We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice 1 night stay”
Review of Crooked Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crooked Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Saltash
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice 1 night stay”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night. Very friendly staff,Labrador dog, two ducks and a Kuni Kuni pig.very nice and clean rooms. Good food in the restaurant. Overall a jolly nice place to stay. Harry, Debs, and Emma Duncan on hols from NZ

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    80
    32
    24
    21
See reviews for
76
74
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I'm surprised to read some negative reviews about Crooked Inn after staying there for one night and booking at the last minute. The staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make sure that I was comfortable.

I had no idea that the restaurant/pub attached to the Inn would turn out to be such a find! I had an amazing meal and the locals must know about this place as there were quite a few people who were not staying overnight and turned up just for dinner. Breakfast in the morning was also tasty and served up promptly with a smile from the staff.

Yes, it is a dog friendly place and there are a few dogs about, but they were mostly outside in the courtyard and they were older dogs that were too busy sleeping to be in the way of any of the guests.

The rooms are basic, but clean and spacious and I found the bed extremely comfortable. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Crooked Inn and I would especially suggest anyone in the area to try the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyc2lon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were staying in a nearby village with no pubs/restaurants and used the Crooked Inn as our local. We found the staff to be very helpful and accommodating for my 18 month old niece and contrary to a previous review, found the place to be very child friendly, not least due to the excellent play areas provided. Food wise, whilst not what one would call fine dining, the menu was varied and excellently prepared. The accommodation looked equally good and the variety of animals wandering at their own pace around the grounds made the visit quite delightful. Will definitely visit again when next in that part of Cornwall.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolai99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

After being to the Crooked inn with my child and partner i was bitterly dissapointed, the staff were extremely rude when i asked to swap something small on the menu due to my child's dietary problem, they huffed and puffed and stomped upstairs to ask the chef! safe to say i shall not be going there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poppyc163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Saw a rather worn out sign in a field saying pub food. We thought we would give it a try. WOW what a surprise we got after driving down a very long driveway we reached The Croocked INN. The bar was really nice and oldy worldie You could order your meal at the bar and eat it in the bar or the restaurant section. The food and service were 1st class. There is also a lovely hotel attached which is AA recommended. Well worth a visit

Room Tip: We did not stay the night as we only went out for a pub meal and were pleasantly surprised
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weddingtrip147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

This inn was absolutely amazing. The friendliest people. The rooms were spacious. A couch in the room is an added bonus. Can actually sit to watch tv in the evening instead of having to lay on the bed, as with most other B & B's. Pub food was lovely, but be aware the size of the meals is HUGE! A family run business, but the family doesn't stop at people. Other family members are two lovely dogs, a couple of cats, at least one horse, several ducks, including the most gorgeous babies. And last, but not least, Florence. What can you say about a Kune Kune pig? Adorable? Kind of, in her own way. Unique? Definitely! Only a few minutes drive in any direction from most of Cornwall's major draw cards.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at The Crooked Inn for three nights for a long weekend, upon arrival we checked into our room which was room 4. The room looked exactly like the picture on the website and was clean and comfortable with an en suite shower room. The bed was comfortable but had a very soft mattress; other than that the room was great. The staff were very friendly and made us feel really welcome. The courtyard was a great place to have a few drinks and was made even better by the numerous animals wandering around, which included dogs, a large pig, geese, ducks a horse and cats. We ate in the pub on the Friday and Sunday night and had breakfast every morning. The food was fantastic, fresh and home cooked with lots of variety, we would definatly recommend staying and eating at The Crooked Inn. This was a great place to stay if you want to explore the local area and would recommend a visit to the towns of Looe, Fowey and Polperro. We however, would have loved to have stayed at one of the towns on an evening as it is somewhere that you have to drive to, so if you have an extra few days and don't fancy the drive these would be a nice place to stay, they all have lovely beaches, shops and pubs.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichandMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltash
3.4 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
2.3 mi away
China Fleet Country Club
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Saltash
Travelodge Saltash
#4 of 4 in Saltash
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
595 reviews
11.6 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
847 reviews
1.8 mi away
Smeaton Farm
Smeaton Farm
#2 of 11 in Saltash
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Inn

Property: Crooked Inn
Address: Stoketon Trematon, Saltash PL12 4RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Saltash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crooked Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Crooked Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crooked Hotel Saltash
Crooked Inn Saltash, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing