We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much improved.”

Tamar View Nurseries and Garden Centre Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 44 Restaurants in Saltash
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Saltash, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Much improved.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I had avoided this restaurant for a long time, staff had been rude and the food dismal.e.g a cheese sandwich which was two slices of cheap white bread with a slither of cheese in it.
On June the 5th, I went there with a friend, what a difference! We had cheese and tomato quiche with a salad, the quiche was warm, filling lovely and the pastry melted in my mouth. The salad had red onions, peppers as well as the usual and was excellent. I will definitely go again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    44
    17
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Dreadful place....avoid if you can”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Although the garden centre itself was OK, the food and service were very poor. We had afternoon tea and the long queue of people was being served by only one person, who seemed to be working in slow motion and be carrying the cares of the world on her shoulders. Had to ask three times for a clean glass as the others had detritus left from previous users left on them - and the girl behind the counter started arguing with me about it! No paper napkins and two thirds of the "restaurant area" was closed, forcing us to sit in what can only be described as a "crèche" area full of fractious babies - not exactly a relaxing experience. The men's (cannot be any stretch of the imagination be described as "gentlemen's") toilet area was disgustingly filthy, had obviously not been cleaned or checked for ages (if not days), and would not have been out of place in a Turkish transport café. A big shakeup of staff, customer service and facilities is required.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly Welcome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Enjoyed a very nice gluten free lunch at this garden centre restaurant. Not a huge choice available for coeliacs, jacket potatoes or salad.
I had a ham salad. The coleslaw was unavailable and there was no gf bread but the ham was delicious and plentiful. There was a gf cookie available if you just wanted coffee and a little treat.
The staff were very kind and made sure that my salad was prepared away from other foods.
The garden centre is lovely to visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shepperton
Level Contributor
163 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Awful and disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

The worst panini I've ever had! A thrown together soggy mess made and served up by completely disinterested staff! They obviously rely on the regular oap clientele who are just grateful to be fed and watered! There is no passion or enthusiasm shown! Absolutely dreadful! Never again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank shahsampler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great friendly staff, poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

popped in here for a quick snack as was waiting to view a property. we had the home made pasties for dinner, lovely pastry, melt in your mouth beef but bland potatoes lacked seasoning. for dessert we had the mirungues with cream and strawberry. too big too eat and tasted odd. couldn't see no menu for sandwiches, just lots of cake on display! would have been nice to have seen more savory and baguettes. although staff were faultless very friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamar View Nurseries and Garden Centre Restaurant also viewed

Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
Saltash, Cornwall
 

Been to Tamar View Nurseries and Garden Centre Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing