We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Oak Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Unicorn(Ripon)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$403
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$349
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The BW Crown Hotel(Boroughbridge)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
220
121
27
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
220
121
27
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubmarket squareevening mealripon racesgenerous portionsstayed for one nightlovely atmospheregood nights sleepnice roomfabulous foodan overnight staycentral locationbeer gardenfull englishlittle gemtea and coffeeno lift
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

From the minute we arrived I was utterly impressed. Tony, greeted us and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was fantastic, high quality, spacious, comfortable and a shower that you won't want to get out of. We had dinner here and that too was fantastic. Breakfast was delicious, the choices were great and quality of ingredients high. Very impressed, I will definitely return and highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Finningley_Charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My friends and I stayed in Ripon on 4th June, and visited the Royal Oak for a drink while in the town. We were given an excellent welcome and the quality of the beer being served was excellent - especially the Taylor's Landlord. Helen was serving behind the bar that evening and was very friendly, helpful and informative - she was a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent the weekend there to attend a friend's wedding so stayed Friday and Saturfay nights on a bed and berakfast basis. I was worried about finding the car park as the hotel fronts onto a pedestrian street. No worries, as soon as we pulled up we were met and directled to the car park through a not too obvious arch and round behind the hotel.

We were met by the manager Adrian, bags whisked upstairs into a lovely room - not enormous but clean and beautifully decorated. descending to the dining room, a really wide selection, and if in any doubt, go for the sticky Ripon beef ... to die for. A nice range of real ales too.

Great night's sleep, bed SO comfortable, everything we needed to hand.,

Breakfast, again a great selection guaranteed to set you up for the day.

For a short break in a lovely old market town, this place must be the first choice - it is ours from now on.

A couple of things to be aware of - these are no detriment to the review as we were aware of them before booking. First - there is no lift, nor would I expect one on an old building of this nature, Secondly, car parking is limited and we arrived to find no spaces. However, a quick cry for help and Adrian directed us to a car park just round the corner and assured us that we were ok to park there despite the dire warnings of £60 fixed penalty charages. We were fine!

To summarise: Rooms good, food very good, beer excellent and staff superb - we felt like the Royal Oak really was our home for the weekend. We shall return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeyB1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

wonderful food, breakfast porridge.. yum, starters and main for dinner all look fab, I had oven cod on mash , clean plate handed back, very clean place, bar area tidy,store for bikes on WOR, very helpful excellent staff , cask ales, great value

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balutopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Lunch with friends was thoroughly enjoyable. Great food, sweetest gammon steak I've had in years!! all beautifully presented and not going to break your pocket. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the atmosphere is warm and welcoming. Coming to Ripon? you need look no further.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank amk280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews