We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“first class”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

my husband and I stayed mid week whilst away with work and as soon as we walked in to the bar area with lovely log burner and mulled wine available I knew this was going to be a great find. Nothing was too much effort, staff were really friendly and helpful. Food was wonderful- we ate there in the evening and had a wonderful breakfast too the following day. Room was very nice if compact but had everything needed. The views out were amazing. Would highly recommend and stay here again! Amazing value for money ( half the price of a faceless branded hotel chain which I often stay away on work trips) and personal customer service. Hope to visit for pleasure next time and spend more time exploring the local area

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galaxygirl1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    118
    25
    7
    2
See reviews for
48
219
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at The Royal Oak and had our evening meal there too. From arriving on Saturday afternoon to leaving on Sunday morning the experience was superb. The service all round was very friendly and the food was amazing, not typical pub food at all. Would highly recommend for staying and eating.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Russellas64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

One of our favourite places to eat but lately the atmosphere and the attentiveness of the staff seems to have gone off somewhat.
Lunchtime budget meal ok but would rather pay more for quality.
We used to take all visitors there because we could guarantee something a bit special.
Maybe we picked a bad day?

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool United
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have just spent a lovely weekend at the The Royal Oak in Ripon. Booked because of all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. There were four of us in our party and both our rooms were excellent, very spacious, spotlessly clean and very quiet.

We had dinner on the Saturday night in the restaurant, fantastic food, well presented and I can honestly say it was one of the best meals we have had (and we eat out a lot), it was difficult to choose as everything on the menu sounded delicious. Try the Sticky Ripon Beef, melted in the mouth. The service was efficient and friendly.

Breakfast was also excellent with plenty of choice of cereals, fruit juices and yoghurt. The cooked breakfast was delicious and well presented.

Ripon was very busy whilst we were there as there was a Christmas fair in the Cathedral and various other things happening in the square, which all added to the atmosphere.

I would highly recommend the Royal Oak for quality accommodation and delicious food, we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Childwall020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We have been regular diners at the Royal Oak over the years and it has never let us down: friendly service, a great choice of beers and locally sourced food. My partner loves their steak and chips using local beef. I often go for the fish dishes: last night's was sea trout with Samphire and a Whitby crab "cake" as well as the ever favourite fish & chips. We shared a dessert: freshly made Churros (memories of Spain) accompanied by hot chocolate sauce and pistachio ice cream. Delicious!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We took all 6 rooms on our golfing/walking weekend Fri/Sat night .We all had a great stay the staff were second to none Tony and Kat especially we had dinner on the Friday night and the cuisine is superb there wasn't a moan from any of the 12people in out society , As for the parking Tony had made it that we could park the four cars behind but we were prepared to used the long stay at £2.50 for the day only about 100 yards away ,We had stayed here before and had a good weekend but the alterations and reverb had been done to a real good standard and made it even better .
The hotel is well located for attractions other pubs and restaurants and the market .

Give it a try We will be back

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here on our way back south after visiting friends in Scotland. Our satnav found the hotel OK, on a limited access road in the city centre, but getting into the "car park" (a piece of waste ground behind the hotel and neighbouring buildings) was tricky, in part because of inconsiderate parking on double yellows opposite the entrance by a Chelsea Tractor. However, once we made contact with the hotel staff they sorted us out and made us very welcome. Being an old coaching Inn we were not surprised to find our room at the top of several flights of stairs (this hotel does not cater for disabled) but it was adequate with a comfortable bed & bathroom. The ground floor bar & restaurant has been heavily modernised into a bistro style with a good choice of ales and wines etc. Having reviewed the menu we booked a table for dinner before going out to look around the cathedral & its environs.
The restaurant is obviously much loved as it was almost full when we went down to eat, with more people arriving during our meal and others eating at the bar. Having difficulty choosing what to eat and having discussed it with the very helpful waiter I chose the "Sticky Ripon Beef" and was very glad I did. This was possibly one of the best dishes I have ever eaten. Slow-cooked, succulent in a mouth watering gravy this was a meal to savour, and savour it I did.
Breakfast the following morning was freshly cooked to order and very acceptable. All in all a very nice stopover. If we are ever in the area again we shall certainly stay here - assuming that we can park!

Room Tip: Only saw one so difficult to advise, though all are up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
748 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,240 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
644 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Hotel

Property: The Royal Oak Hotel
Address: 36 Kirkgate, Ripon HG4 1PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak is the ideal base for sight seeing, whether in Ripon, the surrounding area, a trip to the races or a local wedding. Ideally located 15 mins drive from the A1 motorway, and proud to hold a 4 diamond AA rating, it is an ideal choice as a perfect stop over for those long car journeys. We have a choice of family, twin or double rooms, all with en-suite bath or shower. All our bedrooms have been upgraded and are modern and well finished, all have a modern flat screen television with freeview and complimentary tea, coffee, water and biscuits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing