We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Oak Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$272
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$128
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The BW Crown Hotel(Boroughbridge)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$147
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
220
120
27
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
220
120
27
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubmarket squareevening mealripon racesgenerous portionsstayed for one nightlovely atmospheregood nights sleepnice roomfabulous foodan overnight staycentral locationbeer gardenfull englishlittle gemtea and coffeeno lift
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Just got back from The Royal Oak in Ripon (10th Sept 2013), Tony and the staff are to be congratulated on food, presentation and cleanliness. We had room 5 which although being on the front had no problems with noise. We had our evening meal here rather than going elsewhere and what a great choice that turned out to be. All my wife and I can say about the food is how good it was, great choice of drinks, and attentive service made for a great evening meal. If you keep irregular hours there is direct access to accommodation without the need to go via the "pub" entrance. All in all, a little gem just off the main square, will be staying here when next in Ripon

Room Tip: rooms 5 & 6 are at the front, if you prefer "very quiet" ask for a room at the back
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommyWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We just had food though I think its rare to find such a gem.

The Royal Oak ticked all of the boxes for me and being in the service industry I can be extremely picky!

Wonderful surroundings, lovely friendly service and the food is perfect. I had the rump steak and my partner the gammon followed each by a trio of ice creams.

Reasonable prices too. I would not hesitate coming back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allie_T2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My wife and I recently had a stopover in this hotel and found it to be very good. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room we had was well presented and clean with all that you will need for a pleasant stay. The hotel is in an excellent location close to the local attractions and restaurants and bars. We also enjoyed the food, as it also was of a very good standard. Overall a very good place to stay and we will definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stopped off here while cycling the way of the roses and were looked after from the minute we entered to the minute we left.
The evening meal and breakfast were excellent and the choice of beers at the bar was vast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Found this through Trip Advisor, Great Pub, but Hotel pat a bit disappointing stairs and hallway smelt damp and the room was very warm we were in No 6 ,which was clean and comfortable but was very warm so we had to sleep with the window open not realizing that there was a club next door which was open till 3am hence no sleep...
unfortunately we could not sample the menu as they stopped serving food at 7pm Sunday but the breakfast was superb and the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back and also if in the summer ask for a fan
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews