We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch out for rust on clothing.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ferryman Sculpture

Ferryman Sculpture
Ranked #8 of 18 things to do in Saltash
Attraction details
United kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,276 helpful votes
“Watch out for rust on clothing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Nice idea. Agree with many of the comments both ways from other reviews. Share the surprise that something intended to last is corroding so quickly. My friend got several marks of her jacked caused by contact with the brown uprights and many of the narrative and illustrative plaques have already become illegible. Did no one tell the artist that this is a salt water estuary and that the wind constantly carries spewm and water up from the river In any adverse weather?

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PlongeurV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a great memorial to the ferry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The sculpture has memories of the local people who used the ferry and there is even a plaque under the seat for little people to find - my elderly mother and I spent time reading all the messages and I got some great photos from different angles, you can really see the image of the boatman, on his ship, looking across the Tamar to the other side. Very impressive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelcat32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Saltash Ferryman”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

A beautiful steel sculpture. The iconic ferryman in his boat recalls the 900 years that the ferry was the heart of the town. Get closer and you find delightful etchings of ferryboats and incidents over time and a selection of quotes from a Memory Bank of those who remember the last ferries before they ended in 1961.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank JFArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
385 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,314 helpful votes
“Is it temporary?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I was interested to look at it and try to read some of the plates. I was surprised that after just a few weeks the chosen materials have started to become heavily corroded to the point of parts of the engraved anecdotes and drawings being difficult to read or make out. Like a previous contributor I had thought that maybe the brown metal had either been treated to look like but not rust or not be rust at all. When I spent ten minutes down there today there obviously was rust that was coming off on hands and clothing. That may not necessarily be a bad thing if people are aware of it but I am wondering whether those who placed the sculpture here and who knew the inevitable effects of the sea air and the briney spewm from the river, anticipated that important detail would corrode so quickly. Maybe it is only intended to stay for a couple of years?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank DougalM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham
Level Contributor
201 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 935 helpful votes
“A bit odd.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

I score it high because it is different. Quaint too. Not quite weird. A bit light hearted maybe?
Tongue in cheek even? In a drab and often too commercial world this is a welcome novelty.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank MacM874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ferryman Sculpture also viewed

 

Been to Ferryman Sculpture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing