We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“benchmark for B&Bs” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunters Lodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Craigavon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hunters Lodge B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Craigavon B&B and Inns
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“benchmark for B&Bs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Owners of bed and breakfast establishments would do well to visit Hunters Lodge as a benchmark for quality of service. I arrived late after a delayed flight and foggy drive on unfamiliar roads and the hostess Barbara Edgar could not have been more welcoming.
The room was lovely with everything one could need and as I discovered in the morning - a lovely view over the garden and fields. I knew it would be fresh eggs for breakfast since I could see the chicken coop in the distance ( don't worry - no cockerels!) Breakfast was beautifully laid out on a mahogany dining table -silver milk jug, Irish scones, dishes of jams and marmalades, freshly squeezed orange juice and a fabulous Irish breakfast cooked to order enough to keep you going until supper time! When you contrast this with the extortionate prices the modern chain hotels charge for self service breakfasts kept tepid under heat lamps there is no comparison. I really couldn't fault the B&B at all. Well done Hunters Lodge.

Room Tip: they will all be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judith58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbarahunterslodge, Owner at Hunters Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your very positive review of your stay at Hunters Lodge. It is very encouraging to know that our guests are happy with standards . We do aim to provide a welcoming and comfortable environment here and so it's great to get receive your feedback. Hopefully you will have occasion to come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
8
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

My Husband and I really loved this wonderful B&B very centrally located yet with a feel like you are nestled away in the country! The drive in to the house was spectacular, along a nicely kept roadway, passed a grazing donkey and finally to the lovely home. The home itself was beautiful. Our room was very clean, nicely furnished and overlooked a meadow where we could see a beautiful garden and cows in the next property over. Barbara, the owner was most gracious and helpful in all respects - from directions to a wonderful nearby restaurant for dinner, directions to help us navigate our trip to visit family along with the most scrumptuous homecooked Irish traditional breakfast, served in a spectacular dining room with elegant table settings.

Our only reget was that we did not stay another night to enjoy the beautiful garden and tremendous hospitality of the owner Barbara Edgar.

Thanks for a truly delightful stay Barbara!

Best, Anne and Alfred

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the fabulous back garden. I inadvertently put a rating on Fitness Centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StrategistToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbarahunterslodge, Owner at Hunters Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
What a nice surprise to find that you had taken the time to write a review, thank you. Feed back is very important to us and we are glad that you enjoyed your short stay here with us at Hunters Lodge. Hopefully you will come back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We went for a romantic weekend in Northern Ireland. We were looking for nice landscape in the country side.
We were very lucky with the nice sunny weather but most of all we were happy to find such a nice house in the middle of the green with a beautiful well maintained garden.
The Hosts are very friendly and they are also happy to help on visit directions.
The rooms are clean, very comfortable and the Irish Breakfasts are AMAZING!
I doubt you would find better anywhere else in the area!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbarahunterslodge, Owner at Hunters Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
How kind of you to take the time to write a review of your stay at Hunters Lodge and thank you for the very positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the surroundings and that you were pleased with everything. Yes, the weather was very kind to you!!
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in N. Ireland and that you will come back one day.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Without repeating the superlatives which already say what a lovely B and B this is, could not have been more welcoming, everything was as one would wish and absolutely ideal for me as a place to stay before a work committment the next day, l really appreciated the care and attention that Barbara gave to everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank futurecoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbarahunterslodge, Owner at Hunters Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for your very positive comments and for kindly taking the time to post your review. I very much appreciate your feedback and am glad everything was to your satisfaction. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orillia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Hunter's Lodge is a beautiful home surrounded by stunningly beautiful grounds and gardens. After a long flight and sleepless night travelling to Ireland we arrived to Hunter's Lodge and were warmly greeted by our hostess Barbara with fresh baked scones and a cup of tea. What a tremendous first and lasting impression of Ireland! She provided delicious breakfasts every morning and eagerly assisted us with any help we needed organizing our touring plans. Extremely enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbarahunterslodge, Owner at Hunters Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hunters Lodge. Our aim is to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable and we are very encouraged by your positive comments. Glad that you had an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We had a lovely stay at Hunters Lodge, complete with warm welcome and hospitality that could not be faulted.
The home is spacious and situated amongst a beautifully kept garden. It has a welcoming family atmosphere, but we were also left to our own devices and did not feel intruded upon.
The room was cosy and spotless. The breakfast was excellent and generous - and our hostess was very flexible about the serving times.
Rather embarrassingly, my husband left a pair of his boxers in the room. These arrived at our home by post - washed and ironed! I know of very few establishments that would go to this trouble.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBetty76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbarahunterslodge, Owner at Hunters Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Thank you for your 'belated review' and don't worry about that, I really appreciate you taking the time to write. I am glad that you remember your visit to Hunters Lodge and that you enjoyed your stay here. The return of the boxers wa all part of the service! Hope you will stay again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

A very happy party of 5 females.......we had the good fortune to spend 2 nights at hunter lodge
this property is a very beautiful house with wonderful gardens.......the welcome and the service is second to none........the breakfast was served in very pleasing suroundings....bedroom ...bathroom ....sitting room all very well appointed as was the rest of the house ....top class value for money.....Hunters Lodge will be top of my list when i visit again....Trip Adviser readers who overlook this wonderful b&b will have missed a fantastic opportunity to sample Irish hospitality at it's best......many thanks to Barbaro andClifford

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samcam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbarahunterslodge, Owner at Hunters Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
WE were delighted that you all enjoyed your visit to Hunters Lodge. We try to make all our guests feel at home and hope that they are relaxed in the surroudings here. It is very rewarding for us, when our customers take the time to give us their feedback. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craigavon
2.8 mi away
Bannville House Hotel
Bannville House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Banbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
5.9 mi away
Newforge House
Newforge House
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
8.8 mi away
Clenaghans
Clenaghans
#1 of 2 in Moira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Lisnacurran Country House B&B
9.0 mi away
Cherryville House
Cherryville House
#2 of 6 in Portadown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
9.5 mi away
Birches Guest Lodge
Birches Guest Lodge
#3 of 6 in Portadown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Lodge B&B

Property: Hunters Lodge B&B
Address: 59B Hunters Hill Road | Gilford, Craigavon BT63 6AL, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Craigavon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Craigavon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits you at this beautiful and homely B&B. Hunters Lodge is situated in a peaceful location, up a leafy, country laneway and set in extensive gardens with lovely views of the Mourne Mountains. It is very centrally located to Lurgan, Banbridge, Portadown, A1 and M1 motorway, making it an ideal location for touring the area.Whether on holiday or on business you will be very welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing