We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cycle stop”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Scarva Visitor Centre
Ranked #4 of 8 things to do in Craigavon
Attraction details
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely cycle stop”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We frequently cycle on the tow path with our son. This is a real gem always busy and avert welcome stop for tea and a big slice of chocolate cake or other delights, the menu has recently been extended and the food is good and service efficient you can catch the band playing on a Sunday afternoon during the summer months. great selections of cakes and tray bakes , keep up the good work!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 123weeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    3
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portadown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A simple but lovely little tearoom”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stopped by while traveling the tow path on bicycle. All I wanted was a simple cup of tea and a round of shortbread but both were none the less lovely. Very enjoyable.
Our order was taken and then served just a few minutes later to our table by a girl who took the time for pleasant chit-chat as she emptied the tray.
The rain started to fall and suddenly the cafe filled to capacity but the staff still seemed friendly and efficient as they served everyone.
Its a popular spot, especially after Easter when the Bass band plays in the bandstand yards away - It would have been easy to lose track of time and drink in more music than tea.
Recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank elainefogarty f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Coffee stop on the Newry to Portadown Canal.”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

A good little coffee/snack stop along the Newry to Portadown canal. 8 miles from Portadown and 12 miles from Newry this visitors centre is a great stop point for a snack and drink if your walking the canal. In summer there is plenty seating outside and opens most of the year. Have to check the opening times so as not to be disappointment. Has some info to browse on the canal's history and area. Staff not the most welcoming! Sadly it lacks a lot to be an attractive location except as a stop point for canal walkers/hikers/cyclists. Has lots of potential for becoming a great place to visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank rongie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquil stop for coffee and home made scone!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Scarva visitor centre is located in the centre of the village and is a tranquil place to stop for a cup of coffee and home made scones or cake. We travelled on cycles along the canal to Newry. (12 miles by road) and back again. The scenery overlooking the countryside is amazing. The pathway runs along the canal and part way the railway track. We seen swans on the lake, cows, sheep and horses in the numerous fields. ( We will have to come back and bring our 18mth old granddaughter, she would love that) We had to cross a couple of roads to continue our journey but no problems encountered. The pathway is fairly flat and very safe for children. We often call here on motorbike, en route to Newcastle, and have never been disappointed with the service in the visitor centre or scenery.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
179 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Good but staff could be better trained.”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Called on Sunday afternoon, lovely day, band playing close by. The food & coffee was fine, they were quite busy.
The girl who waited on our table just slammed my coffee down spilling some, had to ask twice for a napkin to clean it. I needed another so went inside to get one, don't think they really wanted to give
Me one. Pleasant place, Pleasant surroundings, staff could be better.

Helpful?
3 Thank JosephZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scarva Visitor Centre also viewed

 

Been to Scarva Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing