be bettered. There is a restful silence to this place, a silence that will heal the soul. At night, if it is clear the sky is ink black and there are so many stars you could read by their light

The welcome that guests receive here is that of being part of an extended family. Would we return Oh yes, time and again.

Room Tip: Whats to say. All the rooms are delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamishOsborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

After a traumatic year we really needed a quiet retreat and Erth Barton delivered that and so much more. Situated on its own peninsular in the Tamar Estuary, Erth Barton offered us a genuine medieval manor with fields and wood surrounding. No traffic could we hear, just the wind in the trees and the abundance of birds flying around.
And then there were our hosts, Nick and Jennifer. True Cornish, they are so welcoming and friendly, you feel very much at home from the off. Jennifer runs her own Deli in Saltash and within an hour of our arrival, Nick kindly escorted us there so we could enjoy a truly scrumptious lunch.
Accommodation isn't luxurious but it is extremely comfortable and spacious with everything you need. A lounge and snug are available in the oldest part of the manor and are just great to chill in. The July heat wave was in full swing and so we could make full use of the extensive gardens, even having breakfast outside one day.
From the house there are numerous walks among fields, woods and down to the Tamar itself. You can even borrow one of the two lovely golden retrievers to accompany you. Nick and Jennifer are a fount of knowledge when it comes to what to see and do in this part of Cornwall and expert on where to eat. Breakfast at Erth Barton is an easy-going affair with locally produced food cooked to your liking, with the star of the show being Jennifer's very own bread.
It certainly is rare to find a place with such natural peace and quiet and such congenial hosts. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Arriving at Erth Barton on a perfect evening to be greeted by Lottie a gorgeous retriever who led us to the front door of the most beautiful house you could wish for in a stunning location.nick the owner greeted us like long lost friends and for the next three nights that's what we felt like.nick couldn't have done more for us nothing was to much trouble and he was a wonderful character. Lottie the dog took us on a long walk around the land which is quite vast with wonderful vista truly a paradise.we stayed in the room called the Tavi which was extremely comfortable with a divinely comfortable bed. We can't praise Nick enough also got to meet some of his family all of whom were equally charming.,would love to go back.dont hesitate to book if you are wondering you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Tavi is quite a large room but saw the others and all seemed lovely.all very quite and peaceful.comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We recently stayed at Erth Barton, as part of a wedding party and were quite nervous bringing the children (a 5yr old & 3yr old) to such a lovely house, but I don't think we could have received a warmer welcome! Jenny and Nick are two of the loveliest people you could meet, who went out of their way to ensure we felt like we were home from home. The kids were free to roam about the house and garden; they loved the dogs and seeing the badgers on the lawn with Nick. The house is beautiful, the location is great - nicely tucked away, but within easy reach of amenities, the beach, pubs, etc. Overall, well worth a stay. Nick and Jenny, if you read this, THANK YOU!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

It's an absolute privilege to stay at Erth Barton. It's actually quite hard to describe why this place is so amazing, but sometimes people and places have such a profound effect on your life that words are simply not enough.
Nick and Jenny have to be the nicest people you could ever wish to meet. They make you so welcome, with a wealth of local knowlege, captivating conversation and nothing is too much trouble. The beds and breakfast are fantastic, just what a bed and breakfast should be, but rarely are.
From the bottom of my heart I would like to thank Nick and Jenny for welcoming us into their home. It doesn't need saying that we WILL be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Planet5455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Our hosts were wonderful, we were greeted with a smile and a pot of tea when we arrived. All of the rooms are delightful,spacious , beautifully presented and clean. The house is charming throughout oozing charm. Some rooms have showers and some only baths so make sure you ask for what you want but all have en-suites. Would we stay again ? Yes we would. It's a little off the beaten track I admit but well worth it. The grounds are fantastic and you look out over the river Tamar. The main lounge for guests is huge and a lovely big fireplace, TV and wi-fi access. There is also another little snug with is charming if you want somewhere away from the TV to sit and read. The dining room is lovely and breakfast is as you would expect from this level of accommodation . Most of the produce is locally sought and delicious. If you get the chance don't for get to visit Jen's deli on saltash lovely coffee and teas and again great produce. Our stay was lovely and value for money it's not expensive and you will get looked after extremely well.

Room Tip: If you prefer showers to baths then make sure you ask when booking. It's off the beaten track as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

I can't really say enough about what a brill stay we had at Erth Barton. Our arrival the directions we asked a passer by was "down the lane until you can't go any further" which we found hilarious, but true!( your Sat Nav will stop working) Our hosts were incredibly generous, caring and interesting. Our room had an enormous emporer sized magnificant bed with a beautiful view. Breakfast was outstanding, delicious, almost all home grown, eggs laid fresh in that morning and bread freshly baked. The main house was the oldest house in Cornwall and the grounds were beautiful and fascinating with friendly dogs, horses and chickens! Thank you so much! we'll be back! Oh and gay friendly!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmoryP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saltash hotels
1.9 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#4 of 4 in Saltash
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
2.9 mi away
China Fleet Country Club
2.6 mi away
The Brunel Inn
The Brunel Inn
#11 of 11 in Saltash
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Smeaton Farm
Smeaton Farm
#2 of 11 in Saltash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hay Lake Farm Bed & Breakfast
4.6 mi away
Pentillie Castle
Pentillie Castle
#1 of 1 in Saint Mellion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erth Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erth Barton

Property: Erth Barton
Address: Elmgate, Saltash PL12 4QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Saltash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a hidden Cornish paradise set on a private peninsula overlooking the Tamar and Lynher estuaries. Just a few miles from the A38 and all the rail and air services you will find spectacular countryside, all for you to enjoy. As you enter the half mile private driveway and take in the sweep of the two estuaries and drive to the handsome medieval manor house you will instantly recognize why it is so special. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Erth Barton Saltash, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing